We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised!”
Review of The Boat House

The Boat House
Ranked #10 of 25 Restaurants in St Aubin
Price range: US$4 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a regular bus service to the town St Helier. The bus stop is approx 30 metres from The Boat House.
Description: A stunning bar and restaurant offering an unforgettable experience on the North Quay, St Aubin, Jersey.The Boat House offers restaurant dining upstairs on the Upper Deck, and delicious tapas and light bites downstairs on the Main Deck. Located at the Western end of the spectacular crescent shaped St Aubin's Bay, The Boat House is a modern, two storey, glass and timber building with large terraced areas enjoying terrific views of St. Aubin's Bay. It is an amazing place to spend time with friends and enjoy a relaxed meal.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Surprised!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We visit The Boat house a fair bit and the restaurant is always excellent and the staff lovely.
The last time we visited we went downstairs for a drink before dinner as we were a little early.
We don't normally go downstairs and were surprised to see the state of the seating. The chairs look like they have removable covers on them, but were badly stained. The leather settee had stains on it as well although we appreciate that they would be more difficult to remove.
We were very surprised to see this as everything else is normally spot on, but this we found very off putting and we were hard pushed to find a seat without any stains on.
We will return, but please get this sorted out as its not a very good impression for any visitors to the island, it would be a shame if they were put off by this and went elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev9X02548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Kev9X02548,

We're glad to hear that you have had many good experiences with The Boat House.

We're sorry to hear that on this occasion the presentation was not up to our usual high standards and this is something we will surely investigate as uncleanliness is something we certainly do not tolerate.

Once again, we apologise that you had such an experience.

We do hope this won't affect you returning.

Kind regards,
The Boat House Group management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    422
    193
    81
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Beautiful view. Food very fresh and good quality. Staff very friendly.
Would definitely eat here again .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Lee S,

Thanks for your review of The Boat House. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Do come again!

The Boat House Group management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice view, nice food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Modern and swish set on the harbour the setting makes a good start. The food is plentiful and well done; choices are typical, chicken or burgers and mostly with chips but there are other options. This place just made a nice change from the Jersey norm.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 40somethingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi 40somethingboy,

Thank you for visiting The Boat House. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the change.

The Boat House Group management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived on jersey at an odd time and walked to st aubin for food. The boat house was open and we sat outside. Food was lovely. Freshly cooked and a great welcome to the island.

Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Sam S,

Thank you for joining us at The Boat House. We appreciate your review.

Do come again!

The Boat House Group Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great service and great food”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Ate here on a recent trip to Jersey. We had a table by the window (I say window - nearly a glass wall with amazing view of harbour). Food and service was amazing. Will definitely be going back here when I visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sawyer359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Sawyer359,

Thank you for your review of The Boat House. The harbour-view is one of the most-loved features of The Boat House, (along with the great-tasting food!). So we're glad you also enjoyed this.

We look forward to having you again,

The Boat House Group Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House also viewed

 

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing