We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olanda Guest House
Nearby Hotels
La Haule Manor(St Aubin)
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cristina(St Aubin)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Place(St Brelade)(Great Value!)
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa(St Brelade)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands Hotel(St Brelade)(Great Value!)
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millbrook House(St Helier)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
7
16
13
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
16
13
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We have stayed at Olanda many times, both with previous owner Fiona and the present host Phil. I accept that it is fairly basic, but the rooms are comfortable and clean and we are always made very welcome. Parking is an issue everywhere on Jersey (you may have noticed how little flat ground there is?) so please don't criticise Olanda for the lack of parking. If you do your research you will easily spot that fact that it is tucked away up above the old High Street. This is the oldest part of St Aubin, and we love the walk up the cobbled street from the car park to the guest house (all of 5 mins). Breakfast is perfectly acceptable and always freshly cooked to order. Very quick too - Phil works hard in that kitchen.
We really don't understand the criticism of Olanda in previous posts. If you visit Jersey regularly as we do, you will know that St Aubin is one of the nicest places on the island and is rapidly becoming the place to eat as there are so many great restaurants.
Couple that with £70 per night B&B for two and you realise what a gem Olanda is.
Thanks Phil - we'll seeyou next year!

Room Tip: Call or email Phil and discuss it. Better than dealing with a computerised booking system.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JuCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here back in the summer and after reading the comments on the previous post I have to say I am inclined to agree with most of what he says.
£70 a night is not expensive, by comparison, but even at those prices we should still expect a standard where the proprietor at least gives the impression they are trying to make an effort . We have visited Olanda before, a few years ago, but could see no improvement in the decoration of the room or any other part of the Guest House . The bedroom was very poorly decorated and the shower was dreadful, just a complete bodge-up of old paint and grotty grouting trying to hide a multitude of sins !
Having said that the room was cleaned fairly well every day. The breakfast's were always acceptable and the breakfast room is especially nice,light and airy. Phil, the proprietor, is always very friendly and helpfull. The small parking area outside is a real bonus , we managed to park there every night .
Hopefully , as was suggested by Jersey Tourism, the Olanda will have undergone some sort of a re-furb by the time it re-opens after the winter and its problems all addressed.
A small but inexpensive improvement would be some decent hangers - we had a job to get anything to stay on the ones provided!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devoncatswhiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife and I checked into the Olanda Guest House for a two night stay over the August Bank Holiday weekend, but it was immediately obvious that the reviews we had read and the photos on the website are a complete misrepresentation of what in reality is a poorly maintained, tired, depressing, damp and dismal guest house. Some recent reviews also highlight that the accomodation is not of the standard we would expect from a three star rated property. Unfortuantely we did not give the owner Phil an opportunity to address our concerns, as we checked out immediately, however after contacting him by email, with some hope of recovering the cost of our second nights stay, it was apparent that he was not prepared to offer us a refund. Our complaints to Jersey Tourism were dismissed, after a member of their staff visted the property, commenting that most of the issue we had raised would be addressed when the guest house closes for the winter, therefore if you're considering checking in here, I'd recommend getting hold of some recent photos of the exterior and interior, as unfortunately I'd forgotten my camera to support my complaint. After leaving the Olanda we found accomodation in a nearby hotel, which although was double the room rate, it was in a totally different league. I hopes this review helps, but as I said at the start "You pays your money and takes your choice" !!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The hotel is quite difficult to find, it is in a central position but at the back of other buildings down a very narrow road. Parking is difficult so we parked in the main public car park on the sea front at St. Aubin, if you park after 5pm it is free untill 8am. The parking vouchers are cheap and available from garages and shops.
The host is welcoming and we had a nice room with a sea view, my sister and brother in law who were on holiday with us had the balcony room, but the balcony needed a clean up as it had a lot of dead leaves and moss on it, so not too good for sitting out.
The rooms are bright and clean a little tired in places but for the price i think they were good value. Always plenty of hot water for showers.
There is also a nice lounge area adjacent to the dining room.
Breakfast was average, on the first morning we were asked what we would like for breakfast without any explanation of what was on offer, i think just a menu card on the tables would be a good idea with a few choices. It is only a five minute walk to the town centre where you will find enough pubs and restaurants to satisfy most peoples tastes.
All in all i would stay at the Olanda again when next in Jersey.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have sea views
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uglybetty-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We recently stayed here on a four day visit. The host was very helpful and the food was good but the accomodation was not of the standard we expected from a three star rated accomodation. The rooms where very basic and badly needed some refurbishment. The room we stayed in was on the ground level due to my mobility problems but really smelled musty and felt damp. We put the heater on to air the room out but there was little heat from it. Entrance by car is a real challenge and we found that 5 cars were the maximum you could possibly get into the car park and this was a definate squash.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphingirlNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews