We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Caprice Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 7 St Aubin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Recently spent four nights at Au Caprice and had a really lovely stay. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is more than ample to set you up for the day. Erik was really friendly and there was lots of tourist information available both leaflet wise and from Erik himself. The bus stops literally outside the gate, two fare bands either £1.20 or £1.70 for a single ticket and there is a bus No.15 which goes from the Airport directly to the gate of Au Caprice en route to St Helier. As mentioned in previous reviews there is a lovely stroll into St Aubins which has a number of nice places to eat (we tried Pedro's (lovely) and also the Tenby for a pub lunch). In the opposite direction we had dinner at the Goose and also a meal in St Helier. Overall Au Caprice offers excellent value for money and I would highly recommend. Only thing I would say is if you aren't good with stairs you may want to request a ground floor room.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank discoverer186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We holidayed at the Au Caprice several times when I was a child. I'm talking more than 25 years ago. It's changed hands a couple of times since then, but we decided to head back there for my Dad's 70th birthday as a trip down memory lane.

It looks much as it did when I was a knee high to a Jersey cow (I am of course basing that on photos not memory!). The welcome from the owners Eric and Helene was superb. A delayed ferry meant we arrived quite late in the evening - not a problem for them.

We had two rooms (a twin and a double) with sea views. And the views are gorgeous. However, being at the front of the hotel that provides the spectacular views does mean being on a fairly major road. As major as roads get in Jersey. I didn't suffer from traffic noise as I wear ear plugs, but it was an issue for others in our group.

My father and uncle reported very comfy twin beds, however my partner and I found the double to small and too soft for both of us (we were both rolling into the middle). We are used to a much firmer mattress - but of course this is personal choice.

We were all impressed with the breakfast. I in particular was well looked after. Having spoken to Eric in advance about my food allergies, he had stocked up on things suitable to my wheat and dairy allergies. I was very impressed, and pleased that it wasn't made into a big issue.

Eric and Helene were friendly and helpful without being in your face about your holiday. Thanks for a great stay!

Recommendations: The Boathouse in St Aubin, a 10 minute walk from the Au Caprice for great food. Mont Orguiel and Elizabeth Castle for fascinating history of the island. Allow plenty of time for both, and don't get caught not leaving enough hours on a parked car! Gorgeous Bonne Nuit Bay and the cafe there for lunch with a view.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view, but can be noisy with the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrswombat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just come back from a week at Au Caprice. Would definitely recommend it to everybody. B&B just right, clean, and quiet. Its on the sea front and owners very approachable and friendly. Breakfast is good, with as much as you want, very well cooked. 10 minute walk into St Aubins Bay where there are some lovely restaurants. The Bus stop is literally outside the B&B and the bus service on the island is really good, on time and friendly bus drivers! If If I go back to Jersey, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supersue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

great location, great host, comfortable stay and a lovely breakfast. St aubin is 15 minute stroll along the prom. Highly recommended. Bracewells restaurant, Dannys and the tenby pub are all excellent places to eat.

Room Tip: We never requested a sea view room but had a great view from the side room number 5. front rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandMuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Au Caprice is reasonably priced and very pleasant in all areas.

The owners were really nice and never overbearing or intrusive. They welcomed us straight away and were happy to help whenever we needed them, which was rarely because we had no problems.

Our room was clean and spacious. We even got a sea view out of the window on the side of the house when we hadn't paid for one. The fixtures were slightly outdated but overall just like a normal hotel room and what we expected for the price.

Breakfasts were good, quick and tasty. Would recommend the poached eggs!

Makes a great base for a weekend when you're planning to get out and see the Island. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robtomkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I had two great breaks in this lovely place that definitely exceeds 3* standard! Firs time my partner made a booking just for two of us and it was so memorable that we returned next year with friends.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Attentive and knowledgeable host. Location is absolutely on top of a fantastic sandy beach. Easy walk to St Aubin where there are excellent restaurants. On the bus route to St Hellier, the Airport and the west coast.

Room Tip: The sea-views are worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowTenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.7 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
1,005 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Court House Inn
The Old Court House Inn
#1 of 7 in St Aubin
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Panorama
The Panorama
#4 of 7 in St Aubin
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Magloire Guest House
0 mi away
Seawold Guest House
Seawold Guest House
#1 of 2 in St Peter
131 reviews
3.1 mi away
De L'etang
De L'etang
#1 of 21 in St Helier
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Caprice Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Caprice Guesthouse

Address: La Route de La Haule, St Brelade Jersey, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Aubin
Price Range: £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family-run guesthouse overlooking the beautiful bay of St Aubin. Its position offers easy access to Jersey's many attractions and it is located opposite a large safe sandy beach, perfect for bathing and a variety of watersports. The main town is about a 10 minute bus ride, with a regular bus service being right on our doorstep. Alternatively, enjoy a short stroll to the charming harbour village of St Aubin and sample the many bistros and gastro pubs. Most of our rooms have uninterrupted seaviews, are en suite and have tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Au Caprice Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Caprice Guesthouse Hotel St. Aubin
Au Caprice Guesthouse Jersey/St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing