We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday May 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Caprice Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Caprice Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 7 St Aubin B&B and Inns
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holiday May 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the first time at this Guest House although we had visited Jersey on many occasions we found the premises in excellent condition, room was very clean meals excellent and staff very polite and helpful. Would certainly recommend and re-visit.

Room Tip: All are of good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Au Caprice Guest House is situated in the most perfect spot as a base for seeing the whole of the island. The view across St. Aubins Bay from the balcony (actually a large terrace!) is stunning, a car park is situated just across the road, and for bus users the bus stop is just outside the front gate.
Erik and Helene are the perfect hosts, and nothing is too much trouble. Erik is a font of local knowledge, and every guest is made especially welcome.
The rooms are bright, airy, clean and spacious, and the breakfast is excellent.
We visit Jersey six weeks per year, and have been coming to Jersey since 1990, and have always stayed at the Au Caprice since discovering it 8 years ago. We wouldn't go anywhere else.
Looking forward to our next visit in August when we know that Erik and Helene will do their best to make our holiday as perfect as possible.

Room Tip: The front sea-views are magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

From the moment Erik and Helene welcome you to Au Caprice, you are in safe hands. You could not be closer to the sea, short of being in it, and are only a short seafront walk from the lovely cafes and restaurants of St Aubin. The bus stops just outside and Erik is a mine of information, and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. My only niggle was that the WiFi didn't reliably get up to the top rooms, but there is a small lounge for guests' use, and this seemed to solve the problem for me. I would have liked to stay much much longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Yet another very satisfied customer. Our hosts excelled at all the major things - cleanliness, decor, comfort and cooking, but just as important, they paid attention to the minor things. For instance, we met Helene on our arrival and Erik the next morning. Both introduced themselves with a smile and showed an interest in us as guests. We had just left a grim and gloomy B&B in Guernsey, so it was utterly refreshing to be greeted with a warm welcome at Au Caprice. We would definitely return to this superb and friendly guest house.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scot_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just across the road from the beach, a 10 min stroll into St Aubins and the bus stop (including the airport route) is right outside the gate.
I can only reiterate comments from other reviewers - a warm welcome, good food, a comfy bed and the best view from a bathroom to date!
Loads of places to eat in St Aubin (we did Pedros, very good, and Cheffins, even better on this trip) and a very pleasant stroll it is too.
Erik provided a bus timetable on arrival so that we could plan our trips (at this time of year some buse routes are every 2 hourlyish). The fares have already been mentioned elsewhere (£1.20 from the airport),
Yes it is on the main road and has no associated parking but the traffic noise is easily ignored from the front rooms, unless in Summer if you want the windows open. Our room was fine, with no complaints, but I understand what another reviewer said about some of the decor being a bit tired. I would book again.

Room Tip: One word of warning - the stairs to the top floor are steep so if you have any issues with that I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Recently spent four nights at Au Caprice and had a really lovely stay. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is more than ample to set you up for the day. Erik was really friendly and there was lots of tourist information available both leaflet wise and from Erik himself. The bus stops literally outside the gate, two fare bands either £1.20 or £1.70 for a single ticket and there is a bus No.15 which goes from the Airport directly to the gate of Au Caprice en route to St Helier. As mentioned in previous reviews there is a lovely stroll into St Aubins which has a number of nice places to eat (we tried Pedro's (lovely) and also the Tenby for a pub lunch). In the opposite direction we had dinner at the Goose and also a meal in St Helier. Overall Au Caprice offers excellent value for money and I would highly recommend. Only thing I would say is if you aren't good with stairs you may want to request a ground floor room.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank discoverer186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We holidayed at the Au Caprice several times when I was a child. I'm talking more than 25 years ago. It's changed hands a couple of times since then, but we decided to head back there for my Dad's 70th birthday as a trip down memory lane.

It looks much as it did when I was a knee high to a Jersey cow (I am of course basing that on photos not memory!). The welcome from the owners Eric and Helene was superb. A delayed ferry meant we arrived quite late in the evening - not a problem for them.

We had two rooms (a twin and a double) with sea views. And the views are gorgeous. However, being at the front of the hotel that provides the spectacular views does mean being on a fairly major road. As major as roads get in Jersey. I didn't suffer from traffic noise as I wear ear plugs, but it was an issue for others in our group.

My father and uncle reported very comfy twin beds, however my partner and I found the double to small and too soft for both of us (we were both rolling into the middle). We are used to a much firmer mattress - but of course this is personal choice.

We were all impressed with the breakfast. I in particular was well looked after. Having spoken to Eric in advance about my food allergies, he had stocked up on things suitable to my wheat and dairy allergies. I was very impressed, and pleased that it wasn't made into a big issue.

Eric and Helene were friendly and helpful without being in your face about your holiday. Thanks for a great stay!

Recommendations: The Boathouse in St Aubin, a 10 minute walk from the Au Caprice for great food. Mont Orguiel and Elizabeth Castle for fascinating history of the island. Allow plenty of time for both, and don't get caught not leaving enough hours on a parked car! Gorgeous Bonne Nuit Bay and the cafe there for lunch with a view.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view, but can be noisy with the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrswombat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.7 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.5 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Caprice Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Caprice Guesthouse

Property: Au Caprice Guesthouse
Address: La Route de La Haule, St Brelade Jersey, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8BA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family-run guesthouse overlooking the beautiful bay of St Aubin. Its position offers easy access to Jersey's many attractions and it is located opposite a large safe sandy beach, perfect for bathing and a variety of watersports. The main town is about a 10 minute bus ride, with a regular bus service being right on our doorstep. Alternatively, enjoy a short stroll to the charming harbour village of St Aubin and sample the many bistros and gastro pubs. Most of our rooms have uninterrupted seaviews, are en suite and have tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Au Caprice Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Caprice Guesthouse Hotel St. Aubin
Au Caprice Guesthouse Jersey/St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing