We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Aubin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jersey Yurt Holidays
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Ship Ahoy for 4 nights at the end of Oct as we were in Jersey for a friend's wedding. It was a fantastic break and the view from where we were was beautiful. The yurt was really unique, and so cosy with the wood burning stove and tealights. Even though you're not staying in a hotel the facilities are great- lovely hot showers! Andy made us feel really welcome and there's lots of information on site about things to do in the area. Definitely hope to be back some day!

Room Tip: the wood burning stove was super efficient- doesn't need that much wood to make the yurt warm an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Forest Green for 2 nights midweek and had such a lovely relaxing 'stay-cation'. We were very lucky to be the only people on site so had the whole place to ourselves!

We bought lovely cheeses and treats from La Belle Gourmande in the village, and cooked steaks in 'The Lookout' on our first night, and then relaxed in the hot tub with a glass of wine (they have a new one which you don't have to heat yourself!). The moon and the stars looked beautiful as did the view of St Aubins Fort. We also had an unexpected electric storm with lots of thunder and lightning, making it the best hot tub experience ever! We loved it.

The yurt was so cosy and romantic with the little log burning stove and tealight lanterns, and the bed was so comfortable.

The view from Forest Green is stunning to wake up to! And it was so nice to enjoy our breakfast outside in the sun at the end of October!

On our second night we used the hot tub again before going out for some dinner, and it was then lovely to return to our yurt and get the fire going. We played games and relaxed in the candlelight.

I would recommend taking flip flops for wearing around the site (unless it's very Wintery, in which case wellies) and taking your own torch too.

As someone has mentioned in a previous review, if you only like fancy bedrooms, fluffy dressing gowns and getting waited on, then this may not be for you. But if you enjoy unique experiences, the great outdoors and being a little more self sufficient then you will love the 'glamping' experience at Clifden! Thanks Andy, we hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: Forest Green is the furthest away from the main facilities (kitchen, showers, hot tub) but I think i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyESullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Me & my partner stayed here Friday & Saturday night and had a wonderful time. The Yurt we stayed in "Harbour Retreat" was extremely comfortable and cosy. Woke up each morning to to open the doors to see the sea views and climbed back in to bed.
We used the hot tub on the Saturday evening and the view was again incredible with the sea and harbour lights.
Andy was incredibly welcoming and the Yurts have plenty of space, in fact you can't see another Yurt from your own. Each has their own BBQ and great views.

We sailed from Weymouth with Condor and took a taxi from the Ferry in St Helier to St Aubin which cost £12.

We both highly recommend this experience. 5 stars for everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benmoore1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had three nights in one of the Jersey yurts. We do like camping and had just enjoyed 19 nights in a tent in France, so to try a bit of glamping on a child free break was brilliant. All communication was excellent and the service while we were there was first class. It is perfectly located to the village of St Aubin, and the views from the yurt was amazing. On one day we ended up doing a six hour walk which in itself was an incredible experience, but the day was enhanced by the hour we had reserved in the hot tub to recover!
The opportunity to order the freshest vegetables from the farm on site is well worth doing. The tomatoes I had were the best I have ever tasted.
I would thoroughly recommend and intend on returning, maybe even with the kids!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband, two children, aged 13 and 14, and myself spent a week staying in Ship Ahoy.

We sailed on the ferry from Poole to St Helier with our bikes and once in St Helier we cycled all along the promenade on a friendly cycle lane (passing all the cars on the road) all the way to St Aubin.

St Aubin is a lovely small village, but it has everything you need, shop, postoffice, restaurants, pubs, takeaways and is very pretty. It has nice places to sit and admire the views. Icecreams were especially nice.

When we arrived at the yurt we met Andy -Andy was great the whole holiday, we saw him often and he works hard and keeps the site spotless, he was very friendly and nice to chat to and he explained everthing to us, the yurt was spotlessly clean with a double bed and two singles with lovely white linen. The yurt included a foldaway table and chairs, tea/ coffee making facilities, a lovely log fire and a basket of logs, coathangers, towels, and tea light holders - we lit these every night and it made the yurt look beautiful and cosy. The toilet was outside to the back of the yurt and was called 'the loo with a view' as it has the same lovely views of the yurt. The views were stunning, you will never get bored of the view.

We used the hottub/spa pool and it was lovely, beautiful views and so relaxing. You hire this hourly and it is well worth it. It was very clean and a hot.

Clifden also sell vegetables/jams/dried chilli etc which were all very tasty and are well worth trying.

There is also a b-b-q with each yurt which we used one night, very clean, we had a very tasty tea and a bottle of wine and sat there with the best view.

The kitchen area is shared by all the three yurts and is very social, it also has everything you need, and is very clean, tables and chairs inside and out in the garden. The shower block has three showers, one for each of the yurts and is very nice, shampoo and soap bottles are provided, it was like a shower at home rather than a campsite shower. It also has a large fridge for all the yurts to share and is good for storing milk etc. In the shower block there are large trunks of games/toys for anyone to borrow and play, outside the yurt there was a box with buckets and spades, a fishing net - which we strapped to the bike and took out for the day.

We left our bikes outside the yurt and it felt very safe. we cycled most days, one day we cycled all the way around the island a total of 44 miles and it was a lovely day. Jersey has green lanes all over the island linking up which are designed for cyclists as cars can travel on them but a maximum speed limit of 15mph and have to give way to cyclists. We cycled everywhere and all the motorists and motorcyclists were very kind and all slowed down/stopped and were very patient, it felt very safe with the children.

We had a fantastic week, its a beautiful site, lovely views, very clean, very homely and in the most perfect position in Jersey. We all had a fantastic holiday and I am about to book next years there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife, 2 year old daughter and i spent 3 nights in the family yurt and had a great time.

The location is perfect, on a beautiful spot on the hill above St Aubins, but still only a 5 minute short walk into the village.

The yurt itself and the surrounding facilities are great, with the excellent attention to detail in the decoration and also the wide range of available kit at your disposal to make the most of the stay.

Our daughter especially loved playing in the mini yurt or "hobbit hut" as she called it, next to the main family yurt.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked the Ship Ahoy yurt for a week at the start of September and as it was our first experience of staying in a yurt, we were unsure what to expect. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice, everything was perfect even the weather. The yurt was spacious, clean and had everything we needed, we even had our own composting toilet with views over the harbour! All the facilities were really clean and having access to a hot tub was an added luxury. Andy made us very welcome and provided lots of information about Jersey and recommended places to eat, it's a fairly steep climb back up to the yurts but good to walk off all that lovely Jersey food (and drink!). We will definitely be back, thanks Andy & Cath for a great holiday experience!

Room Tip: All the yurts are in their own private area and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Aubin hotels
0.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
955 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
792 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Magloire Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Old Court House Inn
The Old Court House Inn
#1 of 7 in St Aubin
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Au Caprice Guesthouse
Au Caprice Guesthouse
#5 of 7 in St Aubin
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jersey Yurt Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey Yurt Holidays

Address: Clifden 1, Mont Les Vaux, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in St Aubin
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Jersey Yurt Holidays Hotel Jersey
Jersey Yurt Holidays St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing