We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere in family run business.”

Bon Viveur Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in St Aubin
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
colchester
Level Contributor
160 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere in family run business.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went for dinner after bike ride without booking. No problem,and then lunch another day. Very swift service and thoroughly enjoyed the meal, well cooked and presented, came quickly , waiters one in particular very chatty . Another not so, but when we asked if he had Wi fi code, told it was only for residents. However he came back and told us the code, obviously manager thought better of this, and at least he had checked, As we had just walked out of The Boathouse due to lack of Wi Fi and boring menu I was pleased this was resolved quickly. Had good meal both times and husband indulged in what he described as the best Lemon Meringue pie ever on both occasions. Would recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mumajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    67
    36
    20
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“worst breakfast ever”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As the only restaurant open at 8am on a wet Saturday morning, we ventured in as we were in need of a good breakfast. We were treated as if we had the plague. Standard breakfast, where every thing was deep fried, poor quality and no question of an extra coffee, white or brown toast, scrambled, fried or poached eggs. The staying guest were asked this upon arrival. The service was dreadful. We will not return to this very poor quality restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 50JWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Family meal”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stopped at st aubins for a meal with family. Very quick, good food and good choice of food, Italian, Fish, English.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoxford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very nice seafront restaurant”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were recommended to visit this restaurant by our travel rep. We were very satisfied with our visit. We sat outside on a lovely sunny day which always help. We ordered lobster which was well presented and excellent value for money. The staff - mostly foreign - were fine and efficient

It is surprising to see so many negative reviews of this restaurant. One can only surmise that the complainant were either unfortunate, had extraordinarily high expectations or do not eat out very often.

If you are in St Aubin our opinion is to give it a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Visited while on holiday. Very Friendly staff and reasonably priced for lunch. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denzil1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bon Viveur Restaurant also viewed

 
St Aubin, St Brelade
St Aubin, St Brelade
 

Been to Bon Viveur Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing