We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerville Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bon Viveur(St Aubin)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
La Haule Manor(St Aubin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Place(St Brelade)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Biarritz Hotel(St Brelade)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miramar Hotel(St Brelade)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windmills Hotel(St Brelade)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa(St Brelade)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beau Rivage Hotel(St Brelade)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveller rating
745
255
57
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
745
255
57
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstides restaurantsea viewlovely hotelcar parkdining roomafternoon teasteep hillsunday lunchan overnight stayfirst classtop classsuperb viewsst aubin's baysecond to noneevening mealsuperior roombar and restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The Somerville sits high and proud above the peaceful village of St Aubin, half way from the Airport to St Helier. There's free parking, but the car park can get a little cramped - however, the staff will take your keys if you have to double park and move your car as/when more space becomes available.

I found all of the staff here to be outstanding, they're well trained, smartly dressed and professional. The hotel itself is an older building, but is thoroughly modern with nice decor and a plush feel to it. Outside is a heated pool which is a good size and towels are placed on the sunloungers for your use.

Wifi is free throughout, breakfast is freshly cooked and fantastic, rooms all differ in size but the quality is good. The only issue I found was the door was a little thin and I was close to the elevator so heard people walking past all the time. But once everyone retires, you'll sleep well as there's nothing outside to annoy bar the chirp of seagulls!

I loved my stay here, and am sure to return the next time I pop over to lovely Jersey.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Having had a less than satisfactory experience in another Jersey 4 star hotel last year, we checked with trip advisor and were impressed with the many excellent reviews for Somerville Hotel. Having just returned from 4 nights and 5 days at the Somerville, we concur with all that we read. If anything they were understated in their praise. It is difficult to single out any members of staff who made our visit so memorable, but of course Adrian in the restaurant and the porters who were so attentive in parking our car. We would recommend the Somerville to anybody looking for exemplary service with style. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brolley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Everything is 100% and more, from the moment we walked in and checked in to the moment we left. Seeing the sunrise in the horizon from the sea view room and the breakfast restaurant is out of this world. Restaurant staff from the manager down are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble. From the moment we advise the reception that we would be dining there in the first evening we arrive, arrangements were made in a few minutes for a ramp access for my wife's the wheelchair and table set accordingly. The manager was friendly and welcoming, and the best was the waiter (Adrian) who seemed to wear a constant smile on his face and was cheerful all the time.

The receptionist Mario was also most delightful and helpful. Every hotelshould have one like him.

It is a 4 star hotel but with a 5 star service....we have no hesitation to recommend them to anyone...we will certainly use the hotel again next time we are in Jersey.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simpleemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments which I will certainly share with the team. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. With Kind regards David Plowright - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Everything about this hotel was just perfect. The room was spacious, had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean as was the entire hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and of course, the view of the harbour from the dining room was quite simply fantastic. The breakfast had everything from cereal, croissant, pastries, meats, salad, fruit, juice through to the usual full English breakfast, toast, tea and coffee,

There wasn't anything about the hotel or our stay there that I would change. It was a wonderful base from which to explore Jersey.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

First time we stayed in St Aubins and chose this hotel, friendly, good service, location wonderful we didn't want to get up from the breakfast table..We particularly liked the cooked breakfast it came cooked and fresh when you ordered. Lovely big bathroom with shower and bath. Rooms lovely and big.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluebellGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews