We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another very nice stay”
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a very nice hotel with fantastic views over the harbour and bay. Very welcoming staff. Nice rooms (certainly worth paying extra for the sea view) which are very comfortable and clean. Nice bathroom, good big fluffy towels and bathrobes. Very comfy super king size bed.

The restaurant is very good, an interesting menu which changes daily. The quality and presentation of the food is excellent and good value. There is a decent buffet breakfast and a good cooked breakfast.

All in all a very nice break and we shall go back again.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view as it is a fantastic view. Equally you can sit in the lounge and enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gill63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts concerning your recent stay. We are always delighted to receive constructive comments from our guests which are always read, discuss and act upon wherever possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

Winter availability led us to the Somerville - and how happy we were to be there. The view from the breakfast room/dining room is stunning, overlooking the bay and across to St Helier. And without exception the staff were welcoming and helpful. Good room, good service, warm, clean and comfortable - we lacked for nothing during our three night stay. Outstanding breakfast, and a memorable Valentine's dinner; we are just about to re-book for the Autumn.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the premium for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Many thanks for your time in posting your recent comments concerning your stay with us. After listening to a lot of feedback from our guests we have indeed now moved to duvets in all of our bedrooms and this is proving to be very popular with our guests. Any future guests wishing to have the traditional sheets and blankets only have to ask though. Hopefully upon your return you will have time to try the evening meals in our restaurant whilst enjoying the views over the bay.
Many thanks once again for your valued comments which are always considered and acted upon where appropriate. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I've stayed in this hotel before and always look forward to going back; it has one of the best views of anywhere that I've stayed.
Reception was clean and I was greeted with a smile. My room was upgraded to one with a sea view, so off to a good start.
The rooms are a little on the small side, but the bed is huge, view excellent, desk ok, storage fine, bathroom of a good size (with robes) and the shower excellent. My only grip is that in the 21st century, this extremely well appointed hotel STILL USES SHEETS & BLANKETS! However, I am told that this is to be addressed 'soon'.
Free wireless throughout the hotel is a good feature, especially if you are here on business.
Breakfast: starting at 7:45 was a little late for me and was ok, though I would have liked a little more selection on the cereal and fruit front. The cooked breakfast was very good.
I didn't eat in the hotel this time so cannot comment on whether the standard has changed from the excellent meal I had on my previous visit.
I like this hotel. The staff are very friendly, the food is good and the view is wonderful. I cannot wait to come back

Room Tip: Get a sea view! In season, it may cost a little more, but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Excellent hotel great location and views across to St Helier excellent staff very helpfull & friendly made to feel very welcome from the moment you walk through the doors.
Great food in restaurant "Tides" good quality food and very well presented French style

Room Tip: if possible sea view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAVMAN70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Many thanks for your review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. All feedback is greatly appreciated and we are of course delighted to receive your positive comments. As a team we do review all feedback and we will always discuss and act upon whereever appropriate to improve the time guests are with us. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We had stayed in another well known hotel in St Helier and fancied a change. What a breath of fresh air. The position of the hotel cannot fail to impress. As soon as you enter the hotel you are made to feel welcome. Joe was especially helpful and couldn't do enough. We didn't eat in the hotel as the restaurant was full. The room was pleasant and clean with a large bathroom. We will definitely return and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back. It would have been nice to have a room with the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titch5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at the Somerville for the New Year celabrations with friends. This is our second visit to this wonderful hotel. The staff cannot do enough for you and the food is very well presentented. We will be back again next year. Thanks to all for making our stay a very happy experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary658254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay over New Years Eve After all the hard work that goes into these events it is always a pleasure to recieve such feedback. Plans are under way already for the next New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back then if not before. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Visited again this Christmas as part of a Johnsons Coaches party, once gain form the welcome by manager David and his wonderful receptionist we were made to feel we had returned home. The quality of furnishings, sea view room, restaurant,in fact the whole ambiance of the hotel was fantastic. There can be few places which match this hotel for position, quality and staff excellence.
Each menu had a variety of food to suit most tastes, if like me on one night I did not fancy the starters, an alternative to suit my tastes was soon provided, every meal was a delight, wonderfully cooked , first rate ingredients and served well.
Drinks are at top end price wise, but comparable with other hotels of this standard.

Congratulations and thanks to ALL staff and management for making a Christmas break great.
We wish you all a Happy New Year and continued success in the years to come.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmigoWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Many thanks for the feedback concerning your stay with us over Christmas. It is always a pleasure to pass on these comments to the staff after their hard work over the festive period. All feedback (good and bad) is appreciated, will be discussed as a team and acted upon wherever it is felt possible and approprate. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
772 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#11 of 16 in St Brelade
639 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,048 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Price Range: £64 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing