We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned from an excellent stay at the Somerville! Our room 311, was excellent, clean and very relaxing. Fantastic views over the bay and close to excellent restaurants. Already planning our return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Many thanks for your review we look forward to the opportunity of welcomiing you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    180
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
99
456
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster S Yorks England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was hoping that by paying £319 each for a 3 night stay (i.e. over £212 per room per night) there would be no negatives associated with our break but alas this was not to be the case.
We had booked a 'classic sea view room', expecting a view over the bay, but we were disappointed to discover our room (316) was in fact an attic room with a side sea view. If this room had been described and priced as that, we would not have had any complaint as it was well furnished, comfortable and spotlessly clean.
So we decided to explain our disappointment and request a room change. It transpired however that despite the staff's best endeavours, there was no other room available until our second night. Other than that, staff offered to see if there was another hotel where we could stay or to discount our stay in 316.
We opted for a room change (into 207) for our remaining nights. This room was better and justified its 'classic room with sea view' tag, but there were noise issues from above (heavy footfall), from other room's showers and from an extractor fan somewhere close by - similar problems to many other cheaper hotels we have stayed in.
So it may seem surprising that we still enjoyed our stay at Somerville - but then accommodation is clean and comfortable, food good and staff understanding and friendly. Public areas were very pleasant with lovely views across the bay and very relaxing. The hotel is clean throughout and well maintained.
Cannot help feeling though, that we should not have had issues in the first place, given the cost of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Many thanks for your feedback which we greatly appreciate. We will of course look into the issues that disappointed you and take action where appropriate. Kind regards David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stumbled on hotel by accident but what a find. The service and attention to detail is superb. Food is really excellent. great pool area. Just a couple of pointers though: The hotel is located high up and the walk down to the harbour is very steep and takes about 5/10 minutes.OK if you're fit and able. Also the room we were allocated faced inland. Our view was a flat roof and part wall.
Make sure you get a sea facing room.

Room Tip: book sea facing. Note the rooms have balconies but not really accessible more like Juliet balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Many thanks for your review and delightful Headline. We do have a combination of different room types - inlands, seaviews, classic and superior rooms plus our Garden Sea view rooms which are very popular. I'm sorry that we didn't have a sea view room available for you on this visit. Hopefully should we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel a sea view room will be available. Early direct bookings with us will help with this.

Kind regards David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

JUST HAD OUR HOLIDAY, and it was a dream come true, once again, we stayed in garden room 3, and with "joe gomes", catering for our every whim, it was magical, a big thanks to you all at somerville again, our 9th dolan holiday, discounts please for next years holiday please. jean and joe gillam.

Room Tip: the garden rooms offer so much privacy for that extra special holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Many thanks for your review and wonderful Headline. Like so many before you have said our newly buit Garden Sea View rooms are so very popular especially when the sun shines and you can enjoy your own Terrace and private garden. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when hopefully the same team including "Joe" will be ready to meet you. Until then all the very best to you both.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My daughter and I decided to take a break in Jersey as neither of us had been there before and we both needed a rest and a break after a bad year. We search the internet for a good hotel and we thought that the Somerville was the one that suited us perfectly.
On arrival we were very impressed with the position of the hotel and the gardens etc, inspite of the very steep climb from the harbour but as we had hired a car, this didn't bother us.
We had booked a superior twin bedded room but on checking in we were told that it was a double bed. How-ever they said that they would split the beds up for us which eventually they did. On entering the bedroom we were surprised how small the room was and just couldn't see how they could possibly split the beds. They did split them but they were right next to each other and we had little room to walk round. There were only 2 electric sockets in the room and these days what with cameras, mobile phones, camcorders, ipads etc. not to mention the kettle and hairdryers for 2 ladies this just isn't sufficient! Anyhow we decided to overlook all this and thought that we would have to be very organised and we would manage.
On entering the bathroom we were surprised yet again by the toiletries on offer, just a hand and body wash dispenser over the washbasin and shower gel and shampoo dispenser over the bath, not even a block of soap, not to mention the usual body moisturiser, hair conditioner, sewing kit etc. that one usually finds in a 4* hotel.The bath was very high to climb in and out of and not even a bath mat supplied to fit in the slippery bottom of the bath. There were no notices anywhere to say that if you needed any extra commodities to ask and they would supply them. Fortunately we did have our own but it was a good job that we did. In the bedroom we did have tea making facilities and the kettle had been PAT checked but because it was very hot and no air conditioning we asked at a later date for a fan and found that this had been checked in 2011 and the date for the next check was 2012 but no sticker on to say it had been done like the kettle had!
We decided to go into the gardens and have a look around. When we got downstairs and into the gardens we were approached by a waiter asking us if we would like a Jersey Cream afternoon tea. We agreed to have this and sat at a table to wait for it's arrival. After 5 minutes he brought the teapot etc and poured the tea for us. Well honestly we must have waited a further 20 minutes for the scones to arrive, of course by this time we had drunk the tea and the experience wasn't as enjoyable as it should have been. Then it was a rest on the sunbeds. We could only find one that had a clean towel place on it and I asked where I could get another towel from and was told 'I will fetch one for you Madam' well it never arrived.
Next experience was the Evening meal, well I must admit it was very well presented but the food certainly wasn't to our standard and the cheapest wine was around £22.50 per bottle. In fact all the drinks in the hotel were extortionately priced. I know that you expect to pay more in a hotel but there is a limit. I'm very well travelled and have done over 30 cruises on the top lines but never paid so much for drinks or had such a poor choice of menu.
Breakfast was no better, in fact very basic. A poor choice of cereals, canned fruit and one large dish of natural yogurt, I think there was a dish of cubed melon and some fruit salad but don't know whether it was fresh or canned. Certainly no bowls of fresh fruit i.e bananas, oranges, apples etc and no individual yogurts, if you didn't like natural yogurt then it was tough luck! The came the cooked breakfast.....eggs as you liked them, 2 slices of very thin cut bacon, sausage, tinned mushrooms and half of a small tomato. No hash browns, no baked beans or black pudding, no fried bread and if you wanted a grill kipper then it was a £2.50 supplement ! One morning I thought that I would try some of the peach slices and was amazed to find that they had actually started to ferment. I reported this to a waiter who took the dish away and then came back and said that they had put some fresh ones in another bowl. We watched them clear the buffet and everything was just clingfilmed over and put away.
They would offer you black pepper but you were very lucky if they ever came back with it. There was only one type of milk on the buffet and when we asked for skimmed milk they replied that they didn't have any but would bring us some semi-skimmed, which they eventually did but in a TEAPOT !
Doubtless to say we did a lot of complaining and they deducted the price of 2 bottles of wine from our account but that wasn't the point, we had gone for a nice rest without any hassle as I had just lost my beloved husband and it cost us a lot of money which we could have used to pay for a much better hotel.
We spoke to the General Manager on the last morning but he was very complacent and really couldn't have cared less, it was like 'we've got your money so that's it'!
There were 2 very nice, helpful members of staff and they were the head waiter from Maderia and Joe the porter also from Maderia, lovely gentlemen and quite sympathetic to us.
I can only come to the conclusion that this hotel has got its 4 *s through it position overlooking the harbour, definately not for the food or services. I dread to think how small a standard room must have been.

Room Tip: Superior rooms very small and basic, so I certainly wouldn't recommend that you go for a standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Junant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Many thanks for your review. We were very sorry that you were disappointed with your holiday. We will review the comments you make as a team and make the appropriate changes to any deemed necessary. Kind regards David Plowright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I regard myself as a hash but fair reviewer so I do not put such titles on a review lightly. Came back last week (peak season bank holiday) from a stay at this hotel where most but not all of the guests are 45 years old or older. The location and views are superb and only outshone by the genuine friendliness of all of the well-trained staff. We stayed in a classic room with sea view - the first room we had was room 99 which had a lovely superking sized bed, lovely linen and the softess towels I have ever experienced. The sea view was good. However, I felt that the room was a bit cramped for the price paid (probably due to the large bed) and the bathroom, whilst not dirty, was quite dusty. I has a word with Silvie on reception about these matters - a moment of truth, I felt for the hotel. She explained that the hotel was completely full but would look to change my room as soon as a better one become available. She said that the dusty bathroom was not acceptable and would get it cleaned straight away. And this is exactly what happenned, a clean bathroom 30 mins later and two days later she saw me & asked me if I would like to look at an alternative room (room 307). This room was excellent, much larger, double aspect with superb sea views. It was still a bit dusty in the bathroom in places that you would not expect guests to look (on top of the light fitting and on top of the shower rail) but otherwise was spotless. We ate 3 times in the hotel at night and all meals, for a hotel, were very good indeed, not quite fine dining but not too far off. Meals prices were very reasonable for a hotel and for the quality of the good served.

Overall, we had a wonderful time at the Somerville and occasionally one had to remind oneself that it was just a four star hotel especially given the peak season bank holiday period. Would I go back there again? You betcha!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeteW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Many thanks for your review and wonderful Headline. I also appreciate all the feedback given and appropriate action will be taken. We look forward to seeing you back at the Somerville again soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghhamshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our first stay at the Somerville and a very positive experience.
Met by the Manager David on arrival and made to feel very welcome. Our room (309) was not large but had a see view over the lovely harbour and was all we needed for our week's stay.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on just one night and the service was a little slow but the food was very good. The restaurant atmosphere was generally understated, quiet and 'old school'. The majority of the guests were retirees and I guess the hotel knows their main client base and caters for them. Breakfasts were excellent and the view of the harbour and the bay from the dining room is quite something.

The pool area is well equipped with sun loungers, umbrellas and free towels and even though the weather was hot not many people opted for a day by the pool so it was fairly quiet on the days we weren't sightseeing round the island.

There are plenty of restaurants in the harbour below and well worth visiting a few that aren't on the main harbour front - 'Pedros' was excellent (ate there twice) and 'Bracewells' was different, quirky and well worth trying. We also ate at 'Mash' on two nights - one excellent night and one not so good night with two large party tables in that drowned out all other conversation and diverted service.
Generally, the staff are very good at the Somerville, the rooms are comfortable and clean and it caters well for (older and active) couples and business people. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room. 309 had creaky floorboards in the corridor outside the room and guests or st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Many thanks for your review and high recommendation to otehr readers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Somerville on your next visit.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
985 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
572 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,902 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Property: Somerville Hotel
Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing