We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ecellent hotel, with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Ecellent hotel, with friendly staff”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have stayed at the Somerville several times, on business trips, so never longer than two nights.
I am never disappointed, and look forward to a night or two in the Hotel.
The facilities are first rate, with superb views across the bay, from some of the rooms, and especially from there restaurant.
Having stayed in many of the rooms, I can confirm that some are smaller than others, but none felt cramped. Perhaps that was because I was a single guest.
My rooms have always been spotless, as have the bathrooms.
Although I have not had the chance to use the pool, or sundeck, it appears to be spacious, again with amazing view across the bay.
Down the steep road to the seafront, there are numerous restaurants within two hundred to three hundred yards.
the staff have always been friendly and helpful.
I hope you all enjoy your stays as much as I have done.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StowawayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon and hopefully for a longer more relaxing holiday rather than a business trip. Kind regards David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    165
    36
    15
    4
See reviews for
91
425
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We staying in room two in the gardens, what a fantastic choice we made the room and the views were faultless. Moody and Joe were on the main door and they were very professional nothing was to much trouble. All of the staff in the bar and restaurant were very friendly and again nothing was to much trouble some of the waiters got to know what drinks we would have for breakfast and as soon as we was seated the drinks would appear. We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was outstanding along with the service. All of the staff worked very hard together and made our 25th wedding anniversary very special. We both hope to return very soon. One of the best hotels we have stayed in 100% the best room we have ever stayed in . Thank you very much to everyone that works at the Somerville Hotel.

Room Tip: Garden rooms and all sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyhols46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Many thanks for sharing your delightful review with the readers of Trip Advisor. Your comments will of course be shared with the team. We are especially delighted that you enjoyed our relatively newly built Garden sea view suites which are indeed proving very popular with all that stay in them. Kind regards David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have stayed at the Somerville for the past 28 years and have just returned from another enjoyable holiday. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The hotel bedrooms and public areas are kept clean. The view from the lounge bar/restaurant across the bay is fabulous. Some good restaurants nearby but an evening meal in the hotel restaurant is something special. A variety of bedrooms are on offer to suit all tastes and budgets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review which we are of course delighted to receive. we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Somervile for your 29th visit. Kind regards David Plowright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned from an excellent stay at the Somerville! Our room 311, was excellent, clean and very relaxing. Fantastic views over the bay and close to excellent restaurants. Already planning our return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Many thanks for your review we look forward to the opportunity of welcomiing you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster S Yorks England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was hoping that by paying £319 each for a 3 night stay (i.e. over £212 per room per night) there would be no negatives associated with our break but alas this was not to be the case.
We had booked a 'classic sea view room', expecting a view over the bay, but we were disappointed to discover our room (316) was in fact an attic room with a side sea view. If this room had been described and priced as that, we would not have had any complaint as it was well furnished, comfortable and spotlessly clean.
So we decided to explain our disappointment and request a room change. It transpired however that despite the staff's best endeavours, there was no other room available until our second night. Other than that, staff offered to see if there was another hotel where we could stay or to discount our stay in 316.
We opted for a room change (into 207) for our remaining nights. This room was better and justified its 'classic room with sea view' tag, but there were noise issues from above (heavy footfall), from other room's showers and from an extractor fan somewhere close by - similar problems to many other cheaper hotels we have stayed in.
So it may seem surprising that we still enjoyed our stay at Somerville - but then accommodation is clean and comfortable, food good and staff understanding and friendly. Public areas were very pleasant with lovely views across the bay and very relaxing. The hotel is clean throughout and well maintained.
Cannot help feeling though, that we should not have had issues in the first place, given the cost of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Many thanks for your feedback which we greatly appreciate. We will of course look into the issues that disappointed you and take action where appropriate. Kind regards David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stumbled on hotel by accident but what a find. The service and attention to detail is superb. Food is really excellent. great pool area. Just a couple of pointers though: The hotel is located high up and the walk down to the harbour is very steep and takes about 5/10 minutes.OK if you're fit and able. Also the room we were allocated faced inland. Our view was a flat roof and part wall.
Make sure you get a sea facing room.

Room Tip: book sea facing. Note the rooms have balconies but not really accessible more like Juliet balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Many thanks for your review and delightful Headline. We do have a combination of different room types - inlands, seaviews, classic and superior rooms plus our Garden Sea view rooms which are very popular. I'm sorry that we didn't have a sea view room available for you on this visit. Hopefully should we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel a sea view room will be available. Early direct bookings with us will help with this.

Kind regards David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

JUST HAD OUR HOLIDAY, and it was a dream come true, once again, we stayed in garden room 3, and with "joe gomes", catering for our every whim, it was magical, a big thanks to you all at somerville again, our 9th dolan holiday, discounts please for next years holiday please. jean and joe gillam.

Room Tip: the garden rooms offer so much privacy for that extra special holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Many thanks for your review and wonderful Headline. Like so many before you have said our newly buit Garden Sea View rooms are so very popular especially when the sun shines and you can enjoy your own Terrace and private garden. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when hopefully the same team including "Joe" will be ready to meet you. Until then all the very best to you both.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
917 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#8 of 16 in St Brelade
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,771 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Property: Somerville Hotel
Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing