We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointing this year”
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Well as the title says this year, our 3rd returning year to the hotel, was a tad disappointing. We had a lovely sea view room but it was very small. Storage was inadequate - no chest of drawers for clothes only a cupboard in the corner which was very damp and was better used as a fridge! As we were staying for 9 nights we found it a problem. Because the room was so small there was nowhere to store our suitcases. We coped by packing them inside each other. Decor is ready for a revamp with wallpaper scraped in several places. The mattress had seen better days and I woke up every morning with an aching back. As another reviewer has noted, only pump bottles for bath/shower gel, shampoo and hand wash. As the bath/shower gel is positioned at shower height and fixed to the wall this creates problems when trying to use when having a bath, solution, a trip to the shops to buy own. Ditto shampoo. Breakfast was super over the weekend when the hotel was full but deteriorated mid week with less choice and was served on the side of dining area meaning that croissants were served cold. Got better at the weekend again! A little more choice of cooked breakfast such as black pudding, hash browns, would have made a change, especially as anything other than the 'norm' was charged extra. Car park was very busy both weekends with wedding parties in. Keys had to be left with hotel staff who moved hire car. The only thing which stopped me complaining to staff was the magnificent views we had from our room. The staff were all pleasant. However, for the first time, we came home thinking about trying another hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Many thanks for your constructive comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was very sorry to read that things were not as you had hoped for during your stay. The point regarding the storage facility could have been made easier by letting us store your suitcases in our store room allocated for such purposes and as described in the "in house guest service directory". The other points made will of course be looked at and your feedback is extremely useful in gauging our guests experience whilst staying with us. Your stay did coincide with a very busy weekend however I'm sure that we would have been able to move you to another sea view room for at least some if not all of your stay had this been requested. I hope that you will continue to stay at the Somerville hotel and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a 4th visit in the near future. Many thanks once again for your useful comments which I assure you will be acted upon. Kind regards David Plowright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned (reluctantly) from a 4 night stay at the Somerville Hotel. This is our 4th visit to the Somerville and our 3rd year in a row. I wrote a review last year to say how great we think it is and feel it's only right that I do the same again. The Somerville really is a fantastic hotel! From it's amazing views, great food and truly wonderful staff who make you feel so welcome (again... especially Neel and Moody who are a credit to the hotel - although ALL staff are), this hotel has it all. There is not much else to say that's not already been said - we shall be returning next year without a doubt and as I've said in my previous review, hopefully for many years to come. Well done on keeping up such a fantastic standard! :)

Room Tip: Sea view room is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_evolve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Many thanks for once again for your review and delightful comments. We are indeed blessed with an excellent loyal team and very lucky to work in a great location for a hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Somerville again very soon. Kind regards David and the Somerville team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Have just stayed at the Somerville for a valentine's treat and it was a joy. Wonderful staff who make you feel so welcome and the food is stunning. The room was gorgeous with a beautiful sea view, even nicer when the sun is shining. Would highly recommend that you go.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Many thanks for your review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your Valentines Treat. We are indeed very lucky with our team of staff and it is always a pleasure to receive such comments which will of course be shared with the team. We all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Many thanks once again.

Kind regards David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was my second stay here and were back next weekend for the third.
As soon as you approach the door joe( great guy ) gives you a warm heartfelt welcome.
Checking in is a pleasure.
All of the staff are friendly and professional .
Rooms clean and snug .
Most important the food speaks for itself ,fantastic dinners with plenty of choice and fab breakfast.
All in all great place ,great food,great service,and a view that will stay with you forever,
Enjoy

Room Tip: Sea view rooms cost more but the view is worth every penny . All rooms are quite at night as the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoobydooJerseyC_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time between visits to place your very kind review. we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards David and the Somerville team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our taxi was met outside for our visit for Sunday lunch, and we were escorted to the restaurant where the restaurant Manager looked after us. We sat in the bar, and the staff took our drinks order and looked after us straight away...it was all hastle free...all the staff were so friendly.
The view from the restaurant captures the whole bay around to St.Helier, a perfect spot.
My wife and I could have chosen everything off the Menu, which is a good sign for us, and a good reason to keep going back...we will be back this weekend with our daughter and grandchildren !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank fraserview702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hi many thanks for your review of your visit to us for Sunday Lunch. This event is very popular with the locals and I was delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards David and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We come here every year. We have been coming now for over 20 years. And this hotel has top quality for us. We stay in the superior garden room which is totally private and of outstanding quality. Jersey is a beautiful island with first class beaches and excellent food. We love it and cannot wait for August 2014 when we stay again xx

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Barley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hi, many thanks for your wonderful review. We are indeed very lucky to live in a beautiful island. I was delighted to read that our relatively new garden sea view suites were to your liking, these 3 new additions are proving very popular with visiting guests enjoying the private terrace and gardens that overlook the bay. we look forward to welcoming you for you next visit. Kind regards David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here as we were attending a leaving do at the hotel. I have had lunch/dinner here before and was very happy with it and had always wanted to stay overnight so I jumped at the opportunity. The staff are very pleasant and exceptionally helpful. Check in was smooth. We had a room overlooking St. Aubins bay, because it is amazing, well worth the extra £30. The room was small, very nicely decorated. The bathroom was small with an over the bath shower, very powerful. I have to have a little moan here as I do like to see personal shampoo and body wash, not in a big pump, even if it is Elemis, and there was no body lotion. The bed was amazing, one of the best hotel nights sleep Ive had! Pillows and duvet were perfect. We had a lovely meal, they catered for 70 and everyone said theirs was lovely. Breakfast the next day was buffet and a served cooked as well which was lovely, especially looking over the bay. Very nice and would be more than happy to return.

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to the hotel for a function and overnight stay. All of your comments are gratefully received and we look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon. Kind regards David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
771 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#11 of 16 in St Brelade
629 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,045 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Price Range: £61 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing