We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely overnight”
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely overnight”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband & I who are local, treated ourselves to an overnight at this lovely hotel. On arriving we noticed how attentive & polite the staff were, & the car park staff did an amazing job! The food was lovely & the staff were fantastic. Our only criticism was that when we booked the room in february we were told that there were only sea view rooms available for April so had to pay a supplement. Our room was lovely & clean but we felt it wasn't a sea view room, more a view of the car park, which was fine unless like us, we were paying extra!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenella2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments which are greatly appreciated and will of course be discussed with the team. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    194
    39
    16
    5
See reviews for
108
477
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
C I
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Big family do. Welcome committee lovely but table service very poor (waitress didn't even know which side plate was who's and made a right hash of the bread run!)
Menu misleading and food well below average compared to former fab experiences here. Scallop dish especially grim. (one scallop sliced in 3 in a glob of luke warm mash with some chese welded on top. Not advertised as Cocquil st J). Cream used in 2 different dishes was sour as well. Also got bill wrong. Wasnt my party so didn't like to make a fuss at time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladymrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your review although obviously not we wanted to read. The issues you raise will of course be discussed with the team and relevant people concerned to ensure that such events do not occur again. It is very rare to receive adverse comments about the catering at the hotel and any that we do receive we take very seriously. We still have our excellent Chef that has been with us for 11 years apart from a 1 year sabbatical. I hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the restaurant again soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Fabulous location, excellent food with outstanding views of St Aubin Bay. Staff are attentive without being over the top. Quality bedding, towels and toiletries. We stayed in a Garden Room with Sea Views which was very private, quiet and just what we wanted. Would definitely visit again. There is a cute train which you can catch in the village and takes you into St Helier. For the more active its about a 3 mile walk along the sea front. Plenty of other establishments locally serving food and drinks and the Harbour is home to numerous boats, yachts and floating crafts. The hotel has a pool but weather didn't tempt us to take a dip. Gardens are stunning and beautifully kept.

Room Tip: If you want a room away from it all go for a Garden Room with Sea Views - there are just 3 rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your review and for recommending our Garden Suite rooms, as you state these are in a great location with private terrace, garden and lovely views of the bay. Having only 3, booking early is essential. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel particularily if you have one of the mini suites with a view as we did. The room was excellent and well equipped and most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was a good choice of well prepared food which all in all made for a relaxing one night stay. Unfortunately there were some issues with the way the booking was handled and the subsequent difficult and unpleasant checkout. The Senior Management of the hotel were eventually very apologetic about this but were not unduly concerned.
Despite this I would recommend the hotel and you can easily walk to other bars and restauarants in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments and may I apologise again for any issues that you experienced upon checking out. We are committed to ensuring that all accounts are accurate for our clients however sometimes mistakes can be made. I hope that the issue was solved to your satisfaction and I'm delighted that despite this error you would recommend staying with us.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked last minute so got great value for money for a 4 night stay. Perfect location and having travelled pretty much all around the island during our trip, confirm if you want peace and quiet but with easy access to the best beaches to the west and good choice of restaurants within walking distance, it's a good shout. Views from the window to window dining room at breakfast is a delight, especially when the sun is beaming in. Room was small, but having read reviews we were expecting this. Compared to the average 4* stay in a London hotel you will be paying a lot less. No mini bar, safe did not work, no iron and no fresh coffee not free water which I would expect for a 4* and bed a little on the small side plus the outdoor pool was closed during our visit but other than that very amenable with an excellent shower!
Reception staff very professional and helpful. Car park a little on the small size for their requirements but staff seem to manage the triple parking requirements with little hassle for the customer. Also let us stay past our check out deadline to accommodate us.

Room Tip: Although our room had a great view it was overlooking the car park too which meant on a couple of ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments which are all welcome and help us plan for changes that we feel may benefit our clients. Irons and ironing boards are available on request, in our Garden Suite rooms these do have their own iron and boards. Sachet coffee and assorted teas are available in the room but not as yet as you state fresh coffee. Our Superior rooms are supplied with bottled water and we will of course deliver jugs of chilled water on request to all rooms as required. Many thanks for your comments and observations, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My sister, mum and myself stayed at the Somerville Hotel at the beginning of April. Fortunately the weather was very kind to us during our stay so we were able to appreciate the stunning location and outlook from the hotel restaurant overlooking the bay down below. I agree with a previous review when they say you have to be pretty fit to walk up and down the hill outside. No good for someone disabled or in a wheel chair unless you have transport. The rooms are beautifully maintained and cannot really find fault. All the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was lovely and more than adequate. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susyo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments an delighted to read that you will be returning to us, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I booked up for a family meal to celebrate my mothers 72nd birthday. The food was absolutely fantastic, all cooked exactly as ordered. What made the meal so special was not only the quality of the food but also the attentitive staff for which nothing was too much trouble. I even brought a birthday cake up which they were happy to bring out with our coffee's.
I will, as will my family, definitely be coming back to this special place.

Not many resteraunts on jersey can boast such beautiful views such ambience at such reasonable prices.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review which will be shared with the team., We look forward to your return hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,003 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
643 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,934 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Property: Somerville Hotel
Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing