We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Superb lunch, great to catch up with some staff (who never let you down), beautiful views over the Bay, excellent value. We have spent many a happy time enjoying lunch or dinner here - a pleasure. Recommend for functions or just a lazy lunch - we'll be back soon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bigpuffa-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Many thanks for your very kind review the team look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All the best from the Somerville staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is situated up the hill from St Aubin's heart at the harbour. Hill is quite steep so suggest a taxi if you have heavy luggage but weekend bags no problem. Views are superb and the hotel restaurant and gardens make the most of these as well as the right rooms.
Service excellent, rooms immaculate and breakfast good. We did not eat lunch or dinner as we went out and would have to say there are some excellent restaurants and lunch places within walking distance so the competition is stiff!
Whilst we were there there was a wedding on but we did not hear it at all either downstairs when we got back or in our rooms - do they have noise limits in Jersey as I have never experienced such quiet at such events?
Our only small point of note is that we felt like we were the naughty schoolkids amongst the guests turning up in shorts for breakfast and we were there celebrating our 50th birthdays (though we of course look a lot younger). We went mid July so perhaps this meant there were no younger residents? However don't let this put you off if you want a a good hotel with quiet rooms and excellent standards.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor which was quiet though the eaves took out some head room. Did not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Qualitycounts64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Many thanks for your kind review and for taking the time to shares these with the readers of Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having visited the Somerville previously I was delighted to find that the very high standards have been maintained. Service excellence, well appointed room and first class restaurant. I don't need anything more!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best since they overlook the pool and the bay right across to St. Helier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experience with the readers of Trip advisor, your comments will be shared with the team who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Beautiful location, beautiful grounds ,gardens and pool area, generally in good condition some furniture in public areas dated and ready for replacement. Bar very good but very expensive, in the main food good , majority of staff on the ball,too many eastern Europeans who are polite and pleasant but don't understand service levels.
Tinned grapefruit in a four star ? Not on my expected list, otherwise breakfast with outstanding views was very good, when staff got orders right,twice wrong in four days. Major issue over service issue regarding forty minutes to get a sandwich and ten minutes later the arrival of my wife's was complained about and handled in a very professional manner by deputy manager Russell. Shame these minor hiccups spoilt our break but they are things we are not used to in a four star establishment. It is a beautiful hotel that could stand out from the crowd with a bit of new furniture in public areas, our bedroom 302 was well equipped and fine, a few service lessons to the East European block and a drop in bar prices. A good all round break in excellent location, would we visit again ? Yes in the hope minor blimps had been addressed.

Room Tip: No air con but two Windows in 302 that was a side view room. Plenty space but small bathroom, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LancashireNoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If there is one thing you must do in your life time it is to stay and dine at the Somerville. I have never encountered such wonderful attentive staff anywhere else in the UK or abroad. We were staying for 1week B & B but was offered a half board dinner deal which we took up. On reflection we shouldn't have done it as the deal was for the table d hote 3 courses, £27 instead of the usual £32. I only say shouldn't have because the food is so superb there is no way I could manage 3courses, so only ever ate 2 courses which
Was £27 anyway. We were given a Dolan card for money off which was too late as we had already agreed to the dinner deal. We could have shown this card for the 2 courses for money off the £27 bill if we were aware before. So would have been cheaper not to take up the dinner offer. They give these cards to all of their staying guests so to me it would be a bit silly to always have to show it when they should know you already have one and automatically take the 10percent off. Food only. Anyway the view from the dining window is so magnificent you would pay the extra just to sit there. Our room it self wasn't huge so storing large cases was a challenge. Only one wardrobe and no drawers. Room 221 is a square d shaped double room. The window being at the top of the line and only one chair wide. The view from this over looks the bay and harbour but also the entrance to the hotel so can be noisy as you have to have the windows open as it's too hot and no air con. I don't think there is air con anywhere in this hotel so be prepared to perspire a lot. There is a room safe but all you can fit in it is your passports, it's tiddley If you hire a car be prepared for the one car wide steep hill road with a sharp bend that takes you up to the hotel itself. I used to pray that I never would encounter another vehicle going up or down and miracles of all miracles I never did all week. As mentioned by others the car park is small and sometimes you have to double park. If you're the car in front and blocked in you need a joe, which the hotel has. Joe the super carman who can get a car safely out of a match box if need be. When you hire a car you need pay cards to park ( not needed at hotel) obtained from everywhere but where you want to park, so always have a book of them handy. Drivers are extremely courteous and patient on the island thank goodness as some of the roads are a real challenge. Having said that you get used to them and there are always the buses. I love this island and the Somerville hotel. You will be hard pressed to find better staff, better food and a better ambience. So what are you waiting for get it booked you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The views are amazing. Room 221 has a good sea view even though over the hotel entrance. We did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lacemaker5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Many thanks for recommending us to everyone's " Bucket List " very high praise indeed which is greatly appreciated by us all here at the Somerville. The Dolan discount card is there to encourage guests to not only dine within the hotel they are staying in but to also try the other restaurants in our group around the island, our sister hotels and our Merchant House Brasserie in St Helier. Suit cases may be stored away from your room during your stay, please do not hesitate to ask for this service on your next visit to us. Joe is indeed a great man to have a round, every hotel needs a Joe and luckily we feel we have the best. Many thanks once again for your recommendation. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

David Plowright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a wonderful hotel ! Cannot rate it highly enough. Staff were welcoming, friendly and very attentive. We had a Garden Room which was especially spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had separate shower and bath. A big plus was the full sized fridge where we stocked our own cheeses, salad and cold drinks. Sitting out in the private garden was lovely and peaceful, with the sun shining directly from early morning until dusk. The hotel was in a lovely location, with breathtaking views over the harbour, especially when having breakfast in the highly recommended restaurant . The food was brilliant, especially the lunch time bar snacks, which we ate outside on the sunny patio..
A lovely quiet peaceful hotel, run by a superb staff team.
A 100% high recommendation . Will definitely go back !!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brendaandalan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review which will be shared with the team. Our Garden Sea View suites are indeed very popular since their addition to our portfolio. We only have the 3 though so early reservations for these are always recommended.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

had 4 nights from 7th July at the Hotel - we arrived at 9am in the morning and the rec team managed to get our room ready by 10am which was fantastic! Fantastic location 5* in fact and wonderful staff in all areas! drank some amazing cocktails on the terrace each day and the weather was out of this world! ate in restaurant one night food very good but we felt we were a bit rushed as each course was brought out to quick, that would be the only negative comment really. bed was very comfortable had amazing rest would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone who is going to jersey. well done to all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank colette t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Many thanks for your review and kind comments which will of course be shared with the team. When in need of more relaxation we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards David Plowright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,078 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,304 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Price Range: £63 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing