We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Colonial Experience”
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old Colonial Experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel is comfortable, clean and well run, its like stepping back in time and has a hidden charm about it. The location is excellent with coastal walks behind the hotel and the old railway walk from St Aubins to the Corbiere lighthouse a short walk away.....the lavendar farm is half way along the walk and has an excellent cafe/gift shop. St Aubins is a lovely area, with good pubs, restaurants and lovely scenery, the Trafalgar was our favourite pub where Hardy once slept, there is a plaque above the chair. (Try the Liberation ale you can taste the fruit in it)

The breakfasts were very good, we did'nt eat in at the hotel but hear the food is excellent.

The Sommerville Hotel comes recommended, I would say its more for couples and the older generation, you can pick up good deals when you book on line in advance, I would stay here again but like to move about Jersey and try different locations.

Room Tip: I book a room with a view, you can see the bay and the tide coming in and out, also the castles are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidH9190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, we do tend to mainly attract couples but these are of all ages visiting the island for a whole host of events. Being 5 minutes from the airport, a short walk to the best beaches on the island and close to the vibrant village of St Aubin we find that our location has something for everyone. We look forward to welcoming you gain soon.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    182
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
101
459
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our second year at the Somerville and we took friends this year. They too were as impressed as we were with the quality of the dining experience (half board) and the attentiveness & friendliness of the staff. The views from the dining room, and from front facing rooms is fantastic.
There are one or two areas where this great Victorian building is beginning to show signs of 'tiredness' - but this did not detract from our enjoyment of the week we spent there. It just requires some TLC here and there.
It tells you something about the hotel, when the business people of the Island, use the restaurant for select family gatherings and reunions.
Already planning for next year!

Room Tip: Front and higher rooms may have balcony doors. There is no air conditioning, and it can be rather wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Many thanks for your kind review and delighted to read that we should be having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. The hotel has had a very busy year running at the high 90% occupancy rates for many months if not 100% on some days and this over time will take its toll. Fortunately the company has a continuing rolling programme of refurbishment and maintenance and this winter will see no exception to this with major works taking place in many public areas during the month of January before we open again in February to welcome back guests old and new, local and overseas.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just had a week at this very comfortable hotel. Staff so friendly and attentive. Breakfast top quality with excellent variety. Ate at the restaurant on 3 evenings and choice of food and quality was best we had on the island. Definitely would recommend this hotel probably best suited to couples. Hope to return in the future. The hotel is on a hill so probably not best suited to people with mobility problems

Room Tip: Sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayjenny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Many thanks for your delightful review, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Every time I select a new hotel I study carefully its location.
If the surroundings are attractive one may wish to take a walk and being in the right area is therefore essential.
This is certainly the case with the Somerville, a very nice, well managed property located just above one of the most beautiful bays of Jersey.
My room is nice, clean and confortable, it overlooks a small garden and the bay, it is in a small, separate building away from the main one, and the service is courteous and attentive.
Wifi is free and everywhere (finally a hotellier has made a clever and very much appreciated decision) and so far everything went well.
The buffet breakfast is abudant and the views from the breakfast area are great.
Next time I will book directly, had I done it now I would have received a discount card. Pity, next time.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden and sea view are brand new and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgiod486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Many thanks for your review, we are indeed in a great location. Our garden suites are by far the most popular rooms that we have but do sell very quickly and early reservations are recommended for these.

We look forward o seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Came here for a last minute getaway.

Great location peaceful and views stunning. Fantastic choice of restaurants within walking distance.

We had a room without a sea view which we had concerns about but great size and view of hills.

Nice pool which is heated and sheltered from the wind with nice gardens.


Highly Recommended

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank huddy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Many thanks for your recommendation to the readers of Trip Advisor, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have just spent a few days catching up with my son in Jersey and randomly picked the Somerville Hotel as my base. It is a beautiful and relaxing venue exuding old world charm and service. It is not for party goers and whilst the rooms are wonderfully clean and appointed, I happened to be there on the hottest days of the summer so far and with a room facing away form the bay, I could have been in a Swedish Sauna. However, once I requested a portable fan, supplied with no fuss, all was good.... I wish I had done this one the first night.. live and learn!

If you are looking for a quiet, gentile and beautiful hotel to set the "Island Life" mood, then look no further.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and do the Harbor View. The sea breeze on a summer day is just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrumBumJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Many thanks for your kind review and delighted that we seem to have met your requirements during your stay, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during your next visit to Jersey.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have been to this hotel many times. The location is fantastic. It's set in an elevated position overlooking St.Aubins harbour and bay. The views are fantastic. The bar and restaurant area have wall to wall windows overlooking the bay and it's an incredible vista in the evening over a drink or two. The hotel staff are very friendly and focussed on making your stay the best ever. Food is really good too and you will often see locals using the restaurant. If you can, go for a sea view room even if it costs a little extra. We have just spent a week there and combined with wonderful weather it was a great stay. Also if you haven't been to jersey before go. It's a great place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, we are indeed blessed with a fantastic location overlooking the bay, it is always a delight to see our guests returning and we look forward to seeing you on our next visit.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
986 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
582 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,903 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Property: Somerville Hotel
Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing