We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
£112
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,383)
Filter reviews
2,383 results
Traveller rating
1,721
508
104
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,721
508
104
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tides restaurant steep hill lovely hotel sea view st aubins bay afternoon tea fantastic views enjoyable stay first class public areas an overnight stay short break top class beautiful location evening meal second to none full english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 2,383 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2021

We booked for 1 week bed & breakfast.We had a covid test at airport & had to isolate in our room until we got our negative result. The receptionist was so helpful. We had a bar snack & a drink in our room.
Our room was at the back on 2nd floor, looking over the kitchen roof? & a lane, no problem. The room was quite big, very comfortable twin beds, & had plenty of storage space.
The breakfast had a lovely buffet choice, hygiene was excellent. Restaurant had a lovely view over harbour & bay. Unfortunately we could only eat dinner in hotel twice, as it was booked up ( like a lot of the restaurants). Book all meals anywhere before you arrive.
Pool area & garden had plenty of seating.
All the staff were lovely & very friendly & professional.R
We would recommend the Waverley coach island tour, Tony was so informative.Jersey museum was excellent as well.
We would definitely recommend this hotel. The only downside is the hill up to the hotel from the seafront if walking,not ideal if you have mobility problems.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillfY3158TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2021

The hotel is located on a hill with a nice view over St Aubin's bay looking over to St Hellier. It is a short walk to a good choice of restaurants and a good base for exploring the island. The hotel staff were all friendly and the hotel has a nice atmosphere. A good place for a couples getaway.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JeffreyS1449
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2021

Wondered why The Somerville Hotel is not a 5 Star; seems it is because they do not have a spa. Lovely hotel. Fabulous views. Comfy bed. Great sleep. Wonderful staff. Superb breakfast.
Top tip: if you’d like to have dinner here, book very very early as the restaurant becomes booked up many months in advance!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank PadTha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

We are very well travelled and how this hotel has a 4* rating is beyond us!
We booked a sea view room, which we got, but being over the car park wasn’t mentioned.
The website also failed to mention the trek up a very steep hill from the village. Just as well we could manage this as upon arrival we were advised there was NO availability for dinner any night of our stay? Surely a few tables should be set aside for residents and if not taken up then offered to other patrons?
The room was unbearably hot and the fan provided was so noisy it really wasn’t an option, the reception lady kindly offered her desk fan which was used the whole time we were there. I read somewhere their explanation for no a/c is that it’s an old building but these days that isn’t a valid excuse. It was that bad we did look for any other hotels in the area with a/c but all were fully booked.
The room was very small with too much furniture for the space. The TV was on top of drawers facing away from the bed!?! We eventually moved the drawers so my husband could watch the footy!!
There was a ridiculously small safe, almost inaccessible, in the wardrobe?
No iron or ironing board although these are available from reception.
The bathroom was ok with lovely big, soft, fluffy towels, although we never found the free slippers promised!
Breakfast was a mixed bag - continental option was very good but there were only about 6 hot items on the menu. The full breakfast & the veggie full breakfast were good though.

Room tip: If you have any mobility issues this is not the place for you.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Midlandsmum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Hayes, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2021

Dear Midlandsmum63,

Thank you for taking the time to post such an informative review. I'm pleased that you liked the location but disappointed that you didn't like the hotel. To answer a few of your points, we do encourage guests to book their tables for dinner when they book their accommodation as we're a very popular restaurant with locals as well as hotel guests. We do reserve a reasonable number of tables for hotel guests but even these get booked up quickly. For future guests reading this, all of the restaurant are especially busy post covid so please book ahead to avoid disappointment.
The lack of air conditioning is going to remain. We don't have any and as the hotel is 140 years old, it would not be feasible to install.
We keep Irons and Ironing boards in store cupboards and provide them on request so that you don't have too much equipment/furniture in the room. We don't offer slippers so I'm not sure where you had read that.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thanks again for the feedback. We will act on what we can.

Kind regards

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2021

If you are visiting Jersey, make sure you stay at the Somerville Hotel in St Aubin, it is the perfect place to relax, eat and enjoy the fantastic views from the bedrooms, bar and the amazing Tides restaurant.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DenBmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews