We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stuck up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Court House Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 St Aubin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“stuck up”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

we visited last sunday as we entered about 30 people just starred at us which as we were far from badly dressed i found strange stuck up locals .the menu was expensive and after about 10 mins of waiting nobody come over so give up and left certainly not welcoming

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gary200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    30
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
32
65
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had a table in the Old Court House's ‘bistro’, at the rear of the bar, because the attractive-looking restaurant next door was fully booked. Quite what made it a ‘bistro’ as opposed to an ‘overspill’ remains a mystery. The menu was exactly the same, as were the prices, but the ambience and decor were not. We were served by a humourless and harassed waitress who might have been excellent at the job had she actually wanted to be there.
Overall, the food was average, but over-priced. My partner’s vegetarian dishes were great (asparagus, followed by risotto), but my starter seemed to have come straight from the supermarket freezer, and my skate wing was one of the smallest pieces of fish I have ever been served at that kind of price (albeit very tasty and well prepared). Add some extra vegetables to make it into a proper meal, and you have one very expensive evening.

I suspect the 'proper' restaurant is very good, provided you use your discretion in selecting dishes prepared from scratch on the premises. However, if you can't get a table there, go elsewhere in St Aubin - there's plenty of choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed at the OCH on numerous occasions but our last visit in October was something special. Lunching on Sunday we were given time to relax and took our table when we were ready. Joany was attentive and informative to our choice of meal and wine. We sat in a table overlooking the harbour, perfect setting. The meal was first class as was the service. We then enjoyed a fun and relaxed evening in the downstairs bar where locals and other visitor's joined us. I can't speak highly enough of this place, the staff, food, wine and location. A must for anyone visiting this beautiful island.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnywas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Only booked this hotel as others i tried fully booked, how glad i am they where. From speaking to nicola whom i booked the room with to kirsty who checked me out I have never been so welcomed in a hotel. I brought my 13 year old son to st aubins for a weekend to visit friends, we stayed in room 9 the penthouse suite. The room has two bedrooms, good size lounge, bathroom and private roof terrace/garden and is adequate for four people, tastefully decorated and plenty of space. I have stayed in a couple of the larger hotels before but would not again. Both nicola and kirsty where available to help us at all times, they provided me with the parking tickets, and gave local advise when needed. The hotel is at the end of st aubins bay has a great bar and several restuarants. My only complaint is it is fully booked when i want to return.......... I shall be back soon. Thanks for a lovely weekend. Karen and Sam

Room Tip: Room 9 biggest in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kepLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed here during a trip to Guernsey, Jersey and France and my family actually toasted my trip-planning at dinner when I found the Old Court House Inn. It is full of character, so much so that the BBC filmed a television series in the hotel. It has incredible history that you can read about during your stay.
The service is super-friendly even by Channel Island standards and that's saying something. Krista made sure we were all taken care of even down to supplying us the book of tickets used for parking on Jersey. If you are needing more than one room, be sure to stay in the two-bedroom apartment suite. We loved it. It has a lovely living room with a view in addition to the two bedrooms and 1 bath. It also has a private balcony that you will love in nice weather. We spent a lot more money on hotels during our trip, but did not enjoy anywhere more than the Old Court House Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for the two-bedroom apartment suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Set on the beautiful Old harbour of St Aubins, the Old Courthouse is steeped in history and offers fantastic views.
I have never encountered such WONDERFUL service on my worldwide travels - the staff are great!
Pop in for the fixed price Sunday lunch - at 16.95 for three splendid courses, it's great value for money!
I have watched the local fishermen bring their days catch into the restaurant in the morning before lunch and dinner service - it doesn't get any fresher than that!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotuselanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Our friend have stayed at the Old Court House Inn several times and they like it very much.The cost of staying at this Inn is £65 per night b/breakfast in August so you would expect high standard of service and food. I have read the reviews for the evening dinning and they seem to give this establishment top marks, and I know the reason why,there is a lady in charge and she is very good. You never see her at breakfast so it is very different,the waitress does several jobs cleaning etc and takes ages to come to see you ,same for the chef he is outside watering and cleaning, I don't know about health and safety in Jersey, perhaps that's the way they do things. We were in room seven nice room overlooking the harbour, the building is very old and if windy expect the windows to rattle all night,also the boat men in the harbour start work before 8am and one guy started using his sander on the side of the boat, also the shower is pathetic apart form that we enjoyed our stay. it is possible to find accomodation for half the price for bed and breakfast on the front by the harbour The main reason our friend like this inn is because you can have a late night drink at a price before going to bed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrybott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
737 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
575 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House Inn

Property: The Old Court House Inn
Address: Le Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Courthouse Inn in St. Aubins is a recently refurbished icon of Jersey Hospitality. Epitomising the perfect balance of friendly and efficent service we ensure that your home away from home gives you some fantastic memories for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Court House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Hotel St. Aubin
The Old Court House Inn Jersey/St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing