We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its bit noisy but has Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Court House Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 St Aubin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Its bit noisy but has Character”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had a dinner here with friends on a recent visit. A Hen party in full progress but a good meal nonetheless. Very good portions, good wine list, prices fair and service a bit haphazard but they were very busy indeed. Would I go again - yes it is not at all bad.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    28
    13
    2
    7
See reviews for
32
61
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had dinner there 3rd July; have to say I didn't know exactly what to expect but I can say that it was lovely. The food was good the service was good and I would recommend to others. Try and sit near the window if possible for the best views but the door opening can get a little annoying.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickPark1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We came across the Old Courthouse after trying other restaurants in St Aubins that were full, and i am so pleased we found it. When we arrived the staff were very friendly and took our coats and sat us down. We ordered some drinks and relaxed in the bar area. We ate our meal in the front restaurant which has amazing views over the harbour. The food is very good, there is a nice atmosphere and the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed it so much that we returned here the following night, and even though some of the staff were different, they still continued the friendly, welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaVictoria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Friendly staff
Good service
Food was well prepared and nicely presented would recommend as a place to eat if in area can't comment on the rooms we didn't stay their overnight
Steve and Kirsten GU35 9QN

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gooner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We had come from the Duke of Richmond Hotel in Guernsey, a very posh, posh establishment and had a long tiring journey on the freight ferry, so we arrived late and exhausted at the Old Courthouse. Our initial reaction was OMG what a comedown. The endless stairs to the Penthouse seemed daunting. However, we were in for a pleasant surprise. The receptionist called the poor kitchen porters to haul our ample luggage up three, or was it four, flights of narrow stairs.

The 'Penthouse' was a very spacious apartment, there were two bedrooms, a huge bathroom, a very large sitting room with wide screen TV and a back patio/sunroom. However, the patio furniture was dirty, there was no outside light and there is a beautiful blue bush which I am 100% sure would cause a mega wasp/bee problem during the summer months.

We were very hungry, so even though it was nearly 10 pm, we decided to have dinner. The food was amazing, beautifully presented & very good quality. In fact, we dined at the nearby Salty Dog on our second night and regretted that we had not gone back to the courthouse.

Breakfast was a little hurriedly served. I do appreciate the staff were busy and it was 9 am, but we were well within the allotted time frame.

On our second night, we discovered the downstairs bar which was great fun. The chatty barman (reminiscent of the Tom Cruise character in the movie, Cocktails) was hilarious, Very customer focused and entertaining. There seemed to a lot of locals in both the bar & the dining room, which is always a good sign.

All in all, the Old Courthouse is a little hidden gem. First impressions can be wrong.
It is a guest house, with wonderful food, lovely staff (bar one), a cosy bar & comfortable bedrooms. The last lap of our journey took us to the Royal Yacht Hotel in St Helier, but of the three places we stayed, the Courthouse is the one to which we will return.

Note to management; If you win the lottery, put in a lift and an en suite in one bedroom in the Penthouse also I am open to correction, but I didn't notice any fire alarms up there either.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Old Court House over the Bank Holiday weekend. I can say that it was a memorable experience for all the right reasons! The staff are fantastic, food excellent and the room light, airy, very clean, with great views over the harbour. We will be booking again and can't wait for our return. Compliments to all on achieving such standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I do like the food here but unfortunately it's just too expensive to return that often. Fillet steak is £25 which is average you might think until you add £4.25(!!!) for potatoes of some description and almost the same for veg. So you're looking at £33 (plus GST and 10%) for a main course! Some bread at the table would start to make up for it but none appeared. The steak is very good I must say.

Staff are pleasant enough but not very forthcoming with the set menu which is good value and a fair price. Wine is a little overpriced also.

Like I said, it's a shame as I do like the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lyndhurst Jersey
The Lyndhurst Jersey
#12 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House Inn

Property: The Old Court House Inn
Address: Le Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Courthouse Inn in St. Aubins is a recently refurbished icon of Jersey Hospitality. Epitomising the perfect balance of friendly and efficent service we ensure that your home away from home gives you some fantastic memories for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Court House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Hotel St. Aubin
The Old Court House Inn Jersey/St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing