We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't be back.”
Review of Shapla Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shapla Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I won't be back.”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Food was okay, nothing special or disagreeable, however some of the staff could do with a lesson in manners. I was on a limited budget and did not wish to leave a tip (I don't get tips for doing my job and don't feel obligated to tip others for doing theirs). The member of staff who dealt with my bill asked me if I wanted to offer a gratuity, when I declined he went on about how others leave a tip "out of the goodness of their hearts, we look after those who look after us" etc., "we are not offended if somebody does not wish to leave a tip" and more in the same vein.

I won't be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shapla Jersey”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Excellent Service, quality & presentation of the food, the owners make you feel very welcome also like eating at a friend home! big selection of dishes always busy in there which is always a good indication of the quality of the food/service noted on several visits during pass 8 months there are local people who eat there a regular weekly!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAVMAN70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and great food!”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Fantastic Indian , with fresh flavours and tender , succulent meat. Lots of choice on the menu, with some very inspring chefs specials.
The best thing about the evening was the service as the staff could not do enough for you without being overbearing. The waiter who took our order was friendly and knowledgable and was able to recommend dishes based on our prferences.
Can highly recommend the Karahi Chicken and the sag bagee side was also delicious!
Will definately be back !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katiedaily73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Good food from a fairly standard Indian menu. Meat all nice quality with adequate portions, tasty Naan's and decent sized side dishes, all in all couldn't be faulted. Drinks, as with most Indian restaurants were a bit higher than pub prices but not over the top.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very acceptable”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I find most Indian restaurants work off a very similar template and this is no exception nevertheless this place was very pleasant. Bottles of Cobra ice cold, good poppadoms, well cooked hot and tasty food well presented and service ultra efficient. Hit the place at about 9.30 pm on a Saturday night and no probs getting a table. A very enjoyable end to a Saturday whilst visiting Jersey for the rugby.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank applethug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shapla Indian Restaurant also viewed

St Aubin, St Brelade
 
St Aubin, St Brelade
 
St Aubin, St Brelade
St Aubin, St Brelade
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing