We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful service”
Review of The Spice House

The Spice House
Ranked #16 of 25 Restaurants in St Aubin
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lets start with the positives......curry was decent and nice sized portions ......not the best curry I have ever had but definitely not the worst. As far as service goes though it was shocking. We asked for a table for 3 and the lady asked in a very condescending manner if we had booked and when we said no, she let out a sigh and told us to follow her. We went into a virtually empty restaurant and shoved on a table at the back. We were then thrown some menus - which you struggled to read due to tiny type face, wrong print colour and subdued lighting - and then waited. And waited a tad more and then some more. Eventually when the waitress turned up she asked if we wanted any drinks and we asked for a coke and 2 iced waters to start with. She rudely replied 'of course you want tap water' and stomped off. We would have ordered beers after but she simply didn't wait. Meal eventually turned up but we were blatantly ignored when trying to get attention. Eventually we just decided to leave and we paid our bill and got up to leave. Not one person acknowledged us leaving, said thank you for our custom or said goodbye. So we returned to table and removed the tip. We were not rude to any of the staff and took the appalling service in good humour but they definitely preferred to lavish their attention and what I can only imagine as their regulars and not tourists.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank joanner406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Spice House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi joanner406,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is reviews like this which encourage and allow us to stay on top of our own high standards.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal, however we are disappointed to hear about your experience with service. At The Spice House, we do not tolerate rudeness or any form of misconduct from our staff, and are not common with such reports. Nonetheless, we can assure you that we will look into this further.

We would like to extend our apologies to you and hope that this does not affect your decision to visit again in the future. We encourage you to have a look through our reviews and witness how a large majority are positive concerning service and staff. We do however apologise if this had not been the case on this occasion.

Thanks again,

The Boat house Group management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Went there for a Sunday evening. The food was ok, fine but nothing special, service friendly and prompt. However the writing on the menu is ridiculously small for a room which has subdued lighting - we could not read it and were told by the waitress that many others have also complained. Suggest they do something about it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tia531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Spice House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Tia531,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you had difficulty reading the menu. We have received this feedback before and so we are looking into a way to make the menu more readable in the dimmed lighting of The Spice House.

Thanks,

The Boat House Group management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visited Jersey last year in May and whilst in St Aubins we went to The Spice House. The food was outstanding with great flavour. The restaurant was clean, staff were excellent. We would highly recommend it. A superb evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanne1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Spice House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hi Joanne1310,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit!

Looking forward to seeing you again,

The Boat House Group Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our first choice of restaurant was unavailable on Sunday night - but thank goodness! We wouldn't have had the pleasure of visiting The Spice House otherwise as we only stayed 3 nights and the restaurant was closed on the other two nights of our stay. Beautiful venue, food was amazing and staff very friendly. Oh so good - best Thai we have ever eaten. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant. Next time we visit Jersey we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 291beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Spice House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi 291beverley,

Thank you for your kind review. We're delighted to hear that you had such a good time at The Spice House.

We look forward to seeing you again.

The Boat House Group Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice combination of Indian and Thai washed down with a lovely Indian Shiraz.
Nice decor and good friendly service, recommended.

Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Spice House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi Peter W,

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal at The Spice House. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

The Boat House Group Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spice House also viewed

 
St Helier, Jersey
St Helier, Jersey
 
St Helier, Jersey
St Helier, Jersey
 

Been to The Spice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing