We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK- BUT NOT 100% /NOR 5*HOTEL”
Review of La Haule Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Haule Manor
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“OK- BUT NOT 100% /NOR 5*HOTEL”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed 1st -5th July for a Birthday trip-Booked in January -requested Sea View but could only get Room 1 -Top Floor overlooks the car park/garden centre
OVERVIEW
Situated on a busy corner -so traffic from the main St Aubin-St Helier road and T junction can be intrusive especially in the morning/evening
Room 1 was OK -but overlooked the Car Park and a not too attractive garden centre -so not really very good ambience
No A/C so had to use a fan to keep cool during the evening -with windows left open
No fridge -(but the hotel can supply 1 from its stock of 3-Id have expected as a 5* that a fridge is standard)
Bathroom -is looking tired and not expected for a 5* Hotel -evidence of black mould on the tile grout in the bath-shower is not up to current standards
Extractor fan is noisy and evidence of dusty grime in the extractor vent
General decor is dated and tired (ceiling paper is parting,floor seals look poorly sealed) -its more £30 B&B standard not £140 /pn 5*
BREAKFAST
A Cold buffet is available and is up to typical continental B&B standards-with cold meat/tomatoes and cereals/yoghurt/juices
Orders for Tea/Coffee and cooked breakfast are taken
However if you arrive after c0830 -be prepared to wait -as service can take time at busy periods (one morning it took almost 50 minutes to get our breakfast completed)
I don't recommend the "kippers" -these were boil in the bag and grossly overcooked -for a location close to the sea Id have expected better
Traditional breakfast is OK but nothing outstanding
Tea -one bag in a pot -you need to ask for 2 bags
Coffee is OK -but again nothing outstanding
AMBIENCE
The Hotel certainly has character -it is comfortable and generally kept clean
There is a TV lounge on the same floor as the breakfast room -and another reading room on the same floor as reception -both furnished very tastefully
STAFF
Are very informal ,helpful and friendly Craig,John and Ola are very easy to talk to and seem genuinely helpful /interested
CONCLUSION
Value for money -not great compared with other places Ive stayed -the location is noisy (Road)and the Room 1 was not particularly well located -nor was the bathroom up to expectations
It would seem from other's reviews sea view rooms are better located -therefore Id recommend don't book unless you can get a sea view room
Breakfast service needs attention with respect to quality and service efficiency (more staff?)
NB -If you book via Booking .com you pay 1 night (ie c£140) non- refundable fee -so if your plans change and you have to cancel you lose your deposit -in addition if you cancel the reservation close to the reservation date you are penalised up to 100% of the full stay fee

Room Tip: Dont book room 1-ask for a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SKYLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    58
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
90
570
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Have just arrived home from a three night stay at La Haule Manor and want to return straight away! With our 18 month old daughter in tow we thought we may create chaos, but staff and fellow guests were all wonderful. The accommodation, service and surroundings are all exceptional. We stayed in one of the recently refurbished deluxe superior rooms (17) Whilst this room has no sea view the decor is beautiful (think Laura Ashley) and spotlessly clean, massive bath, double shower, toiletries from The White Company!. A travel cot was provided which our daughter slept fine in. As already said many times before Craig as the jewel in this crown, he ensures everything is perfect. Book it now, you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julier32_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Came for a long weekend with my Husband ( who is notoriously hard to please!) Well I loved it and so did he,
picked up at the airport, giving a glass of champagne on arrival, bags taken up to our room.
Craig and John were both on shift when we arrived and both advised about breakfast, the pool and restaurants that were recommend in the area. It was great to feel so taken care of : )
Room was nice, overlooking the bay and the pool, breakfast was fab as were the waiting staff, great place..highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angie503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Came for my honeymoon and this hotel is simply beautiful. An 18th century manor overlooking the bay to the most superb views. Stayed in the deluxe room number 2, and I have to say it was lovely. Even though it was up a few flights of stairs, which I was very grateful for the chairs in the hallways haha. Breakfast was yummy and there was plenty of different things to choose from, so you cant moan that there is nothing for you. The staff are friendly and Craig is a diamond to this place. Nothing is too much trouble and he is always so polite and always has a smile on his face. On arrival we were greeted, had our bags taken up to the room and were given pink champagne to enjoy, which tasted lovely. There are plenty of restaurants to enjoy just a 5-10 minute walk. We went to the sister hotel La Place and it is stunning, more modern looking than la haule manor. The food was absolutely gorgeous and we were treated so well. Highly recommend going for something to eat. Also if you let the hotel know you are going to eat at la place they will book it for you and transport is included. In fact where ever you want to eat they will book it for you and order you a taxi if needs be. Swimming pool is heated and the jacuzzi is bliss. Plenty of things to do around the island and I think La Haule Manor is the best hotel to stay at on the island. You wont get the service anywhere else on the island as you do here, its by far the best. Glad I chose to stay here for my honeymoon. Thank you very much for a great and relaxing stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Stevie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights having previously stayed in St Helier.
Preferred St Aubins , its much quieter and La Haule is a great location just on the outskirts but an easy walk to the restaurants.
Our room was a standard sea view , it was on the small side and the shower was poor but it was very comfortable, I understand it is due for refurbishment , we would definitely stay in the same room again , if only for the top floor view , although the less mobile will prefer ground floor as the steps are a steep climb.
The breakfasts , grounds and service here are top class and its a very comfortable place to be.
There is no restaurant in the evening , we went to their sister Hotel La Place for dinner which was very good and also tried out a couple of restaurants in St Aubins , the Salty Dog & Boat house , both were good quality especially the former.
Would definitely stay here again , Craig and his team have got it right .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Staffordshire Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just back from a lovely three days at La Haule Manor with my parents and husband. This was our second time to Jersey but first time staying at La Haule and as you will see with all the reviews, the staff here really cant do enough to make your trip a wonderful experience. They treat you as if you are the only guests there, the rooms are amazing and a great range of food for breakfast.

Room Tip: We loved room 15, and my parents who are in the 70's loved room no 9 'the Honeymoon Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsking28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny south coast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you are staying in Jersey it has to be at La Haule Manor. The staff are all fantastic and so attentive, nothing us too much trouble. Breakfast is superb with everything you could wish for and great fresh local produce used. The rooms are equipped with everything you need including toiletries which are rep,aced as you use them. The location is amazing too with St Aubin restaurants being just 5-7 minutes away and St Helier 3 miles away with bus stops outside. There is nothing I could fault about this place and highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
986 reviews
4.0 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
750 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haule Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haule Manor

Property: La Haule Manor
Address: La Neuve Route, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8BS
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Haule Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La haule Manor has been awarded 5 star guest accommodation and was originally an 18th century Manor House. La Haule Manor is situated in beautifully landscaped gardens, commanding magnificent views over St. Aubins Bay and just a 5 minutes walk from the delightful harbour village of St. Aubin. 12 different restaurants are available for your evening meals in St Aubin or why not be driven to and from our Sister property for that special evening meal. Sandwiches and drinks can be provided all day in our bar or lounge or why not have a relaxing afternoon by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your La Haule Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor Jersey/St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing