We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday evening”
Review of Bon Viveur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Aubin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bon Viveur
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Jersey C.I
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday evening”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great food and good service. Good choice of meat & fish dishes all cooked very nicely.
Good value for what you get. Can be a bit noisy but this can add to the atmosphere of the place if you look on the brighter side.

Decor is from the eighties along with the menu but to be honest I quite liked the eighties !!

Good place to eat and worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    32
    18
    9
    13
See reviews for
24
52
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Read previous reviews after booking and was apprehensive. However unfounded, all the staff and management were helpful and friendly. Breakfast is served and is cooked especially for you with a good choice. The bedroom was cleaned daily. The ensuite was small but adquate. Restaurant food was freshly cooked to order and beautiful. A word of caution if you don't want to hear seagulls staying within a few metres of the harbour is not advisable. Likewise there are lots of restaurants, pubs etc in this area so dust carts do make collections. If peace is what you expect then perhaps st aubins bay and this wonderful guest house is not for you.

Room Tip: No problem with ours which was on the corner of the back and side, however it was quite noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Subri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Arrived back from another weeks holiday 23rd - 30th June 2013 at the Bon Viveur Guest House in St Aubin Jersey. We stayed in room 10 on the 2nd floor which had a lovely view over the harbour .On arrival the waiters took all our luggage from the taxi to our room, we did not have to carry a thing. Our room was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed, tea making facility, colour television, hair drier. We did not experience any noise disturbance at any time from the restaurant below.
We stayed on half board basis which must be the best value on the island without a doubt, could not fault any of the meals they were superb.
The service we received from the waiters has to be experienced to be believed, their attention to every aspect of serving us was outstanding.
What a warm welcome we received from the owners of the Bon Viveur, Maurizio and Enzo two of the most friendly hosts you could ever hope to meet.
Speaking to other guests in the restaurant bar we compared the adverse comments we all had read on Trip Advisor about the Bon Viveur and we could not believe the complaints some people had made .Do not let these comments put you off as they very nearly did me. Guests we have spoken to on the two occasions we have stayed here have been returning to the Bon Viveur for many years and we will be joining them.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view, superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avenida69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Popped in for lunch - a wonderful location across St Aubins harbour.
Food excellent, The wife had 2 large crab ckaws in garlic I had scallops in garlic butter washed down with a couple of glasses of wine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank michael_thorley53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just arrived back from a weeks break in Jersey and stayed at the Bon Viveur Guest House, the location is perfect, the host and staff excellent, the room is clean and what you would expect for a 3 star Guest House. There are many restaurants within walking distance and the food at the Bon Viveur is also very good with a filling breakfast to see you through the day. We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 is overlooking the harbour with two windows which makes it bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savasStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We went here for a meal which was nice when we visited Jersey last time. So we thought that we would stay at the guest house this time. A very expensive mistake It is overprice for what it is. The only good thing is the break fast which were good. I had to go and buy a quilt to sleep on as bed was so uncomfy. The room was well overdue for a refurb I will never stay there again. The tiny sitting room was clastaphobic it wa so tiny with uncomfortable settees and chairs. It needed a good clean and redecoration. The rooms do not reflect the resturant. What was alarming there was a down stairs toilet that was used by the waiters there was never no soap or towels in. This place needs a really good clean and a refurb with some decent beds and bedding, especially the prices they charge for the room. It was a while ago I stayed but unless they have spent major moneys and refitted rooms out I would not recommend it. What a disappointment. I hope they now have soap and towels in the toilets.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanSutcliffe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Aubin hotels

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I have just had a lovely lunch, having been a customer for a while now.The food was fantastic, service excellent in fact they couldn't help you enough. The owner has had the same staff for a few years so he must be doing something right.
i cannot understand how there has been some quite negative comments as i have already said never had one yet. If you like a lovely location and good wholesome food i have no hesitation in recommended this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
0.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lyndhurst Jersey
The Lyndhurst Jersey
#12 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Viveur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Viveur

Property: Bon Viveur
Address: Fischer Place Le Boulevard, St Aubin’s Bay, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Aubin
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bon Viveur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Also Known As:
Bon Viveur Guesthouse Hotel St. Aubin
Bon Viveur Hotel
Bon Viveur Jersey/St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing