We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house and great location meant we all had a fantastic holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Brelade
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amani Luxury Self-Catering Apartments
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely house and great location meant we all had a fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 for a family holiday with our 2 year-old daughter, and had a fantastic time. We had great weather for most of the week which meant we had good use of the lovely beach at St. Brelades bay.

On arrival we found we had been upgraded to the four-bedroom house which was a very nice surprise and the extra space certainly came in useful. The house wasn't entirely child-proof though, and our daughter found she could let herself out of her room. Too young to be left in a bunk bed room, it was somewhat tricky to know exactly where to put her. A bit of judicious reorganization put most of the breakable ornaments out of harms way though and we just had to be aware of what she could get access to. It was a very well appointed holiday let though and to be fair, it would have been very difficult to make any house entirely safe for a child at that age.

The really big advantage of the Amani apartments though is their proximity to the many restaurants and facilities in St. Brelade. The Waitrose store is only five minutes up the road, so good supplies (and children's familiar favourites) can be accessed easily, along with a good selection of quality local produce. Out on the road at the end of the drive was a newsagent where local ice-cream was available, which we enjoyed very much. Across from the drive was the Crab Shack, which served excellent seafood, but best of all would provide it in takeaway boxes. For people like us with small children in self-catering apartments, the dearth of good takeaways has severely restricted previous holidays. Here though, there was a quality seafood restaurant which we could actually enjoy, allowing us to have a great evening meal in our very comfortable house. In addition to the Crab Shack, there were two good pizza restaurants and a good quality Chinese restaurant within close walking distance. There were other places to eat in St. Brelade which may also have been very good, but we only had a week there and couldn't try them all!

The apartments offer numerous facilities for guests including a good amount of beach equipment, so don't worry about having to take or buy more buckets and spades etc. WiFi internet was offered although I couldn't connect to it. This was probably due to the ancient laptop I had taken with me but I gathered that other guests had been able to use the facility. Having a dishwasher and washing machine meant that this also worked on a practical level for a family holiday.

The proprietors also offer car rentals which we found to be exactly what we needed for our holiday. A child seat was available for a very small additional cost, but was again perfectly adequate for our stay.

In summary, the Amani apartments provided very comfortable, high quality self-catering accomodation and gave us everything we wanted to enjoy a great family holiday in a beautiful corner of Jersey. We intend to stay there again in the near future and would happily recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank IntravenusDeMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
berkhamsted, england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here as a family of five (plus dog!) in the 4 bedroomed house, and it was fabulous ! We were met on arrival by Jan (who was very helpful!) House was as promised, literally on the beach ! and we all had a fantastic week - we hope to be going back later this year :O) The views from the bedroom at the top were gorgeous !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wynnlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed her late in August 2011 in one of the 2 bed apartments. The location is perfect with a short walk to the beech.

We arrived early and we checked in, a little early. The apartments are pretty good and most points have been covered in the previous reviews. The point I want to raise is reference to mobility. Our daughter (5) has low mobility and she uses an adapted push chair which is described as off road capable. The problem was the car park is gravel with no hard path. The parts that the cars had compacted were pretty firm and didn't cause any issues but the loose gravel was difficult to traverse. A wheel chair would be near impossible to move through it. This didn't stop us enjoying our stay but it would put us off staying there a second time while the car park is gravel.

We had a couple of things go wrong including the washing machine breaking and the service was fantastic during the working day. I did have an issue at night and I used the emergency contact number which no one answered or returned my call until the next day.

There is are some toiletries provided but as mentioned before it would be very nice to have handwash in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

(1) Furnishings to a high standard
(2) Beds very comfortable - nice bed linen & sufficient quality hangers in wardrobe.
(3) Equipment in the kitchen to a high standard also crockery (only one chipped plate thankfully ) also utensils. cutlery, saucepans etc.More than sufficient for dining in. Large Waitrose located nearby !!
(4) Exceptionally clean throughout.
(4) Quality towels & bath robes.
(5) Although small, the gardens are exotically planted, enhanced by spot lighting at night & the garden furniture is to a high standard. The planting makes each patio area relatively private.
(6) The location of the properties couldn't be better, as the superb St. Brelades Bay beach is just across the road, & with parking being prohibitive if located elsewhere ( we have queued for ages in the past to park in the near car parks,& at a cost ) it is ideal for families.
(7)More than sufficient toiletries were left for our use (unlike small hotel 'freebies')
(8)Buckets, spades, balls were available for children in the luggage room, also many board games, books etc.
(9) An ideal location for a real family holiday, with plenty of local places for eating out.
(10) Large overhead electric fans in each room.
(11) All went to plan regarding car hire from airport.

In retrospect, the only problem I found, was that there was nowhere in the bedrooms, i.e a dressing table to sit & make up or blow dry / tong one's hair.

The properties are relatively expensive for self catering, given that one has to consider air flights as an addition, also car rental extras etc., but I feel that we received what we had paid for..

Room Tip: All properties seem well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grandda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed in a 2 bed mews house with a young family in tow.

The welcome at the airport was superb and we were shown to our spotless and pristine hire car that we had arranged as part of our accommodation deal.

It was a very short drive to Amani which is located right across from the beautiful beach in St Brelade. You do have to cross a road to get to it, and the visibility in crossing is quite poor but it's only a 30mph road so not too bad.

The house itself was perfect. Very clean, relatively child friendly (the stair gate was very helpful but only fits on the top step rather than the bottom step), beautiful furnishings and bathrooms.

The location is superb, great access to the beach and local restaurants and a Waitrose only a few minutes drive away.

The whole experience was perfect apart from the fact that we weren't informed in advance (as you normally are with other hotels etc) that the neighbouring hotel were undertaking major construction works so there was some construction noise during the day and a massive crane at the site. As a comparison, when we went to Centre Parcs, there was construction work taking place near by but we were sent a letter in advance plus there was a bottle of wine and box of chocs on arrival to say sorry about the noise.

The booking process was relatively straightforward and everyone was very friendly and pleasant to deal with. I would have preferred to book online though. The lady on site who welcomed us was excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Frequent_Flyer_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We have just returned from a weeks stay in a 2 bedroom mews house. The superb accommodation more than compensated for the terrible weather as we were inclined to spend more time than usual inside and it was a pleasure in such lovely comfortable surroundings. When the sun did appear, it was great to be able to just stroll across the road and be on the beautiful St Brelades Bay with its fantastic beach and restaurants. We couldn't fault our house with all its amenities and attention to detail and would have no hesitation in recommending Amani. We loved it and hope to be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOddC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I almost don't want to write a review as I don't want lots of other people finding out about this place and booking it up years in advance so that we can't come back! This place is fab. It is so much more relaxing staying in an apartment/house than a hotel; no having to get to the restaurant at specific times, no maid bursting in wanting to clean the room, no overpriced drinks at the bar etc. Because we took our 16 month daughter and my mother-in-law, a hotel stay would have required a 3 room suite or at least 2 seperate rooms, and would have been far too expensive and restrictive. Our daughter is a real live wire and can't stand being restricted to one room so having the whole house for her to run around in was great. Of course, having the beach so close was ideal so we popped over whenever the sun was out and we had some lovely afternoons there building sandcastles. The Crab Shack does huge Mr. Whippy ice creams that are to die for!

We stayed in one of the 2 bed mews houses and Jan helpfully provided a stair gate and high chair. The previous reviews are pretty accurate and we have no gripes other than a few minor points...

The smoke alarm is very sensitive and goes off even if you just have toast! It wasn't just us either as I heard it go off in at least 2 of the other dwellings! So be prepared for a shock when it goes off, it's loud! :-)

The oven only has 1 adjustable shelf so if you are trying to cook pizzas for three, you have to cook each one seperately. Luckily they only took 10 mins each so no big deal. Also the grill is a bit poor, I was trying to do bacon sarnies and it took ages.

It was lovely having a huge bath in the main bedroom, but I prefer a shower, so either had to squat in the bath and use the shower attachment, or wait until the mother-in-law was up so I could use the shower in the second room.

I couldn't get the wi-fi working even on the ground floor. I had a good signal but couldn't get an IP address. I work in IT and suspect the encryption password in the information book might have been wrong. However, there was an ethernet lead plugged into one of the network ports in the living room so I just used that and it worked fine.

No dishcloth was supplied, but there was kitchen roll, however the missus went and bought a dishcloth anyway as with a little one and her sticky hands we were always wiping down surfaces and washing up cups instead of putting on the dishwasher.

As for the previous review, I can confirm that tea and coffee is now supplied, although we didn't spot it and ended up buying our own anyway. Doh!

The kitchen cupboards in our house didn't rub together so no probs there, also we got the hang of the washer/dryer okay. There are instructions for all the appliances in one of the kitchen drawers. Also no probs with the fridge door or bath. As for a map, we didn't get one with the hire car but fortunately I picked one up at the airport, there are stacks of them so make sure you pick one up on your way through arrivals.

Overall we are extremely happy that we picked Amani for our stay, the location is excellent, the beds comfy (I've been sleeping really well), towels and bathrobes all good quality and there are lots of nice touches.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fronty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Brelade hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
969 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Brelade
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
498 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Luxury Self-Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Luxury Self-Catering Apartments

Property: Amani Luxury Self-Catering Apartments
Address: Amani Self-Catering 8 La Route de La Baie, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#13 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
Number of rooms: 137
Also Known As:
Amani Luxury Self-Catering Apartments Hotel St. Brelade
Amani Luxury Self-Catering Apartments Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing