We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish and chips, good service.”
Review of The Tree House

The Tree House
Ranked #29 of 53 Restaurants in St Brelade
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: European, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Tree House offers traditional pub cuisine using local ingredients with a wood-burning pizza oven and chicken rotisserie together with home-made burgers, local fish and chips and a new gluten free menu. On the same site, La Marquanderie Inn serves a range of pub fayre and real ales in cosy surroundings.‘Home-made’ is the philosophy of The Tree House with our pizza dough and tasty sauces produced fresh every morning. The pizzas from the traditional stove are scrumptious with a crispy base and heaps of toppings.The Tree House is the ideal family venue. Tasty, healthy kids menus alongside the delicious array of adult choices, mums and dads can enjoy a relaxing dinner, safe in the knowledge that the kids are well entertained in the soft play area, The Monkey House. One of the Island's best indoor play areas within a restaurant and bar environment! If you're without little ones, The Tree House is ideal for a chilled out meal and drink or two, with a stunning woodland al fresco area and cosy interior, suitable for all.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips, good service.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I chose a fish and chip meal which I would only describe as good, not the best. The staff were very friendly and the service could not be faulted. It is a family restaurant where kids parties appear to be welcome, so if you want a quiet meal this may not be the place to eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NigelJWHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Tree House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi NigelJWHall,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the staff and service. We do welcome kid's parties, but these can sometimes take place in a separate area to the main eating place.

Hope to see you again,

The Boat House Group Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    96
    57
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Popular and lovely family restaurant”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Lovely loccation, just up the hill from St Brelade's bay an with a bus stop near by. Nicely done out with play areas for children too. Good food. Will get very busty in high season but definitely worth a visit. Also has sister restaurants including The Boat House in St Aubin's

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Tree House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Emma C,

Thank you for your review.

Do visit again soon!

The Boat House Group Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Good pizza's made in woodfire oven and very good quality steak. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Definetly recommend for a relaxing meal. Good quality all round. Thank you

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Tree House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Leisha B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip. We're glad you enjoyed it all.

The Boat House Group Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The place was very quiet on the Tuesday evening we visited and if I'm honest it was a little on the cool side on the bar area. However the staff were cheerful and attentive.

We enjoyed a lovely meal of steak and mushroom pie accompanied by a tasty pint of Liberation Ale.

The pie was quite clearly not mass produced and overall goid value for money.

Had the chips been home made and the veg been more than just peas we would have rated 5 star, however during the very quiet off season its understandable economics.

Would definately go back but be aware it closes at 10 in the winter.

Helpful?
Thank ThoseOggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Tree House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi ThoseOggies,

Thank you for your review. We are constantly redeveloping our menu and portions size, and so your feedback is much appreciated. We will take this into consideration.

Thanks,

The Boat House Group Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food and bad atmostphere”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

- Weak service waiting for a table
- Awful food
- No atmosphere and the restaurant was dead
- Given this restaurant two chances but definitely won't be going back
- Beach house and Boat house are better choices out of the group

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseGroup, General Manager at The Tree House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Smith 775,

We're very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dinning experience at The Tree House.

We take all reviews seriously, and as such have looked in to your comments.

With regards to the atmosphere and the restaurant being dead we are perplexed by this comment as our booking system shows in excess of 150 covers, and according to our complaints log no entries have been made since early 2013.

The General Manager at The Tree House - Marius prides himself on the food being wonderful, so it is with sadness to learn of your experience.

Please can you call 01534 499 157 and ask for Nigel Godfrey our Managing Director who would like to personally investigate this review further, especially given that this is your first review of a restaurant.

You mentioned that you have visited The Boat House & The Beach House, if you visit these restaurants and are in no way happy with the service or food, please feel free to ask to speak to the manager as we would never like our clients to leave us unhappy.

Many thanks and we look forward to speaking to you.

The Boat House Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tree House also viewed

Jersey, Channel Islands
St Aubin, St Brelade
 
St Aubin, St Brelade
St Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to The Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing