We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly lovely”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here to give us an extra day and night on the island, and initially chose the hotel simply because it was close to the airport for an early flight and could provide a family room - however we struck gold because the hotel was wonderful, very comfortable and the children enjoyed the substantial 'little extra' of the swimming pool. We had to be out early and a wake up call and early breakfast were arranged with a smile and friendly courtesy. In fact the staff were a credit to the hotel throughout from the lady who welcomed us on arrival to the night porter who provided a delicious breakfast very early in the morning! The room was comfortable, clean and spacious even with four beds in it. Bathroom fine. Very reasonably priced. Close to the airport, two minutes drive from the seafront. What more do you want?

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olafstapledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

931 - 937 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

The hotel is in a lovely location. The room we had was very comfortable and spacious.The breakfasts were great with plenty to eat and prepared to your choice off the menu (much better than self service). We had two evening meals in the restaurant and both were delicious and good value too. . The staff were always friendly and helpful and we would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed August 2011,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike-openshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We loved the pool which really was heated and was clean,lovely and warm with fresh poolside towels provided, lots of beds, chairs and sunshade if you wanted it. Our family room was spacious with all the bed linen crisp and of a good quality. The tea, cofee and aero hot chocolate were always restocked as were the shampoo etc in the en-suite which had an abundance of lovely hot water for a relaxing bath. The room was well equipped and very clean. The staff were excellent-friendly, helpful and lovely with the kids.
The lounge, bar, and dining room were also lovely.We only had a evening meal there as we were out and about but we thought it was good value and tasty. Breakfast was included in our deal-this was excellent- a cold buffet with superb choice and then hot food cooked to order- no standing around making your own toast or waiting for the fried eggs to be filled up! The poached eggs were quite delicious.
The bus does stop right outside the hotel and shops, bars are only a short walk away but it is down hill. We all loved our stay Jersey is a beautiful island and we would love to have stayed longer than the 3 nights we had.I would highly recommend La Place to other families.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mclean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The hotel is in a lovely location set in the quite countryside. It is slightly out of the way but easy enough to get to by car . The room we had was very comfortable and spacious with a large 4 poster bed and a great sized bathroom. The breakfasts were great, always plenty to eat and best of all, freshly cooked. We didn't have any evening meals but had several lunches which were always generous in size and delicious. We were lucky with fantastic weather and so were able to make use of the hotel pool, which never seemed to get too crowded. The staff were always friendly and helpful and I will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186337Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Great location few minutes from the airport and just a short drive to the coast.Staff very helpful and friendly.Breakfast very good lots to choose from. Our Room was dated and tired but the rooms are in the process of being refurbished. Lovely heated out door pool Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jgs98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Part of our party stayed in the hotel and part in the cottage annex. The cottage annex was great for 2 families and we had use of the hotel's facilities like their super little heated pool but with the extra benefit of lounge space for the kids, full kitchen and utility facilities and a garden to barbeque in! The hotel was very accomodating to the older members of our group in the main hotel which has a nice bar and we had some excellent bar food meals. Service was both friendly and courteous and we all had a hugely enjoyable week,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186363Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights, mid July and found the hotel very basic and in desperate need of serious refurbishment and modernisation.

The bedroom that we stayed in was clean but shabby. The shower barely trickled water, making a shower a near impossible task. The bathroom also occasionally had a strong smell of cigarette smoke, not all the time but it was if someone in another room was smoking. This was obviously not the hotels fault if this was being done by another guest.

We didnt eat in the hotel but we did have a few drinks, one being a cup of tea, being brought out to me without milk. When I then asked if I could possibly have some milk a small carton of UHT milk was brought out to me in the bar on a saucer! Not really what you would expect.

The pool was in need of some attention, with tiles missing and not looking very clean with lots of floating nasties. We certainly did not venture in!

After reading the other posts, maybe they are planning a major refurbishment as others have mentioned. I hope so, as it is sad that a hotel that does have some nice areas is looking so tired and shabby.

Room Tip: book a superior room, defenitly not a poolside suite
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fsmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
840 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
763 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
2.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Address: La Route Du Coin, St Brelade JE3 8BT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £123 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing