We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont knock an old building”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
St Clement, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dont knock an old building”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

its a hotel that needs a lot of work on it due care to detail and local staff more of them it fails in that aspect don't be expecting a 4 star hotel its slowly very slowly trying to catch up quality wise but its situated in a very nice place quiet and warm in the summer away from hustle and bustle and it is a nice aged building just needs a little love and care and of course investment..

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank commischefguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    113
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
226
523
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North east
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Fantastic stay in a FABULOUS cottage. Was sad to have to leave and come home!

So well equipped with everything you could imagine - and the PS3 was a god send for teenage boys!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a cottage - you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBAnortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Have just returned from a great week in Jersey. There were five adults, two children and one dog and we were also lucky enough to be the first occupants of one of the beautifully designed new self catering cottages built around a courtyard alongside the hotel. With four ensuite bedrooms plus a well equipped kitchen, spacious lounge and dining area all furnished to a very high standard plus an additional cloakroom and large hallway we couldn't have asked for more. It was a bit chilly to take advantage of the garden and patio funiture provided but will be a great asset in the summer. The work being undertaken to upgrade the hotel is well under way and is looking very good. The standard and quality of furnishings is first class in both the cottages and hotel and should ensure a high star rating. Every member of staff went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay and we would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Jenny_Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Wow! Was I lucky last month to be the very first guest to stay in one of the amazing new self catering, beautiful, state of the art granite cottages situated in the grounds of the hotel. Recently built and completed ready for the Spring and Summer season in Jersey they are so wonderful I wanted to live there permanently!
There is a small cluster of 2, 3 and even two 4 bedroom cottages arranged in a little square all facing on to a pretty little open space with newly planted trees. Each cottage has its own private patio at the rear with patio doors opening off the very spacious living/dining and kitchen areas downstairs. Olive trees as well and views over farmland. The interiors of the cottages are so fabulous, every detail from kitchen equipment, furnishings, wall art, jacuzzi style baths, wet room showers, carpeting, is of the very highest quality and design, top ranges. A very Jersey theme permeates throughout in the decor and colours as well as a range of Jersey Potteries kitchenware to use and enjoy during the stay.
The hotel has also gone through extensive refurbishment to bedrooms as well as public areas and will be open again in April with a very new look and feel whilst retaining all that I love about the hotel and have done for a few years now. The swimming pool and palm trees for example....Guests staying in the granite cottages have full use of the hotel facilities as well and it is about a five minute stroll to Reception and the Bar. Self catering cottage guests are also invited to have breakfast in the hotel if they so wish.
As the location of the hotel is so ideal for restaurants, the beach, the airport, sightseeing, etc, the addition of the lovely cottages has not only made La Place unique in Jersey but has also provided a truly upscale resort as well as business destination experience on the island.
My only hope is that I will still be able to get to stay there as often as I can.....once word gets out!
Finally, as always, it is the attitude and professional friendly genuine service provided by the management and team of La Place that makes this hotel so very special.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Granite cottage for self catering and poolside room at hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Terri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I have stayed many times over the past three years at Hotel La Place in St.Brelade, Jersey, during all four seasons. I love this hotel and the team there are first class, friendly, professional genuinely caring people who always go out of their way to make every stay a thoroughly pleasant and memorable one. The hotel is so well situated, only 5 minutes by car from the airport and yet so peaceful in a great location. St Aubin's Bay is a short drive or a good walk away and is full of great restaurants, bars and cafes as well as the beautiful views of the sea and beach and the masts of the yachts moored there. St Brelade itself is a stunning bay again with great restaurants and wonderful beach, summer or winter, and a short distance from the hotel. St Helier is easy to get to by bus or car as well.
I love the poolside patio rooms at Hotel La Place and the pool itself is very pretty, lit up during the evenings and with beautiful plants and palm trees around it - very relaxing to sit in or outside the bar for a coffee or glass of wine. The food has always been exactly what is promised and the breakfast is absolutely what you want to start your day.
In the grounds of the hotel are some stunning granite cottages almost finished - ready next March - for self catering holidays. They are state of the art in terms of appearance, design and facilities, a definite wow addition to the island. The facilities of the hotel can be used when staying in the cottages as well.
But best of all, and something that money cannot buy, is the attitude of all the great people working at La Place. I look forward to seeing them all when I visit Jersey and it really is a home away from home for me.
Terri

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or spa - yet - but I could not unclick the ratings above. Poolside patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona City, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Scruffy; with patched carpets, windows never been cleaned for years, paintwork yellowed and walls cracked and stained. The worst 4 star hotel I've ever seen. I'd say it's about 2. The breakfast room blinds have dead flies behind them and the pool area is a disgrace.
Service was quite good however but they had a lot to contend with including no hot water and loss of room TV system. It appears that some investment is being put into construction of adjacent facilities which makes it even harder to accept the run down offering in the main building. If you've stayed at international 4 star hotels don't waste your money here, if you are used to 2 star places and want to pay £65 a night more then this is the place for you.

Capt. M

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank George_Mainwaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is our fourth time staying at Hotel La Place. The hotel is very close to the airport and has ample car parking space for the hire car. We upgraded to a superior room and the upgrade fee was worth it as the room was complete with modern decor and bath robes. As usual, the food in the hotel restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice for everyone and outstanding waiter service. We have stayed in several hotels in Jersey but only stay at Hotel La Place now. In 2012 the Hotel is opening some self catering cottages on the same site as the hotel, these are an excellent addition for families and larger groups. We do not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: If your budget will stretch, consider upgrading to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
2.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
740 reviews
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
808 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
754 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Property: Hotel La Place
Address: La Route Du Coin, St Brelade JE3 8BT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing