We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel La Place”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel La Place”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Have just returned from a wonderful family holiday in La Place Hotel. My husband and I stayed in a beautiful superior hotel room by the pool.Our family, 4 adults and 4 grandchildren stayed in one of the large cottages. Actually it was a huge house which had absolutely everything they needed. Everything was of a very high standard. It was really amazing! I can't praise this hotel enough. It was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in. The food was wonderful and you could order food to be delivered to the cottages which was great for couples with young children. There is a lovely pool area which was perfect for relaxing in the sunshine. I can honestly say I have never stayed anywhere with such an amazing staff! They were all so kind and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.Fantastic place!! Val Perkins

Room Tip: Superior rooms on to pool are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Val Perkins,

Thank you for finding the time to post these delightful comments on TripAdvisor! It gave me the greatest pleasure to share your kind comments with our team who were delighted to learn how much you liked the hotel and the cottages. They are truly our greatest asset and one of the reasons for our hotel’s success!
It is great that you dinned with us most evenings in our award winning restaurant and that your family made use of the room service in the cottage.

Once again, it really is lovely to get such positive feedback so thank you for this and we look forward to welcoming you all back when you are next in Jersey.

Best regards,

Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    113
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
223
514
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Staying at La Place's sister hotel, the nearby La Haule Manor, we made a reservation to dine at La Place's restaurant. Chauffeur driven there, courtesy of the hotel, we were graciously treated throughout our visit. Service at La Place was impeccable and shows professional training and real attention to detail. Salmon terrine followed by skate were cooked and presented perfectly. Both the lounge and restaurant were elegant and the whole experience was five-stars standard. We were so impressed that we dined there again the following evening. The trio of blue gambas, the pea risotto and tuna were as delightful as the previous dishes we had tried.

This was the most civilised dining we had in Jersey and the restaurant is highly recommended for a very special experience. Despite the world-class treatment, this was actually very affordable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quixwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Quixwood,

Thank you for taking the time out to write on TripAdvisor regarding your recent meal with us.
I was happy that you had an opportunity to dine in The Retreat Restaurant whilst you stayed at our sister hotel La Haule.
I am pleased to hear that you found our food delicious and well presented. It will be my great pleasure to complement our truly amazing team on the helpful and efficient service you have given us top marks for- they will be very happy to hear that!

We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Jersey.

Best regards,
Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hi just thought I would share my opinions of La Place and our recent weeks stay in May. After considering quite a few hotels we choose La Place because it seemed to offer high standards of service and accommodation and as our local airport only has one flight a week we knew that some of our time would be centred there as we were looking forward to relaxing. Overall we were very impressed and having looked at some of our other hotel choices certainly feel we choose the best one for our stay. We booked a Deluxe double room so
my comments are based on this. So here goes.....
FOR
1) Location, very near to the airport although you would never know, situated what feels like the middle of the countryside
2) Room, very spacious and very nicely decorated, very nice large bathroom with deep full size bath and walk in shower also the room is at one end of the building and upstairs so very quiet
3) Breakfast, we were really looking forward to breakfast after reading many rave reviews and despite some points which I will come to, it was really delicious
4) Majority of staff, polite and friendly
Now unfortunately one or two small points which were disappointing
AGAINST
1) Although we requested a double bed as opposed to ones that join together unfortunately these were what we got and although clearly designed to join you still get the inevitable dip in the middle, and to be brutally honest we did not find them at all comfortable and did not sleep particularly well
2) Although as stated the breakfast was a highlight we felt a little rushed by the staff, this may have been them being attentive but as soon as you sat down with perhaps your cereal they wanted to take your orders for cooked items and if you asked for ten minutes they were back in three, also and I know this is petty but what is it with their refusal to leave the sauce on the table instead you get a spoonful artistically smeared on your plate... most odd! I also thought breakfast times were a little short, we are early risers but if you fancied a lie-in (afterall you are on holiday) you would miss it.
3)One evening we decided to have room service, we had checked the hotel information in the room regarding times and prices etc and nowhere was it stated that a "tray fee "applied so upon receiving we tipped the waiter only then to discover another charge was already applied to the bill, when we queried it later we were told it was in the hotel information sheet but it certainly was not, it was only a small amount but the man's attitude on reception did nothing to ease our annoyance.
4)Probably most disappointing of all was on our last evening when we told the same gentleman that we had to book out the next day before breakfast and that we would then have a considerable journey ahead and if anything regarding breakfast could be arranged(afterall we had paid for it) only to be met by a shrug of the shoulders and in the end it seemed a reluctant agreement for some tea and toast, having read some other reviews it seems some hotels make these sort of arrangements and suggest it to their guests not for us to have to suggest it.
Well that's it, for the most part we were very impressed and glad we choose La Place

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BRIAN186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear BRIAN186342,
Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted to see that overall you were very impressed with the hotel, and that you used TripAdvisor to make your decision to stay with us.
I am however disappointed to hear that we did not meet all of your expectations, and I would like to take this opportunity to comment on your against points:

1) A lot of thought has gone into the re-design of our rooms, and the beds we feel are crucial for a comfortable stay. I am pleased to say the majority of our guests comment on how well they sleep, therefore perhaps if it was pointed out during your stay we could have checked whether they were not joined together properly.

2) It is always with great pleasure to read how well the restaurant staff look after our guests during breakfast and dinner, being attentive is certainly one of their great points, however if you felt rushed, the team is very approachable so this could have easily been rectified. With regards the sauce, perhaps this sets us apart from the norm and what we would like to think 4 star service, I am sure they wouldn’t refuse if you had asked. The timings never seem to cause problems with our guests, with so much to explore on our beautiful island most of our guests are ready to go in the morning! We do extend it in the weekends from 08.00 till 10.00 if anyone wants to have a lie in.

3) It is a shame you did not have the opportunity to dine in our award winning restaurant. I do apologise if it was not clear that a charge is involved when food is taken up to the room, unfortunately it seems your room information folder was left out when this was updated, so again apologies. I do believe a £2.00 charge is very reasonable for room service, nonetheless if it wasn’t pointed out to you, I can understand you found that frustrating and I apologise for that.

4) If you do depart before our restaurant opens, although as you point out we do open from relatively early, we are only able to offer you continental breakfast in the room at no charge. It does include cereals, fruit, yoghurt and toast, so I do apologise if perhaps this was not offered to you. It is an arrangement that is offered to all our guests who leave early, so I am surprised that this seemed reluctant, it certainly is not his intentions to come across like that.

Once again I would like to thank you for finding the time to write your review and we do hope to welcome you back next time you visit Jersey.

Kind regards,

Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at Hotel La Place for seven nights. The staff were very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was first class with a good variety on the menu. Everywhere was very clean and there are some lovely areas to sit in. A very relaxing week.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nottm38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The cottages here are stunning. Ignore all the bad reviews, because by staying in the cottages you can go to the breakfast room, pool, lobby etc. it is a beautiful place and it was an old farmhouse, and if you're looking for modern and grand, obviously this isn't the place, it's an old lovely decorated place, and I can't understand how it is "dirty and damp".
The pool is a gorgeous temperature and the sun beds are comfy, can't say how the hotel rooms are but the cottage rooms are gorgeous..with a party of 8 we stayed in a large cottage and it was extra spacious and there wasn't any lacking room for any of us. Loved every minute of it here and it's defo a must!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Faye G

Thank you for finding the time to post these lovely comments on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate all comments and we have been lucky to receive some very great reviews lately, perhaps the dirty and damp comments you refer to were of a while ago as the quality of our rooms are in line with our 5 star self-catering cottages. The refurbishment is not fully completed as the standard rooms are yet to be done, which is scheduled to be done in the winter.

Thank you for pointing out that when you are staying in the self-catering you are able to use all of the hotel’s facilities, such as our lovely heated swimming pool. We even do room service in the cottage if you want to have the evening off from cooking!
Really glad you loved every minute and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Jersey.

Kind regards,

Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent hotel, facilities spotless and of high quality. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good choice of food, nice to be able to choose between the slightly more formal restaurant and the` Retreat Bar' for our evening meals.
As our flight was late in the afternoon we were able to relax by the pool and enjoy a lunch from the bar even though we had signed out from our room.
Although the hotel is only about 6 minutes from the airport there is very little disturbance from air traffic.
We WILL be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel La Place and had such a wonderful stay at this Hotel. The staff are so polite and helpful. The bedroom was light and airy and spotlessly clean with a large en suite bathroom with plenty of toiletries and a fantastic walk in shower. The bed was comfy and the linen was nice, white and crisp.
The food in the restaurant both at Breakfast and Dinner was excellent. The food was delicious and could not fault anything. Well done to the chef who prepared us some lovely meals. The restaurant itself has a very relaxing atmosphere too. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone looking to stay on Jersey. We stayed in three Hotel altogether on the Island during our stay and La Place was the one that certainly stood out as one of the best for us.

Room Tip: We had one of the recently refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Christine H,

Thank you for taking the time out to write on TripAdvisor, it really is great that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you appreciated our White Company toiletries and enjoyed the linen on our comfortable beds.

Thank you for complimenting us on the food for both dinner and breakfasts. We believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so we are very happy to offer a variety of healthy choices for our guests to choose from, whether they decide to opt for a Continental or full English breakfast.

We sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel next time you decide to visit our beautiful island!

Kind regards,

Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greenhills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Property: Hotel La Place
Address: La Route Du Coin, St Brelade JE3 8BT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing