We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres bon!”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed for one week in a two bedroomed cottage. Could not have been better! Close to airport and very accessible once you work out the Jersey lanes. Very friendly staff on reception. Given a guided tour of the cottage and offered a welcome drink. Cottage was spotlessly clean, well appointed and well equipped for self catering. Hotel facilities (pool, restaurant, bar) all looked lovely but we didn't use them so not fair to make any comment. Easy stroll to St Aubin by green lane, bus stop at the door and easy to access the island by car. (NB check out the parking rules before you travel and make sure you buy parking tickets asap after arrival on the island!)

Room Tip: The cottages are built in a square around a courtyard and have sun terraces off the living area. Fo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MGAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Firstly lets start with the bad points, errr cant think of a single one ! The hotel was fabulous ! superbly located, just far enough away from the village but easily accessable by bus or foot. The rooms were superbly fitted and decorated and had everything you needed and all to a very high standard.The rest of the hotel was the same and had a real warm friendly feel to it added to the great staff who were so helpful and very polite and friendly. The food was faultless and of a extremely high standard. Lovely swimming pool which was warm and kept very clean with plenty of sun loungers at hand.All in all a great place to stay and cannot wait to go back !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently spent a week at La Place, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We could not fault the service and the food which were superb. The staff were unfailingly polite, friendly and very helpful, and made our stay there a joy. The public rooms are beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. Our room, while very comfortable and, like the rest of the hotel impeccably clean, was perhaps a little tired and ready for a revamp. The beds were extremely comfortable, and we slept very well, after asking the staff to change the duvets, which we found too warm, for sheets and blankets.
The full English breakfast is not to be missed at least once in your stay (oh, those Cumberland sausages and the black pudding!) However, we can also reccomend the Poached Haddock.
All in all - if you aregoing to Jersey, stay at La Place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrishS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, warm welcome with a glass of bubbly. Well-appointed, clean and very white room. Comfortable bed, super bathroom. Right by the bus stop if you want to go to st helier, or twenty minutes down the green lanes to st aubins.
The location on the current TA map is a little wrong: the hotel is not fifty yards offshore, but is instead secluded in the countryside. Nice view over the pool from our room: a bit of noise early evening, but that did not worry us.
Restaurant team good: especially when things went a bit manic at 945 on Sunday. Breakfasts great, evening meal ok but a touch "commercial": scallops on the over cooked side of perfect.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ChrisBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear ChrisBarnett,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, it is much appreciated that you enjoyed our welcome with the glass of bubbly.

Thank you for pointing out the location on the TA map, unfortunately it has proven to be slightly difficult to rectify this. We are indeed a country hotel, but as you are never far from anywhere in Jersey, the nearest seafront is only a short walk away from us.

I am sorry to hear though that the evening meal did not meet you expectations, not entirely sure how we can improve on your comment that it was a touch commercial, nonetheless we do take this on board.

We hope that we can welcome you back next time you visit Jersey.

Kind regards,

Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights and could hardly fault the hotel. It is well located in a quiet country location a short drive from the airport and the bays of St Aubin and St Brelade. Our 1st floor room overlooked the courtyard and was spacious and well appointed. The only things missing were a room safe, luggage stand and flannels. Towels were changed automatically daily and good quality toiletries were in plentiful supply. We had ample wardrobe and drawer space.
The service was faultless throughout, the staff all helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was good and hot breakfasts were freshly cooked without undue delay and well presented. Dinner was very good and the dining room and lounges have been attractively refurbished. There is a good wine selection and prices are reasonable.
The outdoor pool is large, well maintained and heated. Buses to St Helier etc stop right outside the hotel.
We were most impressed with every aspect of this hotel and will certainly stay there again if we return to Jersey.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mokey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Mokey4,
Thank you for finding the time to write on TripAdvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I note that you stayed in one of standard rooms which unfortunately does not have a safe, but as per our information folder we do have safe facilities at reception. As the standard rooms are due to be refurbished next year they will as our superior and deluxe rooms have safes and luggage racks.
I am sorry to hear though that you did not have the flannels, we would have been happy to supply these if pointed out to us during your stay.

It is great that you enjoyed the breakfast and had the opportunity to dine in our Award winning restaurant.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Jersey.

Kind regards,

Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have just returned from our first stay in this hotel and it will definitely not be our last. We stayed in a superior room (203) and could not fault it. It was large bright and airy and the newly renovated decor was gorgeous both within the room and throughout the rest of the hotel . The service was first class . Every one of the staff went out of their way to look after you and make you feel special despite being very busy. The food was also delicious. The hotel is a little out of town but we actually preferred this as it is very quiet . We had a hire car but there is a very good bus service and a stop at the door of the hotel so don't let the location put you off and prevent you from experiencing this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth paying the extra for
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Margaret J,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write on TripAdvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our deluxe rooms. It is much appreciated to hear your comments about the staff.

You are right that the hotel might be slightly out of the way, which means you can enjoy the beautiful country setting, but with the bus stop just outside the hotel you are never far from anywhere.

We hope to welcome you back next time you decide to visit Jersey.

Kind regards,
Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just returned from a week stay. Jersey is only an hour away from our local airport and we went to look for somewhere we could 'pop across' to. We didnt look, La Place is the perfect place.

We stayed in a refurbished room (103) which was excellent, on the ground floor near the pool.

We also intended to eat out - we didn't. The food and service in the restaurant is great with a different Table de Hout menu each day.

The staff too are very pleasant and attentive.

I cannot praise enough.

Room Tip: Room 103 is close to the entrance and the patio doors open to the pool area, but has a small private...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank a6spd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear a6spd

Thank you for the kind comments you shared with other travellers on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your experience in our award winning restaurant so much that you decided to eat in every evening.

Now that you know you can just 'pop across' we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
839 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
763 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
2.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Address: La Route Du Coin, St Brelade JE3 8BT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £122 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing