We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family cottage”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a great week in La Place Cottages which are annexed to the Hotel La Place. We stayed in one of the two large four bedroomed cottages set in the tastefully designed courtyard of twelve. The cottage is well designed with all mod-cons. It easily accommodated us, our two young kids and their grandparents.

My only pointers for the management would be to do something about the very squeaky upstairs floorboards especially in the master bedroom which sits above the one bedroom located on the ground floor. And the central area of the courtyard looks unfinished slightly undermining the overall aesthetic appeal. The wifi is free and much appreciated but could do with a little more speed.

But that's it for the negatives. It was great having the independence of cottage living with the convenience of an attached hotel. The pool was fun for the kids as a way of finishing off an active day. On the night the grandparents babysat, we thoroughly enjoyed the fish & chips served in the hotel bar. The gorgeous St Brelade's Bay is just a short drive away with a handy Waitrose on the route home for fresh supplies. St Aubin is a cute small harbour town nearby with plenty of cafes and St Helier and Durrell Wildlife Park are short drives on this compact but picturesque island. And being just five minutes from the airport is remarkably handy but not noisy with few flights and restricted hours of operation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Mark L,

Thank you for taking the time out to write about your recent stay with us in one of our cottages.
It is great to hear that you appreciated the design of these; a lot of thought has gone into this, so I am pleased that you enjoyed this.
I am however sorry to hear that the floorboards caused you a disturbance during your stay, this is something that needs looking into.

The outside design of the cottages are based on an old Jersey farm house, we have some lovely Jersey lavender around the courtyard to reflect the farmhouse feel, I am sorry however that this looked unfinished to you.

I am delighted that you made the most of the hotel facilities and enjoyed the many beautiful sights in Jersey.

We hope that we can welcome you back next time you decide to visit Jersey.

Kind regards,

Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    109
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
220
489
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived after a long drive Brittany, looking forward to complimenting our discovery of the wild coasts with a few nights on Jersey. Funnily enough we both didn't share our first impressions with each other, the hotel looked distinctly 'English' in the sense of retirement home when we were offered a welcome drink at the pool. We chose a glass of rose champagne ...which was served in a plastic flute. All radars went on 'oh dear'. Surprisingly though, our room was up to standard so no complaints there. Dinner was ok, even though we it remains a mystery how a starter of fresh scallops can be served in less than min after ordering.
The real let down though was the breakfast. Cheap juices, muffins that were openly replenished out of a plastic packet, unripe melon, dry mini croissants that must have come from that same supplier and coffee and tea of the worst seaside resort quality you can imagine. We decided to ask for a room only rate and - as expected - that is not policy and therefore not available. Customer feedback, seeing it as a gift and making the policy work for the customer is clearly not this hotels standard. The only reason why this review is not 'terrible' is due to the quality of the (deluxe) room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AustralianElephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear AustralianElephants,

Thank you for finding the time to write your review on Tripadvisor whilst still being accommodated by La Place Hotel and Country Cottages, as the name suggests we are a country hotel which may well look distinctly English however is this a negative point?

All of our guests are offered a complimentary welcome drink on arrival, this being a tea, coffee or a lovely glass of pink bubbly, as you point out in your review you chose to have this at the poolside. In keeping with Health and Safety regulations and also for the welfare of our guests, we serve this in acrylic glasses.

I am delighted that you found our room up to standard, however I am slightly mystified as to why you then only give us 3 star rating for the room quality, cleanliness and sleep quality.

We always appreciate constructive feedback and as I said all baked breakfast produce is freshly prepared on the day, the muffins that we serve are locally sourced as is the coffee. The tea is English Breakfast tea, however if this is not to your liking we do have speciality teas available if requested. Speciality coffees are also available during breakfast at an additional cost.

Unfortunately your approach to the staff left us with no choice but to ask you to leave the hotel, it is regrettable that we were in that position and I hope you will enjoy the rest of your time on our beautiful island.

Yours sincerely,
Margriet Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you want a holiday doing nothing but lying in the sun beside the pool, a comfortable room with all mod coms and excellent food this is the place for you. Although we brought our car and visited all round the island it would have been very easy to do nothing at all, and also a good escape for the single traveller.
The hotel is a beautifully renovated old farmhouse, now very modern. Our room had French windows opening onto the pool area with plenty of sun beds for all. Breakfasts of all sorts provided and the staff, who come from all over Europe, are always chatty and helpful.
I might want to put this hotel on my "Places to run away to" list.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor pool room. There are also cottages for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielleG70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear GabrielleG70,

I would like to thank you for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor, how nice that you consider us to be a place that you can run away to!

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for another relaxing and enjoyable stay very soon..

Kind regards,

Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from a week at La Place which was very enjoyable. Accommodation, food, staff all excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was obviously recently refurbished to a very high standard & spotlessly clean. Situated very close to St Aubin but nicely in the country.

Steve H

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after spending a week at La Place Hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our room was all that we wanted and was of a very high standard. The staff, without exception, could not be faulted and nothing was too much trouble for them. Food was of a very high standard and well presented. Breakfast was in the Conservatory which was lovely although you could have it in the dining room if you wanted. There is a lovely swimming pool which is kept very clean at all times and there are very nice sun loungers for sun bathers. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel and buses run every hour. This is a lovely hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed for one week in a two bedroomed cottage. Could not have been better! Close to airport and very accessible once you work out the Jersey lanes. Very friendly staff on reception. Given a guided tour of the cottage and offered a welcome drink. Cottage was spotlessly clean, well appointed and well equipped for self catering. Hotel facilities (pool, restaurant, bar) all looked lovely but we didn't use them so not fair to make any comment. Easy stroll to St Aubin by green lane, bus stop at the door and easy to access the island by car. (NB check out the parking rules before you travel and make sure you buy parking tickets asap after arrival on the island!)

Room Tip: The cottages are built in a square around a courtyard and have sun terraces off the living area. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MGAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Firstly lets start with the bad points, errr cant think of a single one ! The hotel was fabulous ! superbly located, just far enough away from the village but easily accessable by bus or foot. The rooms were superbly fitted and decorated and had everything you needed and all to a very high standard.The rest of the hotel was the same and had a real warm friendly feel to it added to the great staff who were so helpful and very polite and friendly. The food was faultless and of a extremely high standard. Lovely swimming pool which was warm and kept very clean with plenty of sun loungers at hand.All in all a great place to stay and cannot wait to go back !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
735 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,771 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greenhills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Property: Hotel La Place
Address: La Route Du Coin, St Brelade JE3 8BT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing