We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Place
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cristina(St Aubin)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$487
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa(St Brelade)
US$271
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands Hotel(St Brelade)(Great Value!)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Highlands Hotel(St Brelade)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lyndhurst Jersey(St Brelade)(Great Value!)
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Haule Manor(St Aubin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windmills Hotel(St Brelade)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveller rating
961
119
20
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
119
20
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshigh standardpoolside roomprivate patioself cateringdeluxe roomon arrivalwelcome drinkst helierfirst classwalk in showerevery member of stafflovely hotelclose to the airportglass of champagnequiet locationnothing is too much trouble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights 27th-30th June, first time in Jersey which is beautiful. Hotel is located a short distance from town and beach but in a lovely peaceful and relaxing environment. Lovely pool and grounds. We stayed in room 216 overlooking pool which was apparently a non refurbished room but was huge, spotlessly clean and in great condition. The hotel staff are a credit to the owner, all friendly, helpful and a pleasure to be around, really couldn't do enough for us. The public areas of the hotel are beautifully decorated and maintained. We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was absolutely amazing, great selection of good wines, would definitely recommend. Breakfast too was excellent as good, if not better, than we have had in five star hotels (the porridge with Jersey cream is amazing and quite addictive). Generally a really lovely hotel that we absolutely intend to return to. Would definitel recommend the La Mare wine tasting tour and the wildlife park and there are some amazing beaches. The only thing that annoyed us was hearing some people complaining about plastic glasses around the pool when we checked out, honestly do not understand what some people expect especially when there are small children using the pool!!! Great place.....

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Andrew S,
Thank you for finding the time to post these delightful comments on TripAdvisor! It gave me the greatest pleasure to share your kind comments with our team who were delighted to learn how much you liked the hotel. They are truly our greatest asset and one of the reasons for our hotel’s success!

We are indeed so lucky to live on such an beautiful island and we all love to ensure that our guests are able to share it with us. The next time you visit our team will be delighted to recommend places to see and visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Place Hotel and Country Cottages for another enjoyable and memorable stay!

Kind regards,

Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, complimentary airport transfer, welcome drink, good English breakfast & nice clean rooms!

Hotel is 10-15 minutes walks from st aubin bay.. 40 mins walk to st brelade bay & st heilers!

Thoroughly enjoyed their hospitality.
Perfect holiday!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Shiv2014shabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Shiv2014shabs,

Thank you for your recent review, how great to hear that you had a perfect holiday and enjoyed our hospitality!

We hope that we can welcome you back next time you are in Jersey.
Kind regards,
Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in Hotel La Place and would be happy to stay there again on our next trip to Jersey.

We would also recommend it to any of our friends, family or anyone interested in visiting Jersey.

Overall the experience was excellent; however there were a few tiny niggles. We will list the good points and the niggles below:

GOOD
Location - The hotel is located in a quiet area of the countryside. Idyllic and very peaceful. Despite this it is still very close to both the airport (though no plane noises) and civilisation; St Aubins & St Brelade.
Appearance - Well kept flowers and plants greet you as you arrive at the hotel. The inside of the hotel is finished to a high spec and is very clean and fresh. We stayed in a standard room which also ticked all the boxes (even though all the standard rooms are still due a refurbishment this winter).
Staff - The staff were very warm and friendly. It's a nice touch to always be greeted with a smile by every member.
Breakfast - good choice of continental/buffet items and my wife loved the smoked fish and poached egg option that she ended up eating every morning since discovering it on the menu :) Dragosh always greeted us with a smile and some humour and provided great service.
Facilities - Clean pool... ample outdoor loungers (no fighting for beds)... ample parking... lots of ad hoc seats dotted in the hotel for sitting and chilling out.

NIGGLES
Smoke - there were a few occasions where the smell of cigarette smoke drifted up and through our open windows (windows needed to be open as the weather was warm and utterly gorgeous) from guests smoking on their porches by the pool.
Breakfast - breakfast already featured in the good points, but there were a few blips; on 3 mornings I was delivered earl grey tea bags instead of green tea (easily rectified, but also easy to avoid occurring). Also one occasion where we were overlooked and left sitting for over 30 minutes before having to ask to have our order taken.

Just to reiterate, despite the niggles, we really enjoyed our stay... will stay there again, and would recommend it. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 754PaulL754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear 754PaulL754,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at La Place Hotel.

It is lovely to hear all your good points and that you enjoyed the location, breakfast and the staff, it is much appreciated.
I am however sorry to hear about your niggles, it is unfortunate that the smoke drifted into your room from the downstairs patios. I am also sorry to hear that although you enjoyed the service in the restaurant, there were a couple of incidents that we need to apologise for.

Once again thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Jersey.

Kind regards,

Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We've just returned from a great week in La Place Cottages which are annexed to the Hotel La Place. We stayed in one of the two large four bedroomed cottages set in the tastefully designed courtyard of twelve. The cottage is well designed with all mod-cons. It easily accommodated us, our two young kids and their grandparents.

My only pointers for the management would be to do something about the very squeaky upstairs floorboards especially in the master bedroom which sits above the one bedroom located on the ground floor. And the central area of the courtyard looks unfinished slightly undermining the overall aesthetic appeal. The wifi is free and much appreciated but could do with a little more speed.

But that's it for the negatives. It was great having the independence of cottage living with the convenience of an attached hotel. The pool was fun for the kids as a way of finishing off an active day. On the night the grandparents babysat, we thoroughly enjoyed the fish & chips served in the hotel bar. The gorgeous St Brelade's Bay is just a short drive away with a handy Waitrose on the route home for fresh supplies. St Aubin is a cute small harbour town nearby with plenty of cafes and St Helier and Durrell Wildlife Park are short drives on this compact but picturesque island. And being just five minutes from the airport is remarkably handy but not noisy with few flights and restricted hours of operation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Mark L,

Thank you for taking the time out to write about your recent stay with us in one of our cottages.
It is great to hear that you appreciated the design of these; a lot of thought has gone into this, so I am pleased that you enjoyed this.
I am however sorry to hear that the floorboards caused you a disturbance during your stay, this is something that needs looking into.

The outside design of the cottages are based on an old Jersey farm house, we have some lovely Jersey lavender around the courtyard to reflect the farmhouse feel, I am sorry however that this looked unfinished to you.

I am delighted that you made the most of the hotel facilities and enjoyed the many beautiful sights in Jersey.

We hope that we can welcome you back next time you decide to visit Jersey.

Kind regards,

Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived after a long drive Brittany, looking forward to complimenting our discovery of the wild coasts with a few nights on Jersey. Funnily enough we both didn't share our first impressions with each other, the hotel looked distinctly 'English' in the sense of retirement home when we were offered a welcome drink at the pool. We chose a glass of rose champagne ...which was served in a plastic flute. All radars went on 'oh dear'. Surprisingly though, our room was up to standard so no complaints there. Dinner was ok, even though we it remains a mystery how a starter of fresh scallops can be served in less than min after ordering.
The real let down though was the breakfast. Cheap juices, muffins that were openly replenished out of a plastic packet, unripe melon, dry mini croissants that must have come from that same supplier and coffee and tea of the worst seaside resort quality you can imagine. We decided to ask for a room only rate and - as expected - that is not policy and therefore not available. Customer feedback, seeing it as a gift and making the policy work for the customer is clearly not this hotels standard. The only reason why this review is not 'terrible' is due to the quality of the (deluxe) room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AustralianElephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear AustralianElephants,

Thank you for finding the time to write your review on Tripadvisor whilst still being accommodated by La Place Hotel and Country Cottages, as the name suggests we are a country hotel which may well look distinctly English however is this a negative point?

All of our guests are offered a complimentary welcome drink on arrival, this being a tea, coffee or a lovely glass of pink bubbly, as you point out in your review you chose to have this at the poolside. In keeping with Health and Safety regulations and also for the welfare of our guests, we serve this in acrylic glasses.

I am delighted that you found our room up to standard, however I am slightly mystified as to why you then only give us 3 star rating for the room quality, cleanliness and sleep quality.

We always appreciate constructive feedback and as I said all baked breakfast produce is freshly prepared on the day, the muffins that we serve are locally sourced as is the coffee. The tea is English Breakfast tea, however if this is not to your liking we do have speciality teas available if requested. Speciality coffees are also available during breakfast at an additional cost.

Unfortunately your approach to the staff left us with no choice but to ask you to leave the hotel, it is regrettable that we were in that position and I hope you will enjoy the rest of your time on our beautiful island.

Yours sincerely,
Margriet Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews