We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and pleasant traditional hotel”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We spent the Easter 2010 weekend in Jersey visiting family and decided to give La Place a go, as our usual choices were fully booked or unreasonably expensive. As we've visited the island many times and had a hire car, we had no problems finding the hotel, or difficulties with its rural location. I think it is fair to point out however that the hotel is located off a narrow country lane, about 1km up the hill behind St Aubin, so is not easily within walking distance of shops/restaurants/facilities. The road down to St Aubin is narrow, unlit and with no pavement, so I would certainly not fancy walking this route at night - but as we had the car we were untroubled by this.

The hotel has plenty of free parking spaces and is well sign-posted from just outside St Aubin. The building itself is clearly an older property, and some people may find it just a little faded round the ages, but not to the extent that this would detract from a stay here. Our room was a good size and was comfortably furnished, although a mini-bar/fridge would have been nice. The TV had only 4 terrestrial channels and reception was very poor. Ironic really as the hotel did have free wifi internet access that worked fine.

The double bed was actually 2 single mattresses pushed together, so I would deduct 1 point from what otherwise was very comfortable sleeping conditions.

We didn't eat in the hotel (they are at pains to advertise their restaurant and the need to book), apart from breakfast which we had delivered to the room each morning without problems. Our room faced out over the swimming pool, which due to the chilly Easter weather was not yet in use. I thought this area could do with a bit of modernisation and lansdcaping as it looked rather similar to a 1960's American motel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2009

We stayed a la Place in August, food was fantastic so where the staff, yes its old but its a 200 year old building.
Fantastic value we will return

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,905,419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We booked our wedding with Jersey Wedding Service but towards the date of us flying to Jersey to get married, we were worried about the lack of organisation from Jersey Wedding Services.

Thankfully Paul the Manager at Hotel La Place saved us! His organisation skills and helpfullness made our wedding so special.

It was just me and my husband who attended the wedding service at the hotel, but the staff at this hotel made the room look so beautiful and gave us a lovely champagne breakfast which made me a little bit tipsy! and cry over breakfast as i've never been so happy.

Just want to say a big thank you to Paul and his team for making our day so special! We can't wait to come back !!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lollylennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

I booked a weekend in Jersey for my partner's 30th birthday surprise. Looking online for an outstanding hotel the Hotel La Place looked amazing on their website.

Because I booked 9 months in advance I got a big discount and paid £320 for 2 nights B&B in a Superior room. This I still thought was very expensive having stayed in 5 star London hotels for cheaper but I thought it would be worth it.

Reception was ok - we were dealt with very professionally and although we arrived early were shown to our room which was very spacious and clean. I have to say I was disappointed with the room. It really didnt look like the picture on the website.

We decided to eat in the restaurant on our first night - since we didnt know the island - the food was lovely - the service was well below what I expected! After ordering a bottle of wine the waiter literally just plonked the bottle down and walked away! We were the only people in the restaurant - it was hardly because he was too busy! - Luckily for us the bottle had a screw cap so we openned it ourselves and poured! So much for customer service!
It was downhill from then on - I found one particular waiter (both at dinner and breakfast time) both moody and rude! Was he not trained to ASK someone if they had finished their meal before removing the plate!?! I was still chewing!!

The room was 'nice'
The food was lovely
Customer service in the restaurant was awful
The bed was comfy!

Would I go back ?? No -
Was it worth £160 a night? No (and this was with a discount!!!)

Jersey itself was lovely - rained a bit but when the sun was out the island glistened!! The beaches are beautiful.

Second night we went to the Salty Dog restaurant in St Aubins ! The food, customer service, location, atmosphere was amazing!! Go there if you can !!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We have just returned from our 2nd years stay at this hotel, it was as if we we had never been away!
We were picked up from the airport on arrival by the hotel's car and taken to the hotel where we were greeted with open arms. We were shown to our rooms(the same ones as requested at booking) which were spotlessly clean and awaiting us was a chilled bottle of bubbly.(Most appreciated)!
We had booked Bed & Breakfast for our stay, and again just as we remembered it .Everything you could think of from cereals, freshly made croissants,fruit, yoghurt to the full engligh breakfast.
(And we still made room for lunch)!
We did have the odd shower of rain during our stay, so we ordered room service for dinner on a couple of occasions, not a problem the restaurant just came to us! The food was fantastic.
Throughout our stay all the staff were so friendly and very efficient, NOTHING was ever too much trouble for them.
We knew the hotel had changed hands last year and were expecting changes, we were not dissapointed. Its amazing what a difference it made to my children by having the use of a lilo and a rubber ring in the pool and a quick game of croquet after breakfast or a game of badminton. Even games for rainy days. Just to name a few of these little added comforts.
We had a fantastic holiday and most of that is down to Paul and his Awesome Staff for making us so welcome.
And a very special thank you to the hotel owner himself for taking the time out to drive us to the airport 'in the stretch limo' for our return flight.
We hope to return very very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzieNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

I booked my wedding reception last year at Hotel La Place and the service that I got from then on was amazing. Even though the person dealing with our booking changed early in the preparation stages, the new manager Paul was always up to date with what had been arranged before, he and his staff especially Tomasz and Ludvik and the bar and restaurant managers made our day run so smoothly and perfectly that I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone. We stayed in the hotel on the night of the wedding and found the room to be beautiful and all the staff willing to help us and very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahHighfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We stayed at the Hotel for a week on the half board basis. We were some what reluctant to commit ourselves to eating in the same hotel each evening. It turned out to be an excellent decision. Collected at the airport by Mercedes, we booked a pool side room and it was quiet and private. I understand the hotel is due for extension and refurbishment and perhaps it is ready. However it was clean and the staff are excellent. This particularly applied to the reception and restaurant staff (mainly Polish). The breakfast was first class but dinner was superb. A limited menu but when you have fillet steak and lobster who wants 5 varieties of burger. The service was first class, and when a rare mistake was made it was remedied immediately and a bottle of wine as compensation always helps. Bar prices are steep and that tended to see the bar empty of an evening which did spoil the atmosphere.
The island itself is obviously worth a visit but from the hotel you can walk or cycle the local lanes with little or no traffic. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJSETWESB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
891 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
797 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
985 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Address: La Route Du Coin, St Brelade JE3 8BT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £110 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing