We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful. Can't wait to go back”
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have just returned home from this hotel and can't wait to go back. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome. We were in room 204 which has a fantastic sea view. The breakfasts were absolutely gorgeous. A beautiful place to chill out.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clizzywizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    123
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
114
266
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Spent the first week of June here, Room 211 and the view was fabulous...def worth paying extra for a sea view....even lashing down with rain and dark and cloudy the view was amazing, the staff were really friendly and helpful from the girl cleaning the rooms to reception staff...we went half board and the meals were lovely...buffet breakfast had everything you could want, we are definitley considering booking again for next year....make a visit you will not be disappointed...Well Done Golden Sands...

Room Tip: We were on the Second floor room 211...it had a fantastic sea view....well worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rozzie_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just returned from our 2nd stay here
Simply stunning location
Had a superior sea view room with balcony (403), fabulous room, with stunning views across the bay
Hotel staff bent over backwards to help you, especially the waitress and bar staff of the evening. Gave our 5 yr old lots of attention and treats which added an extra special touch.
Meals good, breakfast good.
Can't wait to return
Well done Dolan on a great hotel :-)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Having visited this hotel on several occasions in the past...there is always a concern that the next visit will not be the same success.
There need have been no worry...as from the Receptionist to Bar/ Restaurant Staff everyone sought to make the visit another memorable occasion.
Public areas fine, although quiet.
Rooms comfortable...with balconies providing a magnificent view over the bay....and it was hot this time!
A hire car was helpful to get round the island, although served well by bus servicees throughout the island.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must....with the fourth floor providing larger accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I had a few nights there. The hotel was busy, the guests being mostly older people (it not being peak season) in groups. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. We thought the food in the restaurant was very good, although the service was a bit hit and miss at busier times. The hotel is in a great location, right on the beautiful sandy beach, which was one of the best I saw on the Island, although some of the numerous dog walkers weren't too good at clearing up after their animals. We paid extra for a room with a balcony and lovely sea view (definitely worth it) which was clean and comfortable, but not quite up to the 4 star rating given by the Jersey tourist board. A great place if you're looking for a nice beach, good food and some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the sea view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stillrowmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,655 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend at this hotel in April 2012. It was very cold and windy but the hotel was a nice refuge.
We had a room on the first floor with balcony overlooking the wonderful beach. It was not spacious but quite adequate with double bed, tables and a couple of armchairs. Two chairs and a table stood on the balcony although the weather forbade any use of them. The bathroom was quite small but had all that was required and everything worked. My wife noted that the bathroom stuff was from the White Company.
The first evening we ate in the hotel restaurant. The dinner delighted us by its quality, presentation, service and reasonable prices. In fact we were so impressed that we ate there every evening as we could not be bothered to go out.
Service from all staff was consistently friendly and well-mannered.
The location was very quiet when we were there but it is undoubtedly much busier in the summer. The bus stops - for travel to St Helier in one direction or the west coast of the island in the other - are only about 10 metres from the front door.

Room Tip: Only saw one room - our own. Balconies only on first floor, sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Normanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Having seen the location of the hotel on a previous visit to Jersey we checked Trip Advisor reviews and booked a 4 night stay with family and were not disappointed. Our bedroom was not large (although the bed was a super-king size) but the wonderful view across the bay compensated for this. All areas of the hotel are clean and the service from all the staff was first class. We had half board and were impressed with the evening meals which are served in a dining room with beautiful sea views.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 503975Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
967 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Brelade
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
740 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
710 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Property: Golden Sands Hotel
Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade’s Bay, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#7 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of the popular St Brelade’s Bay, the Golden Sands Hotel is the perfect location for a quality, beach holiday in Jersey that is as active or relaxing as you choose. Recently refurbished and enjoying 4 star status, the hotel offers panoramic views over the white sandy beach and clear blue waters from the restaurant, café bar and most of the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands St Brelade
Golden Sands Hotel Jersey/St Brelade
Hotel Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing