We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked two rooms - one with a cot for our 20 month old grand daughter. We could not fault this hotel. Staff friendly, helpful. Clean, comfortable rooms. Location is superb. Sitting on the balcony or directly below on the beach was a real treat. Ours were sea facing with balcony on the first floor and we'd do that again. We'll definitely head back to enjoy the same comfort and relaxation. St Brelades Bay is an amazing place to stay when visiting Jersey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

St Brelades Bay is a wonderful spot on Jersey...with the magnificent beach a real pleasure when the weather is right.
The Bank Holiday week-end provided such weather...and the Golden Sands Hotel was, once again, the perfect venue.
Sitting on the bedroom balcony in the sun...or enjoying the weather on the beach, this was a great way to relax.
Staff welcoming and always willing to help.
Wonderful setting.
Another great stay.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is essential to fully appreciate the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We wanted a break with rest as the most important part, and we certainly achieved that.

Our room had a sea view, and although quite small was excellently appointed. The restaurant was excellent, and all round service was absolutely great.

But top of the list is the balcony view from our room. We could just sit there all day.

I think we will be returnin g.

Room Tip: Must have a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avio984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We booked three standard sea view rooms for the six of us for a week stay and were very impressed with everything from the ease of booking right through to check out. The staff could not have done more for us especially as one of our elderly relatives was ill during our stay. The duty manager put us through to a local doctor and we got an appointment the same day. From then on all of the staff asked after her health and they were happy to arrange whatever she wanted whenever she wanted it.
The whole place was spotlessly clean, the huge beds were probably the best hotel beds I have ever slept in and the sea view was a panoramic view of St Brelade's bay (no craning your neck to catch a glimpse of a bit of beach here). All of the staff from the general manager to the housekeepers were friendly, professional and attentive and made every effort to make our stay a real pleasure.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be returning next year to attend a family wedding

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Booked a short break to Jersey as we had not been to the channel islands for a few years and allthough we try never to go back to the same hotel each time we visit we are sure to go back again to this one,in fact we have allready asked for a quote for later on this year.We booked via travel agent in the national papers but would book through the hotel in future. We had a rear room over looking the car park but a wonderfull room plenty of space three armchairs and ample wardrobe space.Please note that the hotel does not have a car park and you need to pay during the day but a minor problem. MEALS breakfast buffet style but plenty of choice and good quality.
EVENING meal we had not booked half board but after eating there the first night we then ate in the restaurant each night because the food was so good.Had we have booked half board we would have got some of the meals cheaper you can upgrade from the set menu for a small supplement.STAFF what can be said all of them were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble.Many thanks to the maintenance man who helped me take the cases to the room.
Restaurant manager was very helpfull and helped out at all times. Reception all great in fact couldnt fault anyone, Location great right on the probually the best beach on Jersey,Try the sea bass its to die for

Room Tip: If you can afford it superior sea view only viewed it but on our wish list
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We went back to Jersey for the first time in over twenty years and found the island and it's people just as welcoming as we remembered. This welcome was at it's warmest at the Golden Sands Hotel. We had taken the 7.30am British Airways flight from LGW so we arrived at the hotel just after 10am. Despite our early arrival the staff were able to give us a room as soon as we arrived. The room was pretty standard, decent bathroom, comfortable bed etc but the main feature was the view. All of the hotel's sea view room rooms have stunning panoramic views of the beach and St. Brelade's Bay and the sound of the waves in the evenings was very relaxing.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and the breakfast was excellent (see photo).
All in all a hotel that I have no concerns about recommending very highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mightybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Chris

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us at the Golden Sands Hotel. We are so glad that after 20 years since your last visit to Jersey that you were not disappointed with your visit.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Avril McLaren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Loved everything about this hotel,nice rooms,warm friendly staff,always smiling.So much choice at breakfast and evening meals were just delicious.Dining room overlooking bay made it so special.Little light entertainment on some evenings very relaxing with a drink from the bar.Or a little easy walk after dinner,magic.

Room Tip: we slept at back of hotel and it was very quiet ,so no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Ann W

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding you stay at the Golden Sands Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Avril McLaren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
842 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,048 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade’s Bay, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#7 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £58 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of the popular St Brelade’s Bay, the Golden Sands Hotel is the perfect location for a quality, beach holiday in Jersey that is as active or relaxing as you choose. Recently refurbished and enjoying 4 star status, the hotel offers panoramic views over the white sandy beach and clear blue waters from the restaurant, café bar and most of the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands St Brelade
Golden Sands Hotel Jersey/St Brelade
Hotel Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing