We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going the extra mile!”
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

From the moment we started the booking process to checking out of the hotel, the staff & management could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had booked a superior seafront room for my partner's parents who both have disabilities (Mum with partial site & Dad with Motor Nurone Disease) and the staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating with their issues. Special thanks need to go to Robbie the restaurant manager who despite having a full hotel was happy to arrange any dish Dad wanted - even if not on the menu! Jan at the front desk was always there to lend a hand and the young man (so sorry can't remember his name) who initially showed us a variety of rooms was always there with a smiling face and also very helpful. The hotel is spotless and the superior seafront room of a very high standard. Every member of staff we encountered were charming and helpful. We really can not praise the hotel enough for the level of customer care and the quality of the accommodation.

Room Tip: The superior sea front rooms are definitely worth the money if planning on spending time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Holidayrocks

Thank you for your lovely comments which I will pass onto the staff. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Avril McLaren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Had a sea view room for 4 nights and enjoyed a very pleasant break. Food, staff and service all excellent. We ate at the Oyster Box the first night but on the next night decided to try the bar meal at our hotel. We enjoyed it so much, that on subsequent nights we also ate in the bar of our hotel and it was very good value for money. Bar Menu is a misnomer as the food is the same as in the restaurant, just a more limited choice but nevertheless it was excellent every time. Wine was reasonable too. For families the Pizza Express seemed popular (4 doors away).
Our bedroom was a good size, partly because of the extra space allowed for the single (optional) wall bed to fold down. The step down from our entrance hall into the bathroom and another down into the bedroom took a little getting used to but most probably a result of hotel extension in the past. Our room had a kettle and we had plenty of tea, coffee and milk supplied each day. Bath had a shower over it on a riser rail so the handset could be used separately. Elemis dispensers, no shower cap. Our room 105 seemed to be just above the guitarist playing in the bar but it stopped at 10.30 pm and only on one evening. Location excellent for a quiet stay with all attractions easily accessible by bus (except the airport – take a taxi approx. £9.50). A good way to get an overview of Jersey is to book a day coach trip but check it does visit the places you consider important. Waverly Tours seem to visit the most attractions. The War Tunnels, Jersey Lavender (and nearby Reg’s garden), The Glass Church of St. Mathew (Lalique glass), Jersey Pearls and St Hellier are all easily accessible on the Liberty Bus network for in depth visits. The Lavender Garden is only a £1.20 bus stop away and the walk back can be achieved down 280 steps through the Churchill Memorial Park which is opposite the hotel. You will need directions or a good road map though.
For the fit & healthy a good 2 hour walk is across the cliff tops to Corbiere lighthouse via Beaufort Bay, the old quarry and the prison. Pick up the path from the LH lane running behind the church but look out for the uphill path to the RIGHT where a footpath crosses the lane and reward yourself with a Jersey Ice Cream from the van when you arrive.

Room Tip: Sea view room best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brit1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We booked at Golden Sands Hotel for a four day visit to Jersey in May 2013. We were really looking forward to it, the island looked amazing and the hotel looked lovely. Just before we were due to fly, my husband hurt his back quite badly. He just couldn't move and was in a lot of pain. I contacted the booking agency to see whether we they could help us to broker either a partial refund or a credit so that we could visit Golden Sands later this year. The bookings manager at the hotel flatly refused to do anything for us, not even a partial gesture. As a result we have lost a considerable amount of money and it has left a very bad taste. I'm not impressed with the way the Hotel has treated us as prospective future guests (we will never book there again, although will definitely arrange another trip to Jersey) and we are definitely not impressed by their customer service, lack of understanding and inflexibility which leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank 150958RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear 150958RH
Unfortunately it is very difficult to comment as we do not know your name or reservation details. If you have booked with a travel agent or online booking provider I would advise you to contact them or if you booked directly with the Golden Sands Hotel we would ask you to contact us directly. 01534 491907.
Regards
Avril McLaren
goldensands@dolanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked two rooms - one with a cot for our 20 month old grand daughter. We could not fault this hotel. Staff friendly, helpful. Clean, comfortable rooms. Location is superb. Sitting on the balcony or directly below on the beach was a real treat. Ours were sea facing with balcony on the first floor and we'd do that again. We'll definitely head back to enjoy the same comfort and relaxation. St Brelades Bay is an amazing place to stay when visiting Jersey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

St Brelades Bay is a wonderful spot on Jersey...with the magnificent beach a real pleasure when the weather is right.
The Bank Holiday week-end provided such weather...and the Golden Sands Hotel was, once again, the perfect venue.
Sitting on the bedroom balcony in the sun...or enjoying the weather on the beach, this was a great way to relax.
Staff welcoming and always willing to help.
Wonderful setting.
Another great stay.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is essential to fully appreciate the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We wanted a break with rest as the most important part, and we certainly achieved that.

Our room had a sea view, and although quite small was excellently appointed. The restaurant was excellent, and all round service was absolutely great.

But top of the list is the balcony view from our room. We could just sit there all day.

I think we will be returnin g.

Room Tip: Must have a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avio984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We booked three standard sea view rooms for the six of us for a week stay and were very impressed with everything from the ease of booking right through to check out. The staff could not have done more for us especially as one of our elderly relatives was ill during our stay. The duty manager put us through to a local doctor and we got an appointment the same day. From then on all of the staff asked after her health and they were happy to arrange whatever she wanted whenever she wanted it.
The whole place was spotlessly clean, the huge beds were probably the best hotel beds I have ever slept in and the sea view was a panoramic view of St Brelade's bay (no craning your neck to catch a glimpse of a bit of beach here). All of the staff from the general manager to the housekeepers were friendly, professional and attentive and made every effort to make our stay a real pleasure.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be returning next year to attend a family wedding

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.2 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,078 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade’s Bay, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £72 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of the popular St Brelade’s Bay, the Golden Sands Hotel is the perfect location for a quality, beach holiday in Jersey that is as active or relaxing as you choose. Recently refurbished and enjoying 4 star status, the hotel offers panoramic views over the white sandy beach and clear blue waters from the restaurant, café bar and most of the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands St Brelade
Golden Sands Hotel Jersey/St Brelade
Hotel Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing