We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Having stayed 3 nights at this hotel we found our room very noisy and difficult to have a good nights sleep with contant thumping from movement from a room above. Toilet flushes and water were also noisy from other rooms.
Our room was in need of decoration.
No parking at this hotel means you need to pay to park in the car park opposite.
On a positive note this hotel is in a lovely location right on the beach and it might be worth upgrading room to a sea view. Breakfasts were superb but did not try other meals.

Room Tip: Sea view room worth considering
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a 3 night half board break and wished we had gone for longer! The staff are attentive, courteous & friendly. The room was spotless and the view breathtaking.......It is well worth paying extra for a room with balcony and sea view. The food was superb & delicious with lots of choice. Breakfast did not disappoint with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals & hot options. The restaurant overlooks the bay which makes dining even more enjoyable.
We used the local buses to explore, these are so professionally run thats its not worth renting a car.
We couldn't find fault with anything, we had a wonderful break.

Room Tip: Have a room with balcony & sea view because if you don't when you see that view you will reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olg_12019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

On a very busy Friday evening we arrived without a reservation for dinner in the hotel's restaurant. We were treated with great courtesy and comfortably seated with a delightful sea view. Starters of spicy crab cake and pea & bacon risotto were very good, followed by sea bream and fried cod. All round excellence in both presentation and cooking. There was a very good wine list. Service was very professional and all the staff were smartly dressed and clearly well-trained. The whole ambiance of the place was very pleasant and comfortable.

St Brelade's Bay is a really charming place, and this restaurant and hotel is blessed with a particularly fine location and view. Highly recommended for a very good dinner at a very reasonable price. Good public car parking just over the road.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quixwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have just returned from a four day short trip with a friend, to relax after losing my husband. We asked for a quiet room and we got one. The trip was booked last minute through Expedia , and very good value for money. 4 days half board, flight and transfers to hotel. Both transfers were in superb luxury cars, and hotel was just lovely. The food was brilliant, staff extremely helpful and room very clean. The view was just amazing. Would definitely recommend, and we used the local buses to get around very easily.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room that was at the front of the hotel, so not with the sea view, which was a shame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I could not have chosen a better hotel or location for my first trip in 3 years. Having seen most of the island, st brelades bay is definitely the number one spot, its perfect. Golden sands hotel is so relaxing, travelling alone was no problem here. The views from the front facing rooms are amazing with a gud sized furnished balcony. The cafe bar area is much bigger then the website photos suggest, lots of comfortable seating & excellent value food. Breakfast in the restaurant is firstclass-with great views of the sea front.
St brelades is approx 10-15 mins from the airport by taxi costing approx ten pounds. Free wi-fi is available in all parts of the hotel & all staff are friendly & welcoming. I loved my stay & cant wait to go back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank YorkshireDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel has a lovely view from the balcony and like everyone else has submitted you would be making a mistake not to pay extra for the sea views. The staff are extremely plesent and helpful. The bedroom had a lovely big bed with clean sheets there is one criticism and that was the bathroom, it was not 4 star standard needs to be refurbished. We had a meal on the 1st night and they do change the menu daily which is nice however if you are a vegetarian do not eat here it was not a nice dining experience it was dried pasta sheets around mushroom slop which was the worst meal ive eaten out to be honest. I recommend paying just £3.50 for room service every morning for a private breakfast on your own balcony we did this on our final day and wished we had done it every day. Also make a trip to waitrose to have a lovely bottle of champagne every evening on the balcony with a sea view until sunset bliss. One more thing to add the reception has the parking scratch cards so no need to stop off commuting from the airport the parking spaces are directly opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annieandchannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I really enjoyed my 5 day stay. The staff made me welcome. The bedroom was comfortable. The food was good. As a single traveller I had a room facing away from the sea but I spent hours sitting on the veranda enjoying the view of the bay and watching the beach.

Room Tip: If you can book a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HJJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.2 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,077 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade’s Bay, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#5 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £72 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of the popular St Brelade’s Bay, the Golden Sands Hotel is the perfect location for a quality, beach holiday in Jersey that is as active or relaxing as you choose. Recently refurbished and enjoying 4 star status, the hotel offers panoramic views over the white sandy beach and clear blue waters from the restaurant, café bar and most of the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands St Brelade
Golden Sands Hotel Jersey/St Brelade
Hotel Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing