We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a gorgeous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My husband and I are regular visitors to Handpicked Hotels as he is a gold member through his business trips with work and I have to say L'Horizon lived up to the Handpicked reputation.

A really lovely building with a glass back so you can really make the most of the views out over the beach. We were upgraded to a sea view room and waking up with that view every morning was just fantastic. The bed was amazing!! The most comfortable bed I had ever slept in

From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out the staff were fantastic and had the classic handpicked hotels approach of being professional and ensuring everything was done to the best standard it could be but at the same time having a friendly and welcoming approach. The pride the staff take in their hotel was clear. The hotel was relatively quiet whilst we were there as it was off peak but this didn't affect the enjoyment of our stay at all.

We had dinner at the hotel the first night in the Brasserie and had the set menu which was just delicious, our second night we had dinner at the oyster box just a couple of minutes walk down the promenade and again had a great experience

We also used the swimming pool on our first day - loved the fact the whole room was so warm so you could happily relax on a sunlounger if you wanted.

This was our first trip to Jersey and we were only there three days but would recommend hiring a car and visiting some of the other beaches on the island (although St Brelades was the nicest) and the War Tunnels were great

Another lovely stay at a Handpicked hotel - we hope to be back again one day!

Room Tip: Definately ask for a sea view! Watching the early morning dog walkers and swimmers on the beach is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emsi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

After a bit of a grim week, we decided to treat ourselves with an overnight stay at the L'Horizon with dinner in The Grill restaurant.

We couldn't fault a thing from check-in through to a dip in the pool on our way out on Sunday.

The staff were excellent and very friendly which made the whole experience more enjoyable.

Dinner at The Grill was superb and we found it hard to choose between the Table d'hote and A La Carte menu - both were very tempting.

I have to say that the bed (room 256) was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in a hotel. Out like a light!

All in all, highly recommended. We both had treatments in the spa which were great value and perfect to end our getaway.

Room Tip: A sea view is fairly unbeatable. Even when it's blowing a force 6 gale, the views are spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at L'Horizon in Jersey and we have to say this hotel was wonderful. It's in a fabulous location in St. Brelade's Bay, right on the promenade. We had been given an upgrade to an ocean deluxe and the view from the room was amazing. We have both travelled a lot but have to say this beach is definately one of the most beautiful! Right from the moment we arrived we were given the typical handpicked hotels welcome. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was enjoyable. They had the perfect balance that Handpicked seem to achieve throughout their hotels of a highly professional service but without being stuffy and instantly making you feel at home there.

We ate at the Grill restaurant on the first night, having enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the bar. The food was sensational! As it was low season all evening meals were in the Grill and there was a choice of menus.

We also used the pool and spa faciilities on our first day, a lovely addition to the hotel. Unfortunately it was late afternoon and so dark when we were in there so we didn't get to make the most of the seaview from the pool but can imagine it is a great experience.

The hotel has a great location on the bay, you step out the back door and you are on the beach - we also walked down the promenade on our second night and had dinner at the Oyster Box restaurant a few minutes walk away. The reception team at the hotel were great, booking a table for us, recommending places to park in St Helier on a day out - (there is a special parking system in some car parks using a scratchcard so it is worth speaking to reception before you head into the capital) and generally giving advice to make sure we got to make the most of our time on the island. We would highy recommend a trip to the War Tunnels in the centre of the island. They are fantastically done and provide a real insight into life on the island during the German occupation.

As always with any Handpicked hotel, the staff made our stay. I'd like to make a special mention to Charles and Candice who were just a delight to deal with.

We will definitely be returning one day. Thank you L'Horizon.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room with the sea view as it is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stickman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend break at this stunning hotel, the service throughout our stay was impeccable. The room spacious and very clean, probably the highest cleaning standard I have experienced in a while. The food was excellent throughout.
I would highly recommend this hotel not just for service and standards but also its wonderful location.
Jayne

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Had a great 3 night stay in this calm, relaxing and beautiful hotel. We felt very well taken care of and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Clean, comfortable rooms and even the cheapest rooms were a good size. I wish now we had paid extra for a sea view because it really is a stunning bay. Excellent buffet breakfast, even had eggs fried fresh if you wanted it. Swimming pool and spa area great too.
This hotel clearly has great management behind it because you don't get such a smooth, efficient running place without a good management team.

Room Tip: get the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeegirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was my first visit to Jersey and will definately be returning. Fantastic hotel right on the beach. First class service and excellent breakfasts and room service (even when they were busy with a wedding) We enjoyed the relaxing evenings in the lounge with the pianist who had an admirable repetoire. Walk to shops and Waitrose is up a steep hill but the views are worth it!

Room Tip: Will go for a sea view next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryHeswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Had to write a review before going away on Honeymoon to thank all the staff of the L'Horizon Hotel for a superb weekend.
We had been planning our wedding for such a long time and we could not fault a single thing. Breege our wedding Co ordinator was superb and so so helpful she will be pleased now that she wont have to deal with any more emails from us lol.
I stayed at the hotel the night before the wedding and had such a nice room 210 loved it could live in that room. Karl the Concierge was a superstar and very helpful along with his other concierge colleague which i have forgotten his name {sorry} helped all our guests out so well.
The reception team were super Christiane and Megan i think dont actually sleep as they were always at reception. In the lad in the bar was very polite and thank you for telling me mum she looked nice on the wedding day very kind of you. Also a big thank you to the breakfast team who did a great job and a such a nice host showing us to the tables. Sorry forgot her name as well Susie i think.
The wedding day was faultless everybody commented on how the food was superb and the service was even better. Danny led his team so well and they put in a great shift to make our day so special and both of us were so happy with the whole weekend. A lot of our guests said when they go to wedding you try to find faults with the rooms, the food and the service but nobody could so a big thank you to everyone. The hotel deputy manager im sure this guy also never sleeps as he just seemed to be around to help without been over bearing.
A big big thank you to all the staff you are a real credit to the Lhorizon hotel. Having worked in a couple of the other 4 star hotels in Jersey i know sometimes how much hard work goes unnoticed but fair play to you all great job. Everyone slept well that could remember going to bed and a few would like to take the beds home with them. Mr Kelly you have an amazing team of staff. Breege once again THANK YOU. we will be touch after the honeymoon to say thank you properly.
All the best for the rest of the year and have a great xmas and new year.
Gareth and Claudia Wheatley
PS thank you for looking after my parents for the 10 days they were in Jersey.

Room Tip: Pay the money for a seaview so you can watch the mad people in the sea at 7am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leedsjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
841 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
771 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#11 of 16 in St Brelade
627 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,706 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: La Route de La Baie, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#9 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £123 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850 by George Hicks, a colonel in the Bengal Army, the building has an almost Mediterranean feel yet the hotel itself is unmistakably British. The interior is calm and elegant, full of space and light, while the outside impresses with its beautiful terrace and the view over golden sand and crystal clear waters. We believe in taking things easy here, with a strong focus on leisure: something we like to think we are good at! One of the highlights of the four star L'Horizon Beach Hotel is the new spa, which includes six treatment rooms, a relaxation area, pedicure and manicure area and sleep room. With 106 bedrooms and three restaurants, the hotel offers the ideal setting for an intimate break, a romantic wedding and (as it is just 10 minutes from Jersey airport) an inspiring meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Jersey l
l Horizon Hotel St Brelade
Lhorizon Hotel Jersey
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing