We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things that matter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's the little things that matter”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

As with every experience we've had with the Hand Picked Hotels, L'horizon exceeded our expectations. They understand that its the little things that matter. The bottled water in your room, the fruit bowl in reception, the service in the bar, the friendliness of the staff. Everything is done for you to 1 feel relaxed and 2 feel relaxed.

It was very quiet when we stayed in Jan 13, with lots of snow in the UK a lot of the flights to Jersey were cancelled but that didn't mean the hotel gave us any different a service. Everything was open and although you were lucky to see one couple eating in the restaurants in the evenings it was laid out and ready for a full house.

The concierge helped with advice on what to do in the low season on the island and proved invaluable as a lot of things were closed down for the winter.

I would recommend to anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Beach view with balcony. Only one word to use. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintW182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    265
    94
    23
    15
See reviews for
251
529
46
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
newport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is our first choice of hotel in Jersey. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable. The service from all of the staff from the porters, receptionists, bar and breakfast staff is first rate. The Deputy Manager Peter is very helpful, remembers guest names and gets stuck in to whatever needs doing, he helped us with porterage, wifi, bar and food service plus some local introductions. He really seemed to be around in all of the departments overseeing customer service at all times. A real asset to the hotel. We are booked in again early April for another visit to our favourite island, wonderful for children and couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmbran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This place is heaven!
Friendly staff, excellent service, immaculate room (seaview)
The chefs are superb and basically we just could not fault our stay.
My girlfriend cried when she walked in and out of the room (overjoyed... followed by the fact that she just did not want to leave!)
We will be back one day.

Room Tip: Seaview is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYQUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at l'Horizon. Special rate advertised via their registered users feature on the hand picked web site .
Receptionsists were fantastic, evening meal in the grill was super (table Dhote included in our package at small extra cost)
Flew with BA using up avios to reduce the price.
Crab shack and Oyster box restaurants are a verys hort walk and a must.
Nice pool.
Breakfast can be busy and if we had any critiscism it would be that the staff got a bit flusterd and disorganised at this time but food was nice.
Nice walks and lovely location

Room Tip: Sea view is a must and upgrade to deluxe sea view was marvellous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and facilities within the hotel.

Jersey is so easy to reach and it’s great that you managed to take advantage of one of the many flights from Gatwick..

I have also noted your comments about breakfast.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 2 night, mid-week break at L'Horizon with our 5 year old son. We booked through BA, which gave us a complimentry upgrade to a sea-view, executive double room - which gave us stunning views directly over St Brelades Bay.
I would definately recommend booking a sea-view room - waking up to that view is a must!
I'd have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful - each one going 'above and beyond' to assist and where possible resolve any issues (in our case we struggled to gain Internet access - and despite a router being brought to our room we still found it to be limited to 1 device at a time and in the end gave up trying - so there's still some work to be done there for Hand Picked Hotels)
The room came with an excellent tea tray with a plentiful supply of tea/coffee/ hot chocolate and shortbread, a good kettle, lovely big mugs and even a tea pot! It was much appreciated.

Housekeeping was excellent and very attentive - regularly replacing used mugs with clean ones and replenishing used supplies. Lovely little touches made us feel totally looked after and included things like the bed being turned down each evening and a bottle of water placed on the bedside tables etc.

My only gripe would be that our room (276), had an interconnecting door with the room next door. Despite this being locked, we could hear absolutely everything from the other rooms occupants - at one point I thought the husband was taking a bath in our bathroom! This meant we were very conscious of any noise we were making which is particularly tricky with a 5 year old boy in the room! I would suggest that the hotel should where possible avoid putting families with young children next to other occupants (I appreciate that might not be possible during high season).

The breakfasts were delicious with an excellent choice and selection available from a hot and cold buffet.
Our son enjoyed use of the pool (which was a few degrees too cold for my liking), so I kept to the Jacuzzi instead!)
Despite being February the sun shone and although the windchill meant we were subjected to freezing temperatures, we really enjoyed our morning walks on the vast expanse of beach and exploring the rock pools. We appreciated returning to the sunny indoor terrace at the Hotel where we would sit and defrost while enjoying the view of the beach.
We hired a car for the duration of our stay and used it to explore the island and see some more of Jerseys stunning beaches. We would love to return during the summer and would definitely return to L'Horizon, which was in our opinion 'the best hotel on the island'.

PS - Can I say a big thank you to the hotel for returning my sons mattress protector that I forgot to remove before we left! Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emclare72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review

It’s great to see that you had a great time and I couldn’t agree more that Sea Views are worth that little bit extra.

We will in the very near future have all our hotels fitted out with free wifi this is mainly in the public areas at the moment but we are able to provide the routers as you have said.

We keep the pool at 29 degrees, I am sorry if your son found that to be a little cold.

We are aware of the sound proofing issue in a small number of the interconnecting doors, we are addressing this in next couple of months, I am sorry the sound disturbed you.

I am pleased you had the opportunity to explore the island it really is beautiful and quite a diverse landscape from North to South.

I was pleased to read that were able to return the left property, all part of the service.

We hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again soon and remember it’s always cheaper to book direct.

Regards

Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey U.K
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My adult daugher & I stayed here at the end of February for 3 nights for some R&R time. I booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip & got the best deal by far via ba.com holidays.

Lots has been written regarding this hotel so I'll try to mention things that others have perhaps not.

We had room 371on the top floor (third floor) overlooking the bay & we were able to sit out on the balcony on the first afternoon as it was warm.

Check in was efficient & our room well appointed. The beds were comfy & small bottles of toiletries were supplied, along with liitle packs of cotton pads etc which are all very useful when travelling with hand luggage only. Complimentary waters stored in the fridge were replaced each day which was good. The tea/coffee selection in our room was varied & we made full use of this facility, as we did of the varied selection of complimentary dvds available from reception to curl up in our beds at night & watch films.

The pool looked inviting but the weather was sunny throughout our stay so we were out walking & sight seeing. There are adult only times which judging by the number of children in the pool whenever we passed by was a good idea.

The breakfasts, although the same each day, gave a good choice & my freshly cooked omelette was excellent. The dining room was has sea views which was pleasant.

My daughter said the background music was really good but until she mentioned it I hadn't noticed but, I made a point of doing so & she was right. One evening when we returned to the hotel a pianist was playing the grand piano which was lovely.

There is parking in front of the hotel & also across the road of which the signage, in my opinion could be improved for easier access in the dark.

We didn't dine in on any evening but we did visit the Crab Shack a couple of hundred yards along the promenade & we really enjoyed our meal.

This hotel appeared popular with varied guests from business people to multigenerational family groups & we can understand why.

We visited the Durrell Conservation Park & it was a really enjoyable day out with a great cafe, & 5 month old baby gorilla amongst other fascinating animals in spacious enclosures. We hired a car but there is a bus stop near the hotel.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is lovely but it may be too hot for some in the warmer months. Also, a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy-Popsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Hi

Thank you for the very balanced and detailed review of the hotel.

Reading between the lines I think you enjoyed the visit. It’s great that you have taken time to find points that not everyone had mentioned.

We do have a very broad age range, and people using the hotel for many different things, pleasure, business weddings conferences etc.

It’s a shame you didn’t have the opportunity to have an evening meal in the hotel, but there are plenty of options in the Bay, all within easy walking distance.

It was good to see that you had the opportunity to hire a car and explore the island, although there are many excellent bus routes available. Durrell is a wonderful facility doing a lot of great work for conservation throughout the world.

We hope you have the opportunity to return to Jersey and L’Horizon soon.

Regards

Martin
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Thank you to Danielle for your warm welcome and introduction to the facilities. Friendly, yet professional. For promptly informing us that due to illness, the joint massages would need to be fractured and readily accommodating me to slot in another appointment, good service.

Danielle intervened when we highlighted our perception of the pamper treat we had booked and paid for.

Deomelia (the manager) was most helpful, supportively listened and intervened to ensure we enjoyed our day to the fullest with a delicious meal.

Jamie who was so accommodating, seated us overlooking the bay. Stunning views plus tasty food with great service...

Thank you all for making this day special, accommodating us and inducing a relaxing sense of wellbeing. So much so, that, I am looking forward to my massage soon and will be spreading the word at work.

Kathy was hugely complimentary of her massage by Laura.

The facillities were clean, however it has been the excellent service by your staff that has made this experience all the more worthwhile...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to review the spa, most of our reviews are for the hotel, it’s great to have the feedback for the spa on it’s own.

Thank you for noting everyone’s name, it is lovely that have mentioned them in person, we share the feedback with them all and they are rewarded for being named in correspondence from our guests

We hope that you have the opportunity to come back soon and use the facilities again.

Thank you once again

Regards

Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
741 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Brelade
782 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
3.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: La Route de La Baie, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#9 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850 by George Hicks, a colonel in the Bengal Army, the building has an almost Mediterranean feel yet the hotel itself is unmistakably British. The interior is calm and elegant, full of space and light, while the outside impresses with its beautiful terrace and the view over golden sand and crystal clear waters. We believe in taking things easy here, with a strong focus on leisure: something we like to think we are good at! One of the highlights of the four star L'Horizon Beach Hotel is the new spa, which includes six treatment rooms, a relaxation area, pedicure and manicure area and sleep room. With 106 bedrooms and three restaurants, the hotel offers the ideal setting for an intimate break, a romantic wedding and (as it is just 10 minutes from Jersey airport) an inspiring meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Jersey l
l Horizon Hotel St Brelade
Lhorizon Hotel Jersey
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing