We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views, very relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing views, very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed for a weekend break and were lucky to be upgraded to see view room, which was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful particularly our wine waiter. We used pool, which was a good size for a hotel. There were loungers with a view over beach and hot tub. We were there on a weekend, so it was a bit buys at times by the pool with children but it was quieter later. The room was quite small but the bed was very large and comfortable. The room had robes to use at the pool.
The food in restaurant very nice, with good size portions and was good value for money. There was an excellent selection of nice wine too. This hotel has one of the best sea views in Jersey. We would definitely go again for another relaxing break.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room...its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-and-Soo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor, it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad you liked the pool we agree it is perfect size for the size of hotel, it can be busy in the spa area but we do have child free swim times.

Thank you for mentioning the friendly staff, I am pleased that they are normally mentioned in reviews.

We hope you have the chance to come back soon.

Regards

Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    236
    88
    22
    12
See reviews for
214
459
41
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed 3nights to celebrate my wife's bday and our 45 years wedding anniversary and although the weather was very cold the L'Horizon was perfect for us.We stayed on an offer of dinner bed and breakfast basis with an ocean view which was very nice and received a complementary bootle of wine for my wife's bday.We last stayed here over 10 years ago with happy memories and were not disappointed on this occasion either.
Tim

Room Tip: Worth ocean view and our room 179 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review of L’Horizon, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay for such a special occasion as your wife’s birthday and your anniversary. We hope you have booked in for the same events next year.

Regards

Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

My family have been going to Jersey for 5 years, and we have been 5 times. Every time we go to L'Horizon hotel. It is based around a lovely beach, with the deep, blue sea and some small rocks, that are swimming with fish that my two 12 and 8 year old children like to catch. The hotel has lovely, and helpful staff and some nice food. Our favourite restaurant is the Terrace but last time we found that part of it had been replaced by The Grill. It has a small, clean pool. They restrict opening hours for children too much and don't allow children in the jacuzzi, but it is otherwise very good indeed. The rooms are comfortable and quiet at night. We will go back this summer, this is our best ever hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to review L’Horizon I am delighted that you have been so many times and hope that you have the chance to return many times in the future.

The beach is great and the rock pools at low tide are great for exploring.

We did try something different last year on the Terrace but we will be going back to the normal set up with the Terrace and the Grill this year.

We do try and achieve balance in the spa with the children free times, I am sorry if these times didn’t always suit your arrangements. We don’t let children use the Jacuzzi as we understand that on a health basis it is not the best environment for children under a certain development age.

We look forward to seeing you again this summer.

Regards
Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We visit this hotel every year due to the location and the hotel suits us. we booked through the handpicked website for the best deal and one thing i would say is that we had a few glitches this year but they were eventually resolved but it was messy and this is why the hotel will not score 5 as excellent. i also did not like that they linked our bookings without asking as we made two seperate bookings for one twin and one single room.

Rooms were great size - the single was lovely and with a view over the carpark but quiet and love that you control your own heating levels. Beautiful setting for a hotel as right on the bay.

Staff in housekeeping excellent - always check what you want and great to see evening turn down - rare nowadays!

Great to get to from the airport - easy taxi for under £10 so if you dont hire a car a bonus. There is a bus stop outside the hotel so you have access to places using the local services too.

Dinner in the restaurant was busy and we got a deal for the first night so well worth doing. menu choice is small with this option but worked for us. Great Malbec on the wine list too!

We did not book the treatments in advance this time and got stuck as we could not get in so book before you go to not be disappointed.

Breakfast is a buffet with great range of food items and lovely to see a chef who cooks certain items to order.

Room Tip: 321 was a good single!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlamNik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review. It’s great to see that you have been staying with us so many times, we have guests going back thirty years and it is always lovely to have people coming back time and time again.

I am sorry that there were some issues at the beginning of your I must admit I wasn’t aware of those issues, if you would like to speak to me further about that then please do, one of the issues with Tripadvisor is that you can’t identify people.

I am glad that things improved from there on in and thank you for mentioning our housekeepers they are the hidden army that people don’t always notice.

The buffet is something that we do when the hotel is busier and it works well having the chef at hand, we have just bought him a new stove on the buffet so that he can cope with the omelettes and eggs etc.

I am sorry that you were unable to book a treatment, this area does get busy and it is always better to book in advance to avoid disappointment. We know this can be an issue and we are looking at possible changes however nothing has been agreed at the present time.

I hope to hear from you regarding the first part of this response and to see you back at L’Horizon.

Regards

Martin
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

we arrived for a four night stay at special offer rate including a spa experience paid in advance.
very disappointed that we could not book our treatments at the same time. we tried to book on arrival but as front desk was busy we were told they would check availbility and get back to us. no info by the next day and when we enquired again we were offered one appointment at 10.00 am the day before we left. full massage after breakfast? not a good idea so we lost our prepayment.

the room and view of the bay was incredible, we even had sun on arrival, during the terrible March weather! the breakfast offered cooked to order dishes which varied in quality from day to day. i think there might have been three different chefs on duty over the period of our stay. even so i would advise ordering the specials cooked to order as we tried the buffet selection on the first day and it was luke warm. please choose the marmalade and jams and amazing honeycombe on the buffet rather than the potted preserves available on your table.such an amazing difference.
i would like to commend Sam and Dora who gave perfect service in an attentive but unabotrusive manner at breakfast and dinner .
also pleased that there was no service charge automatically added to the bill, in other venues often billed as optional but makes you feel it is not!
our room was clean, roomy and very comfortable. many thanks to the housekeeping staff who also provided an evening 'turn down' service. something larger groups now neglect. it made a real difference to our stay. the houskeping service should be awarded 5, excellent. so efficient and personable.
we will certainly return but will not book to use the spa.also found it difficult when passing through the spa area as members were being accommodated in the public walkway whist having coffee and pastries. perhaps they could use the adjacent roomy bistro area which was empty.
please don't let the negatives put you off. still well worth a stay. bay view esential if you can up grade.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginbobNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor

Thank you for the very positive comments, it’s a shame it was only almost a 5 but we take on board your comments and we should have that more consistency with the cooked breakfast and of course the food should be piping hot. We have taken note and we are addressing it.

Regarding your spa treatments clearly we have fallen short here by not getting back to you, it is not our intention that you should loose your prepayment, please call me at the hotel to enable me to have a better understanding of the situation and hopefully correct the error.
Thank you for the positive comments about the team, Sam and Dora, we will ensure that they are aware of your kind words.
I am delighted that you were so pleased with housekeeping we have a great team and they work very hard to maintain this high standard.
Regarding the Spa, the Brasserie that you are referring to is used at quieter times for breakfast that’s why the spa members have their coffee and croissants in that area.

Thank you once again for the review and I look forward to speaking to you soon about the spa booking issue.

Regards
Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Our week at L'Horizon followed the worst snow in 30 years and snow which still on the ground around the airport. However, from the moment we arrived the sun came out and continued to shine for the four days we were in Jersey. The setting in St Brelades Bay is absolutely stunning and the hotel is literally on the beach separated by a promenade. There are doors straight out to this promenade from the back of the hotel and steps down to the beach which is golden sand and very clean. Locals said it was the best beach on Jersey.

St Brelades is a picturesque village with palm trees, a pretty church, beach view restaurants and at least one very famous resident, Nigel Mansell who lives in a beautiful house on the western point. The hotel is very welcoming and we arrived just in time for Sunday lunch. We had drinks in the bar and then had a delicious lunch to the accompaniment of a pianist. How wonderful. Friendly staff for whom nothing was too trouble.

We changed our room to a sea view which had its own terrace. This made our holiday and only cost us an extra £30 a day. Well worth it for the amazing views. The room was a little small and if someone was sitting at the desk you could not get past them! Room service was pretty quick. Our corridor was very quiet and we slept well on the very comfortable beds. I liked the large cups for drinks in our room. Too often they are tiny. A nice touch.

Guests could use the adjoining spa and gym with its own Elemis salon, jacuzzi, steam and sauna. We used this every day. Lovely fluffy robes were in our room which were a bonus. No chlorine in either the jacuzzi or pool to ruin your swimming costume and skin. The gym was old-fashioned and tiny with 2 treadmills and 2 cross trainers. There was only one other person in there so not a problem.

Breakfast was delightful and we loved the local Jersey yogurts. They did seem rather busy at peak times and forgot our toast and coffee once but this was a minor grumble in a very pleasant stay. We will return as much for the unique setting as for the charming ambience of the hotel.

Room Tip: Security might be problem on the ground floor. Make sure your beach door is locked at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhaullover161010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post the review here on Tripadvisor.

You have summed up the location view and ease of access to the beach beautifully, we couldn’t have done it better. We have never been described as a village before but I like it and where else would celebrities choose to live!.

We do have rooms of varying sizes you had an executive room but we also have a deluxe rooms that are larger.

It’s a shame that there was a hiccup at breakfast, this didn’t seem to ruin your enjoyment but clearly something that we need to review, I am sorry that happened.

Thank you once again and as always come back soon.

Regards

Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendyducati
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Without exception every member of staff we encountered whether it be reception, spa, housekeeping or restaurant/bar was happy and helpful beyond the average hotel employee. No doubt the hotels beautiful surroundings keep everyone in a better frame of mind as the hotel is situated on the beach of one of Jerseys beautiful bays, but I am sure personnel management plays a large part too!
Food was almost perfect - such as lovely chestnut ravioli and well cooked sea bream, perfect poached eggs,just a couple of slip-ups on over seasoned beetroot, hard pastry case, un caramelised tarte-tatin, + no steaks available or rhubarb pudding but the Portuguese maitre'd was superb taking the flak.
FYI : There's a bus stop immediately opposite the hotel if you don't hire a car. £1.70 to St Helier or by taxi £16 one way.

Sea view room a must. Rooms lovely and clean. Spa is small and typical of a hotel spa - fitted within the hotel rather than a purpose built one thats able to do all things for everyone!
Would return and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyducati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the team, they are great and we have to admit that most of their kindness and consideration comes from their naturalness rather than what we have done.

I am sorry that there were a couple of slip ups in the restaurant, we have taken those comments on board.

I hope that you have the opportunity to come back to l’Horizon soon.

Regards
Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: La Route de La Baie, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#9 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850 by George Hicks, a colonel in the Bengal Army, the building has an almost Mediterranean feel yet the hotel itself is unmistakably British. The interior is calm and elegant, full of space and light, while the outside impresses with its beautiful terrace and the view over golden sand and crystal clear waters. We believe in taking things easy here, with a strong focus on leisure: something we like to think we are good at! One of the highlights of the four star L'Horizon Beach Hotel is the new spa, which includes six treatment rooms, a relaxation area, pedicure and manicure area and sleep room. With 106 bedrooms and three restaurants, the hotel offers the ideal setting for an intimate break, a romantic wedding and (as it is just 10 minutes from Jersey airport) an inspiring meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Jersey l
l Horizon Hotel St Brelade
Lhorizon Hotel Jersey
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing