We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cant fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“cant fault it”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights, what a great place to stay, the location is great we had a room overlooking the beach, the rooms are nicely laid out and comfortable, the staff were excellent and very helpful and very polite, we had their tenner fest meal in the bar on our first day, excellent value for money and a fabulous meal, we tried the Gril another night and the food was fantastic and well presented, The atmosphere at the hotel was really relaxing the hotel bar was friendly , Plenty of hotel parking. The hotel is located within walking distance of restaurants and a pub, we will definitely be returning here. All staff were very professional nothing was a problem. We made use of the spa whilst there which was great, only draw back was the fact that some parents didnt control their children in the pool and let them run riot, staff did try to restrict their behaviour but without parents dealing with their own children it was limited as to what they could do. Apparently drowning them wasnt an option.

Room Tip: Sea View a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virgil5015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    256
    92
    22
    15
See reviews for
242
512
44
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brit Abroad
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This a lovely hotel in a lovely spot. All the staff were so friendly and professional and were only too willing to help with any questions or needs. The hotel is right on the most spectacular beach. We decided to eat in the hotel one night at The Grill and it was a delicious meal - well worth it! The spa was also a great addition and the staff there were also extremely friendly. The only drawback was that the room got very warm in the night and the windows didn't open very wide. Also, there are a few different rooms to eat and drink in and it was sometimes confusing about what you could do where! But really, these are tiny little things as I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had one at the front of the hotel overlooking the car park but it wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneBaby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grouville Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the L'Horizon, St Brelade, Jersey. The staff were fantastic and the meal we had in the Grill Room was exceptional. We had a room overlooking St Brelades Bay which was unbelievable. To wake up with such a view was a delight. The room was well furnished and very comfortable.

Room Tip: You must get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely long weekend here. The hotel might not be the most attractive or fit in with its beautiful beach location and was obviously designed in a less environmentally sensitive world, but it still stands up well against many of its peers on the island and is the only real negative for the hotel.
We arrived on an early flight and were pleasantly surprised to be able to get into our room at just after 10am, 5 hours ahead of the expected time. We had opted for a junior suite but an upgrade to a larger suite left us even more impressed. The beach facing room had a separate living area, with two large windows onto the beach, with one small balcony. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of space to spread out. The decor was fine, but could probably do with a refit in a couple of years. You could be picky and say the shower water flow was a bit odd and we were unsure if the air con/heating was working properly. There was no mini bar.
Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient throughout, the breakfast spread was both impressive and good quality and on our arrival, a special mention goes to the porter/concierge who showed us to our room and gave us a tour of the hotel's facilities.
We were also advised on arrival that there was a wedding that evening, along with timings. We saw the bridal party throughout the day but slept through any noise.
We also used the excellent indoor pool and the service at the on site spa was also very good.
The hotel is well located: c 10 mins from the airport and St Brelades Bay, as well as being stunning, offers several decent restaurants just a few minutes walk away. We didn't eat at the onsite restaurants but the drink selection and service at the bar also impressed.
Overall, a very enjoyable couple of days and would definitely recommend it as an off season destination.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maddison65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Maddison

Thank you for your in depth review.

From the outside looking in there are more attractive hotels than ours and some stunning hotels in the Hand Picked group but from the inside looking out we believe that it is hard to find better. My assumption with most hotels is that you are mainly in looking out rather than out looking at.

Thank you for noting the early check in, this is something that we do when we can but it isn’t always possible.

I am glad you liked the beds they have all recently been replaced and had some very positive comments.

Regarding the décor, we are always refurbishing parts of the hotel. We have recently refurbished the lounge and Atlantic room together with new carpet in the Crystal room. The upkeep of a hotel is never ending.

Sorry if there were issues with the water and air conditioning, although I am unclear to what they were.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the service and that the wedding was not disruptive, we don’t believe that weddings are an issue for everyone’s stay but we tell our guests as a matter of courtesy.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and the services and that you are able to return soon.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed five nights in this lovely old English styled hotel.
You could want for nothing, and the staff were more than helpful. Remember the nature of your stay however and wear appropriate mature smart casuals at all times - yachting whites were preferred.

My room was beige, the bedding super comfortable and the bath delightful.

The buffet breakfast with a close to silver service was a daily highlight.

The location of the hotel was remote and away from the town, but there were a few restaurants to choose from close by and the town was only a short electric bus ride away.

A very comfortable, polite and elegant hotel.

Room Tip: Could benefit from noise insulating the doorframes. Try to stay away from service doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebitofluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to L’Horizon. I like the idea of “yachting whites” but we are fairly relaxed these days as what our guests wear.

Thank you for the positive comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The perfect hotel to stay in Jersey, right on the beach in St Brelades Bay. Every member of staff we came across was friendly, informed and professional, the room overlooked the car park but was well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and despite being buffet style, extremely civilised. While on our 3 day trip we visited the Spa facilities, all very clean and professional, glad to know a proper Spa area will be added soon to replace the use if a hotel bedroom as a treatment room. Again the Spa staff were friendly and fun to be around. We sampled afternoon tea, delicious!!!, pre dinner drinks in the bar and free little snacks, excellent and then enjoyed a most delicious meal in the Grill Restaurant. We even left without authorizing the bill, a genuine mistake in our part and so pleasantly and easily rectified. No other choice of hotel in Jersey for us........... Loved the simple touch of being shown around the hotel facilities immediately after checking in which saved us so much time when trying to find, restaurants, Spa etc.............

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 8-11 November for my sisters wedding. As a family of 4 with two small children I was apprehensive about how we would function in a handpicked hotel but my concerns were unfounded.

I wouldn't describe this as a family hotel as such but my children were treated fantastically by all the staff. They especially loved the fact that their teddies were sat up on the pillows when the beds were made and then tucked in for the night when our beds were turned down. Little touches like this made our break really special.

We had a sea view deluxe room which was huge and snugly accommodated a massive king sized bed plus two pull out beds. The staff quickly put the extra bed in once we realised my son wouldn't fit in the cot without any fuss. The view of the bay was amazing and in my opinion was well worth the upgrade fee.

Housekeeping were excellent and all round the staff couldn't do enough for you. From getting masking tape to repair a ripped suitcase, to getting my son fresh strawberries when he felt unwell and printing off boarding cards for our flight home. We had a problem with our balcony door on the first night but again once reported this was dealt with immediately and efficiently.

The pool was a big hit with the children and it was a lovely touch that floats were available for them to use and towels provided free.

We only ate at the hotel for breakfast and the wedding meal, all of which were amazing. At weekends breakfast is a buffet style so you can help yourself, which my husband did several times. My daughter loved the pancakes and the eggs Benedict I had were to die for.

So although the location of this hotel is stunning and it's nicely furnished for us it was the staff and their attention to detail and "nothing is too much trouble" attitude that would encourage us to return. Candice, Neil, Vivienne, the Italian waiter at breakfast and the wonderful lady on the piano especially deserve a mention, well done team l'horizon!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: La Route de La Baie, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#9 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850 by George Hicks, a colonel in the Bengal Army, the building has an almost Mediterranean feel yet the hotel itself is unmistakably British. The interior is calm and elegant, full of space and light, while the outside impresses with its beautiful terrace and the view over golden sand and crystal clear waters. We believe in taking things easy here, with a strong focus on leisure: something we like to think we are good at! One of the highlights of the four star L'Horizon Beach Hotel is the new spa, which includes six treatment rooms, a relaxation area, pedicure and manicure area and sleep room. With 106 bedrooms and three restaurants, the hotel offers the ideal setting for an intimate break, a romantic wedding and (as it is just 10 minutes from Jersey airport) an inspiring meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Jersey l
l Horizon Hotel St Brelade
Lhorizon Hotel Jersey
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing