We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely girly weekend escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely girly weekend escape”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I wanted a last minute escape & location was determined on where we could get a flight to - jersey! We wanted a bit of luxury, nice food, spa and this seemed to tick all the boxes. We did a 3 night dinner, bed & breakfast deal & also some spa treatments.

We arrived early & were greeted by a very welcoming receptionist who let us check in super early (9:30am). The room was fine with a balcony (not sea view as they were over £100 more a night!). It's set on a stunning beach and we were lucky to get 3 days of sunshine and made the most of free sunbeds on the beach (which is a nice touch for hotel guests).

We dined at the fine dining restaurant on two of the nights (the waiters were lovely) & upgraded to the taster menu - the menu included in the package just wasn't as inspiring but think places do that on purpose! The food was delicious & inventive. On the 3rd night we felt like something less rich & got £32 towards food in the Atlantic restaurant which was very disappointing. The waiters were arguing, it had no ambiance and they charger £23 for a badly cooked tough steak with a small portion of wedges that didn't take a chef to make!- I had to pay more for a little basic salad! They also had a wedding there that night so the staff were a little frantic! My only other gripe is the price of the wine. I've noticed a few people mentioned that. You're a captive audience so stuck, there is a balance of making your money from customer drinks and making you customers feel like they are being ripped off!

We pre booked some treatments - I had a fantastic facial but very disappointed massage. Beauty therapist routine rather than someone who really has that magic massage touch. I booked deep tissue & ticked the firm box and it was a very gentle massage, I probably should have said something hut end up feeling awkward - it was very clear from my booking I wanted a deep tissue massage! It's an elemis spa so it's expensive too and they always to try and sell you products.

So all in all it was a lovely little get away break. Stunning location, clean, good food (not Atlantic). I would go back but wouldn't eat there every night. We'd definitely head to the crab shack along the beach for a bit of a change (and reasonably priced wine!).

To be fair we don't often stay in big hotels so not got a lot to compare it to - more of a guest house, quirky accommodation person.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank natraliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi

Thank you for the review, 50% I am delighted with and the rest disappointed.

I am sorry that you experienced the issues in the Atlantic room and Spa wasn’t the Wow that both you and I hoped it would be. These things should not have occurred.

To help me further I would love the opportunity to discuss these issues further to give me a better understanding of what happened. I often ask this but rarely get a reply, so I hope that I am more fortunate on this occasion.

I am glad that there we were some aspects that you enjoyed, it is all meant to be like that.

I hope that we have the opportunity to speak soon.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    256
    92
    22
    15
See reviews for
241
510
44
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend at the stylish L'Horizon Hotel in Jersey. We decided to go by ferry, which worked out perfectly, as the ferry was empty and we had a lovely luxury cabin for the children to sleep in, plus they loved the experience of being on a boat and
in a cabin. The hotel is a short journey from the ferry terminal, and we were blown away by our
beautiful hotel room overlooking the sea. The setting of L'horizon is magical and the rooms were
beautiful, luxurious and spotless. We had a gorgeous terrace overlooking the sea, where we
were able to have breakfast on outside every morning with the children. The hotel was very relaxing and the children slept very well. Although we ate out a lot, we also sampled the room service and Grill Restaurant, which were equally fantastic, as was the delicious home cooked breakfast. The swimming pool was lovely, although we felt a bit out of place with the children as many people were doing 'lengths'. The children loved spending time on the beach, which went on for miles when the tide was out. The beach is very bustly and there is a huge amount to watch from your balcony, a host of different activities going on. It was wonderful having an evening aperitif on our terrace whilst savouring the aroma of fresh barbecued prawns wafting upwards + the fresh smell of the sea, and gentle sea breeze. Jersey itself, was brilliant. We found it a very family friendly beautiful island with a great many attractions and delicious restaurants. We sampled Crab Shack, Oyster Box to name a few of the spectacular seafood restaurants in the area. The staff in the hotel were only too pleased to help out, and we can't wait to book again next year.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel overlooking the sea, with a balcony or terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentresident18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I am currently staying at this hotel. Wow its good. Checkin was no fuss - hassle free. I had a lovely tour of the hotel prior to been given my room.

My room is on the ground floor, with large terrace, 2 sun loungers and table and chairs. Good sun trap. Fantastic view of the sea.

The hotel is located directly on the beach, great for paddling, walking and even swimming if you are brave enough.

The room is big enough for a sole traveller, I am on business on the island. It is extremely clean, the bed comfy and has a good selection of tea / coffee ect.

Breakfast was great, a buffet but not stewed and a chief to make any special requested ie fresh eggs ect. It was also a great selection.

I have dinner last night on the terrace and the service was great, I opted for a burger and it was cooked perfect. I have to say the chips that came were best ever. Not the frozen ones most hotels offer but home made. MMMM

I have also requested a late check out and the reception team have already arranged this for me and also a taxi for the airport.

I could honestly say I would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

forgot to mention the pool is good and also has a hottub too. I will be trying the spa treatments later before I go, but they offer a good selection.

Room Tip: 174 is on the ground floor, great to sunbath. It is a single room with double bed but big enough fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeep1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have stayed at L'Horizon several times and it never lets me down. Fantastic view of the sea from the balcony, lovely rooms, the best bed linen and most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Wonderful breakfast - great choice of pastries and breads, cereal, fruit, meat and cheese, yogurt as well as full cooked breakfast items, refillable toast and tea/coffee and juices. We had a wonderful meal on the terrace enjoying the last of the evening sun. The spa is also a great plus - we went early and had the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna to ourselves for most of the time. I love this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea - it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidalia08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My family and I have been staying at this hotel for the last 20+ years so it would be an understatement to say that we love it. We're all keen travellers and rarely go back to the same place twice but L'Horizon is the exception. I've written several glowing reviews before so I won't be repetitive and it's great to see that some of the changes I've suggested in past reviews have actually been actioned.

Briefly, the sea view bedrooms are fab, the staff are wonderful (without exception) and the new spa is a delight. This year, we were on the dinner, bed and breakfast rate for a change and were happy with the quality of the food, especially as it also included a voucher for the Oyster Box, a favourite restaurant of ours. The hotel was also extremely accommodating in letting us occasionally swap our dinner for lunch instead, which we had on the terrace.

I have absolutely no criticism at all to make apart from one that has been constant throughout our 20 year stay: the lounge area is simply not big enough, especially on wet days or when there are conferences or weddings being held in the hotel. If only the room overlooking the sea (the one containing the computer) could be turned into a comfortable lounge area for folk who might prefer somewhere a little quieter to read? Whilst we were there, it was used for a wedding, a dining area and for a small conference of about 5 people who had the blinds closed on the sea view windows so that they could see their flip chart. Not really a welcoming, relaxing sight for hotel guests (too much of a reminder of what you're trying to escape when you come on holiday!) If new space could be found for the spa then pretty please, can a new space be found for your conference folk please so that hotel guests can spread out more on rainy days?!

Anyway, aside from that, all's right with the world and L'Horizon continues to be a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farrington Gurney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a work visit at the local hospital. Beautiful room with balcony overlooking the gorgeous beach. Staff couldn't be more helpful, carrying bags and showing me around the hotel. They even carried my work bags to my room each afternoon.
I had room service each evening and the food was just superb, again with exemplary service.
Hotel was very clean and tidy throughout. All in all a perfect stay, just a shame I had to do some work really. I hope to come back :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank emmajanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

35th wedding anniversary long weekend was special. Room with a balcony overlooking the beach was lovely. Afternoon tea was delicious but could have had a few more sandwiches and one or two less cakes. The dinning room lets the property down as the tables are too close and you cannot help but listen to your neighbours conversation, and they to yours. Lots of lovely restaurants to choose from for dinner, particularly if you like fish. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor have the best views of the beach as you are above the promenade wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmelita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: La Route de La Baie, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#9 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850 by George Hicks, a colonel in the Bengal Army, the building has an almost Mediterranean feel yet the hotel itself is unmistakably British. The interior is calm and elegant, full of space and light, while the outside impresses with its beautiful terrace and the view over golden sand and crystal clear waters. We believe in taking things easy here, with a strong focus on leisure: something we like to think we are good at! One of the highlights of the four star L'Horizon Beach Hotel is the new spa, which includes six treatment rooms, a relaxation area, pedicure and manicure area and sleep room. With 106 bedrooms and three restaurants, the hotel offers the ideal setting for an intimate break, a romantic wedding and (as it is just 10 minutes from Jersey airport) an inspiring meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Jersey l
l Horizon Hotel St Brelade
Lhorizon Hotel Jersey
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing