We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis of Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have stayed at the Atlantic several times over the last couple of years and without doubt it has the finest level of service of any hotel I have stayed at. All of the staff are friendly and knowledgeable but not intrusive in any way.

The food is fantastic but the only restaurant is the Michelin Starred Ocean Restaurant which is a little pricey for every day, the room service menu is good but choice is limited.

The rooms are lovely, specious and well furnidhed but be warned that they are not air conditioned.

Finally, make sure yolu have a hire car because you are a long way from anything!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincolnshire_hardys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    90
    25
    12
    1
See reviews for
107
481
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

First let me say, the staff at this hotel are first class and without that we would have left early. I was torn between a poor and average rating, but really average is too high given the prices they charge for such a small room.

The rooms are small, smaller than the average Premier Inn and crucially they are not air conditioned. The Bathrooms are very small. Everything was clean and in order, but at these prices it just doesn't cut it.

The fact that the only restaurant is an overly fussy "Michelin starred" one means there is no where to properly relax. No casual dining, no where to sit and chill out. I had a problem with one dish which they failed to correct but still charged me full price.

The pool is small and surrounded by plastic chairs and loungers, again, not what you expect at this price. Also, we were two couples staying and despite having connecting rooms they decided to put us on separate floors.

I don't want to seem to be rubbishing it as they have a nice hotel but oversell themselves by hanging onto this notion the because their restaurant has a star they are gods gift to hotels and charge accordingly. Well let me tell you, many people don't want that all the time, they most certainly don't want to be told how to dress.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelTooOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Atlantic Hotel over the weekend of Fri 25th March - Mon 29th March for the occasion of my wife's birthday. From arrival to departure we could not fault the service provided by the team of staff at the hotel. We have stayed at hotels across the world and my wife and I agreed that the staff at the Atlantic Hotel were the most consistently friendly, courteous and professional we have ever had the pleasure to meet. The staff are a real credit to this hotel. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and immaculately kept and again, this is a credit to the cleaning staff who clearly do a first-rate job.

Over and above the excellent presentation of the hotel and the picturesque setting, there are a couple of small examples to illustrate why staying at this hotel was so enjoyable for us. I had made a passing reference about my wife's birthday to her whilst we were waiting to be seated in the restaurant. Unbeknown to me, one of the restaurant staff must have overheard. At the end of the meal (which was excellent) my wife was presented with petit fours along with her tea and 'Happy Birthday' had been piped onto the plate with the addition of a birthday candle. That fact that this had been unprompted and was completely unexpected was a thoughtful touch.

Secondly, we returned to the hotel fairly late on the Saturday night following an evening in St. Helier and decided to have a nightcap in the bar. We spoke to the very friendly staff member on duty and asked if he could serve us some drinks. He appeared moments later but only after putting on his jacket before attending to us. Had he not put his jacket on we would have been none the wiser and, given it was about 1am or so in the morning, we weren't paying too much attention! However, we appreciated the effort of the member of staff to maintain the hotel's high standards when he could easily have not bothered. Again, only a small detail, but in my experience it's the small details that make a big difference.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Atlantic Hotel and look forward to a return visit and recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here for my birthday weekend in July, and I only have fabulous things to say about The Atlantic. The location is perfect for being able to get around the island easily, and the views are beautiful!

We stayed in a room overlooking the pool with a sea view, which had everything you would need and lovely Molton Brown products. The staff couldn't have been any better if they tried, every need was catered for, and they'd thought of things we hadn't even considered!

Delicious breakfast, with a wide selection available and great views of the sea too!

Simon and his team are absolutely fantastic - thank you for such an enjoyable birthday weekend! We'll definitely be back soon. :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeni2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Fantastic hotel in one of the best areas of Jersey. Michelin star dining. Friendly and helpful staff. Within walking distance of a great beach (St Ouen's) and a couple of miles from the best beach in Jersey (St Brelade Bay). If you take a sea view you can enjoy great sunsets and a panoramic view of the whole bay. Rooms are spacious and extremely clean. Outdoor and indoor pools.

Room Tip: Sea View recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMACLLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hustai National Park, Mongolia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel is, as you may expect for the price, a brilliant place to stay. As soon as you arrive at The Atlantic you know you are in the right place. The building, the decor and the staff all made an immediate, positive impression which only got better during our stay.

Nothing is too much trouble and service is impeccable. The restaurant is not only a delight for dinner - michelin starred - but also a joy for breakfast. Try the full Jersey breakfast and the Kedgeree...

There are other nice places on the Island but I don't believe anything gets close to this place.

One note of caution. This hotel - like Jersey itself - does attract older people and noisy children would not be welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMightyRawdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and was delighted with the friendly and warm welcome. On arrival we were shown the facilities, offered a complimentary drink and shown our room that had beautiful sea views. The hotel was modern inside, very clean and a hop and a skip to the beach, if you like golf the course looked vast.
I must say I have never stayed at a hotel with such friendly staff, every staff member was polite and went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay.
The pools were lovely and again the staff working in this area was very friendly.
In the evening we went to the restaurant that was fabulous. I would certainly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms were lovely very quiet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHurcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#8 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Le Mont de La Pulente, St Brelade JE3 8HE
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#4 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Jersey's finest luxury hotels which combines breathtaking ocean views with a Michelin-starred restaurant, The Atlantic is situated on one of the most stunning sites in the Channel Islands. As one of the top hotels in the British Isles and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the combination of timeless elegance and secluded location makes The Atlantic the perfect hideaway on an island rich in heritage and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Brelade
Atlantic Hotel Jersey
Atlantic St Brelade
The Atlantic Hotel Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing