We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of style but very little substance.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lots of style but very little substance.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a Hotel offering 3 star accommodation at 5 star prices. Rooms are dated, wi fi is virtually non existent in many rooms, dining service is poor and facilities average. Matters are not helped by weak, ineffectual management. This is sad, because the junior staff are friendly and surprisingly motivated. Breakfast is dire offering a poorly cooked and presented inadequate selection with service ranging from very slow to extremely slow. The days of the Michelin starred restaurant must surely be numbered. In summary, go elsewhere and get far better value for money.

Room Tip: Wi fi non existent in many rooms. Manager is aware and is "going to try and sort this out soo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jonandshul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    90
    25
    12
    1
See reviews for
107
481
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had dinner here with friends who were staying here for his 60th and the meal was excellent .
Definitely Michelin standard with attentive but not over attentive service and high quality food especially sea food.
Not the cheapest of meals but then it is a Michelin starred restaurant and it is worth it.
Wine well priced for the standard of restaurant

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randell1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a long weekend at this hotel and can't rate it highly enough.

Service was impecable, the restaurant is Michelin starred, the location and view stunning.

Our room faced the sea with a small Juliet balcony.

Not cheap but worth the cost.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the sea rather than ground floor facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a meal in the restaurant a couple of weeks ago - found it to be acceptable but not great - the amuse bouche was tasteless and the starters we are unable to remember that is how good they were - my main of Duck was really good but my partner's fish main again was not memorable - they gave us what I thought must be a palate cleanser (before the desserts) but it was too sweet. for a Michelin Star restaurant we were really disappointed - the service was impeccable though.

Room Tip: As we did not stay at the hotel we are unable to comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent 5 nights at this hotel mid July. It is a beautiful hotel however we were in a golf view room which basically looked out over a flat roof and the car park with just a peep of the golf course. The room was very nicely furnished and the bathroom was well appointed with plentiful hot water. As previously mentioned there is no air con which we found surprising in a fairly modern hotel; the receptionist described the room as "toasty" and thus it remained throughout our stay despite leaving windows open and a fan (which we needed to keep on overnight). Apparently they can't fit air con but are starting to put ceiling fans in.
Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice and cooked to order. We also had one dinner in the Ocean restaurant which was very enjoyable; there were also good restaurants in St Aubin which is a 3 mile walk from the hotel along the old railway track.
We had lovely weather and as such, this hotel was well situated. We walked a lot including into St Heller (about 6 miles) and to the war tunnels. There is a bus service every 30 minutes but buses stop running at about 6-30. Were we to visit again (which is likely, we would hire a car to allow us to explore the north of the island.

Room Tip: I would pay the extra for a sea view room if we visit again
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in this Hotel in May 2014 (please see the photographs):

LOCATION AND SCENERY: The Hotel is not exactly close to the town centre or to the airport (it will take 20 minutes’ of drive).

The hotel is located in a beautiful bay called ‘the Ocean Bay’, the scenery is spectacular. There is a steep but short path (4-5 minutes) to the beach. The path is covered with wild plants including lilies. The beach is massive, clean, and quiet. You can still see the defense posts from WW2 left on the rocks .

The garden of the hotel is minimal in design, nothing special. There is a large golf course, a smallish out-door pool and a tennis court. The only section in the garden that seemed to be pleasing to the eye was the area around the out-door pool. There was a beautiful magnolia tree and some shrubs which put a color to the garden that otherwise looked monotonously green .

AMBIANCE / ATHMOSPHERE IN THE HOTEL: The entrance and the reception area of the hotel is very pleasant. There is a koi pond outside of the hotel which extends all the way in to the lobby area inside. The sound of running water is very pleasing. But other than this, the general atmosphere is 1970’s sanatorium or a retirement home.

It was rather disappointing to see that wall-to-wall windows on the launch, the library and the restaurant areas were all boarded up with heavy wooden shutters. In other words, it was almost impossible to see the outside whilst you are sitting inside.

ENTERTAINTMENT: There is none. The hotel is extremely quiet, which is perfectly fine but the silence is like the one in an operation room rather than one in a luxury hotel. There is no soft background music, there is a piano at the launch yet clearly is for ‘show-off’ (to play a part). The only soft music was the one played in the restaurant. There are some board games in the library but they all seem to be locked up. There is no mini golf area, there is a tennis court but there is no information on how to book and go about it.

THE MAIN ISSUE: The main issue with this hotel is BOX THICKING and FRUGALITY. As a guest, you feel as if you are part of a customer survey and a cost cutting exercise. You feel that everything is carefully measured and certain things are done as cheaply as possible but the prices that they charge you, are still absurdly high.

When we arrived, we were asked to have a small survey (despite all we wanted was to check-in and relax), we obliged to this out of politeness.

After that point the staff (especially in the restaurant area ) asks you if everything is fine quite often but they ignore you if you make a request. For instance despite there were hardly any guests in the main restaurant, we were given a table in the Red room instead in the middle section of the restaurant with a full ocean view. When we mentioned this we were politely informed that the other tables were all booked. We could see clearly that this was not the case. The hotel was virtually empty during our stay.

The staff are polite and (try to be) attentive. A polite conversation between the staff and the guests without intrusion is fine with us but this hotel seems to be putting too much emphasis on ‘without intrusion’ aspect. Therefore, every time the staff asks you ‘ was everything okay?’ you feel as if another box has been ticked.

ROOMS: Mainly Georgian and Victorian décor, pleasantly furnished, a clean room, that’s it! We had booked a double room with a garden view but what we could see from the window was a massive concrete roof top instead of a garden. This was because the lower level of the hotel stretched out towards the garden for at least another building length so you could only see the concrete roof top. Also, although in our booking it had been clearly stated that our room would have a balcony, there was none. When we mentioned this we were (very reluctantly and with comments like “a gesture of good will”, “ believe me this room is more expensive that the room you booked” ) given a ground floor room with a garden view and was told that there was no other room available, yet we could see that the hotel was hardly half-full. The chairs and tables in the balcony was filthy, we could not sit outside.

The bed was not exactly comfortable ( I have Hypnos and Tempur-Comfort mattress at home) but the pillows were the worst, they were extremely soft , hardly filled. We suffered from neck-ache every morning during our stay.

The cleaning lady knocks the door once but even if you say “please do not enter” she ignores you and proceeds with her work. This is unheard of, in any other luxury hotel!

NICETIES: There are no cookies/biscuits on the coffee/tea tray in the room. There is no mini “sleep well” chocolates left on your pillow to make you smile when you entered the room after nigh out, there is no fruit basket (we had to ask and were given tree apples in a bowl), there is no mini bar. There is a bottle of water, that’s all! This is not acceptable for a hotel who claimed to be as 5 stars.

DINING: We dined in the hotel’s restaurant called ‘Ocean View’ twice. The Head chef is famous Mark Jordan. It is supposed to be 4 rosettes restaurant. The food was tasty, presentation was fine but the portions were rather meagre and the food was abnormally expensive. Two course dinner with extremely meagre portions will cost you £65 per person without any drinks. A mouthful of wine will cost you £8.50. A slice of cake will cost you similar.

The breakfast was consisted of a ‘plate service’ (that is, the waiting staff takes your order and brings your food). The only self-serving ‘open buffet’ was on a small round table that had a few varieties of breakfast cereals . The cold meat plate is simply a plate with few slices of meat. The bread and the patisserie for the continental breakfast are not always fresh , generally stale, dry and tasteless. You can certainly get much better breakfast in your local pub.

Your toasted bread at breakfast comes as only two slices, if you want more , you have to order (and wait for approximately 7-10 minutes). If you are in a gluten free diet like me, you will simply go hungry at all meals. Despite I was categorically told by the hotel before the booking that they had a gluten free menu, they did not.

BIRTHDAY CAKE: Before we arrived, I had sent an email to the hotel and enquired if the hotel could make a small birthday (lemon) cake. They did, it was simply a slice of cake that I could have bought from Morrison’s. It was the smallest cake I had ever seen yet the cost was £8.50. The restaurant staff did not bring me a separate plate, they did not ask me if I wanted a cake, so I ended up sitting there while my husband was trying to eat his birthday cake! I think my displeasure must have been too obvious on my face, because the restaurant manager soon approached and informed me (without being too discrete of course): “you do not have to pay for your husband’s cake, it is on the house”. (??? Wooow..)

AFTERNOON TEA: The afternoon tea was the worse. Despite it was pre-arranged, we had to wait 30 minutes to get our service. This is despite we were the only couple in the restaurant! They had previously stated that I could get a gluten free afternoon tea service, but I have noticed that the chef simply cut a couple of breakfast bar in to two and served it on a slate tray (a slate tile that the builder merchants sell!). The fudge bar was a disaster enough but serving on a “slate” for an “English” afternoon tea? I must say I have found it tasteless. Also despite Jersey is world renowned for their dairy products (famous “Jersey cow”) the cream we were served with our afternoon tea was a spray cream, the strawberry jam was simply a jelly (see the photographs). The scones were small, dry and absolutely tasteless. My husband’s cream cakes looked much better but they (apart from the lemon cake, I was told) tasted ‘average’. I could not eat any of mine, when I mentioned this, no apology was offered (yet, the hotel is charging quite a bit for this awful ‘traditional’ afternoon tea). Well , I refused to pay, (as they knew they should not have done it) the hotel accepted it without question.

SPA AND POOL: The spa area and the indoor swimming pool are rather small, not appealing to the eye, the area looks old and tired, the exercise area is the same. The outdoor swimming pool is the smallest I have ever seen.

WIFI: Impossible… The hotel does not seem to be geared for business people or for couples, but seem to be catering mainly for retired people.

BOTTOM LINE: I recently received an email from the hotel to inform me that it won the Independent Hotel of the Year 2014 award at The Caterer’s annual Catey Awards on 1 July 2014.


Frankly, I failed to see as to, what criteria this hotel was awarded because what we experienced left us with the view that the hotel is Inflated, pretentious, frugal but costly. Would we go there again? I do not think so!

Room Tip: try to chose a room with a balcony on the left wing or get a ground floor rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bernadette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at The Atlantic as part of their Michelin experience, dining in their own Ocean retaurant, Tasilli and Bohemia.

The staff are excellent, friendly, helpful and extrememly professional. The restaurant and terrace area are very welcoming and the views from the terrace are unbelievable (especially when the sun is going down)

We stayed in a garden view room that had the same wonderful views of the ocean but had the advantage of a small terrace to sit out on and a ten second walk to the pool without having to walk through the hotel.

This was our first trip to Jersey and we will certainly return and couldn't imagine staying anywhere other than the Atlantic.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room that had the same wonderful views of the ocean but had the advantage...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#8 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Le Mont de La Pulente, St Brelade JE3 8HE
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#4 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Jersey's finest luxury hotels which combines breathtaking ocean views with a Michelin-starred restaurant, The Atlantic is situated on one of the most stunning sites in the Channel Islands. As one of the top hotels in the British Isles and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the combination of timeless elegance and secluded location makes The Atlantic the perfect hideaway on an island rich in heritage and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Brelade
Atlantic Hotel Jersey
Atlantic St Brelade
The Atlantic Hotel Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing