We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Views”
The Radio Tower has almost 360 degree view of the south west coast of Jersey.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Radio Tower has almost 360 degree view of the south west coast of Jersey.
The dining and living area in the top observation deck. The Radio Tower with spectacular views. Image courtesy of Phil Marett.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
The Radio Tower has almost 360 degree view of the south west coast of Jersey.
The dining and living area in the top observation deck.
The Radio Tower with spectacular views. Image courtesy of Phil Marett.
Looking out to the iconic Corbiere Radio Tower.
The kitchen is fully equipped for self-catering.
The Radio Tower was built by Occupying Forces during the Second World War.
The three bedrooms are all identical and have been custom built within the round walls.
Glasswear, crockery and cutlery are provided.
The living area on the top floor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Brelade, Jersey, Channel Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jane826
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I am Jersey . 16 family members were over for a get together. We rented Radio Tower and Kempt Tower for the bank holiday week. I hadn't visited either prior to booking so was unsure how it would work out.
Radio Tower housed 3 couples in 3 small separate rooms. Each room is on a separate floor. Each floor is the circle of the tower with half the circle being the room and the other half the concrete stairwell and a shower and toilet. Therefore the bed is a very weird shape made to fit the circle. Impossible to make. Credit goes to the people who come in at the end and remake the beds. One side is up against the wall so it's difficult to get out of bed without climbing over the other person or going out the end. If you are tall expect your feet to gang over
Each room has a small wardrobe and slit windows that you can open. It was fantastic weather and these rooms remained very cool.
The kitchen is on the 4th floor . It is very well equipped for 6 people. It has a fridge (with a very small integral freezer) toaster oven cutlery etc. Up some very steep spiral stairs from the kitchen is what you have come to radio tower for......a view that makes you never want to leave that top floor. It is absolutely stunning at any time of day. Only problem is that it was a scorching week (weather wise) it's a bit hot in the day and only had one skylight window working. There was a fan but that didn't help too much. A small price to pay for the benefits. We even saw dolphins .
This tower needs to come with a warning. Some of the party couldnt stay here because they felt claustrophobic and others because they couldn't do the stairs. You MUST be fit) Also it's all concrete and how no-one ended up with a concussion from hitting their heads, is a miracle because being short is a big bonus.
Along with the heat wave we had a thunderstorm and the downstairs lobby flooded. I meant to call in about it but it was the last day and I guessed the cleaners would see it. It didn't drain away and it was soak your feet deep.
Also there's a huge glass bin and dustbin at the bottom of the tower and plenty parking.
Well worth a visit . I would never get tired of that view

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cw8co
MK, UK
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“stunning view”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you are privilaged to stay here you have to accept certain compromises over similar priced places. but boy is it worth it.

Obviously it isnt a purpose built holiday home with everything laid out how you might want it. A holiday let has been fitted into a historic building with as little disruption to that building as possible. The stairs and entrance corridor are the original rough concrete(painted). the lower floor windows are small but panoramic showing sea views all the way. the toilets are compact (although shower cubicles on each bedroom level are quite generous sized. you need to also accept there are stairs.. a lot of stairs. I think 69 steps to the very top.

the absolute icing on the cake is the near 360 degree view from the top floor. with floor to ceiling windows which shows around 270 degrees wrap around views of the sea.

Birds including birds of prey swoop and hover inches from the windows. the view is great at day time in all weather. watching sunset. storms. waves crashing etc etc or lights of the passing ships and lighthouse and stars at night.

for history lovers a few original features exist. you can see (but not open as it is an internal store room for the let) the original gas tight door on ground floor. remains of some of the original ventilation pipes etc. (if you want to see a better idea of many of the fittings in situ visit the nearby military museum up the coast.) the original metal doors to the bedrooms and kitchen are long gone and replaced with modern wooden fire doors (duck your head as you go through). remains of the land facing gun ports remain in places in the stair landings.

you get a good mobile signal on the top floor. but no signal* at all including radio on any other level (2m thick reinforced concrete walls soon stop that) *if you really do want a signal lower down. leave your phone on the small land facing lookout windows on the stair landing.

you also have to get used to the peculiar semi-celebrity feeling of walking past people taking photos of 'your' building as you come and go.

if you can live with the few downsides you will be rewarded with a stay in a historic site and the place with the most stunning views i have ever been fortunate enough to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
"Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted that you had a fantastic time staying at The Radio Tower and we look forward to welcoming you back soon."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalers81
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best view in Jersey”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a holiday let with a difference.

The views from the top deck are wonderful, kitchen fully stocked and Jersey Heritage gives you a welcome pack of supplies. The bedrooms are cool and have a cabin-like feel which is lovely. Every thing was spotlessly clean and the bedding nice and fresh.

There is plenty of space in the ground floor for things like bikes (we had 4) and a free car park outside.

There are a couple of downsides though;

1) as mentioned in previous reviews the stairs are not for the faint hearted (or forgetful), there are 71 in all and the spiral stairs to the top desk are steep and tight. We travelled with two 10 year olds and are reasonably fit so were fine. If you have very little ones, or anyone who doesn't do stairs well then look elsewhere.

2) we went in high summer and it was hot. The top deck is all glass and only has a very small amount of ventilation so sadly for us it was too hot to sit in as there are no other seating areas in the property. Jersey Heritage may want to consider adding some fans to circulate the air a bit if nothing can be done about that.

This is a lovely property that is very well managed. The site supervisor, Ian, was incredibly helpful and kind. If you're looking for something different then the view is worth the climb.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theparkru...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My Husband booked the Tower for my 50th Birthday as a surprise. It's a lovely quirky place to stay, and full of history with absolutely stunning views from the top. Obviously it has a lot of steps with a spiral staircase up to the top floor, so I would suggest you need to be reasonably fit to cope with the stairs. The surrounding area is beautiful with the coastal path right outside the door. The bedrooms are small as you would expect, as everything has had to be fitted in the circle of the tower, but they have adequate hanging space and drawers. The bathrooms are situated right outside the bedroom doors, with large modern showers and underfloor heating. The Kitchen is fully equipped save for a shortage of teaspoons. The views from the lounge are stunning and I found it hard to sit still for a minute up there with out jumping up to see what was down below, sailing or flying past. It would have been nice to have free WiFi to help with finding places to visit or eat especially as the welcome book recommended several websites to look at. It was very clean and I would have given it 5 except that although the bed linen was lovely and fresh the pillows were flat and of poor quality as were the duvets. The little comforts in life need attention too, especially as it's so expensive to stay here, having said that, of course you're paying, partly for the experience of staying in such a unique building.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The pillows
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Radio Tower following your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in this historic landmark. As you say care has been taking to customise all the furnishings in this unique space and make the most of the amazing views from every floor.
Following your feedback we have replaced the duvet and pillows, as well as putting new cutlery in the kitchen. We hope you return to Jersey and try some of our other properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauldawso...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay with amazing views”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at the radio tower with 3 friends in the middle of February. This was an excellent break in an amazing holiday let. The radio tower won't be to all tastes and the steep stairs between each floor can be a challenge especially when carrying food and drink at meal times. The views, however make up for it. We were fortunate to have mainly sunny, clear weather but even on a cloudy day the almost 360 views from the living/dinning room of the ocean and west coast of Jersey are spectacular and surely the best on the island. The rest of the accommodation is of a decent standard with a well equipped kitchen, a shower room for each bedroom and a seperrate toilet. The bedrooms are small but with plenty of storage they were comfortable although the beds were a peculiar shape, limited by the shape of the building. The tower is located in a reasonably isolated location but Corbiere Phare, the restaurant next door was excellent. If you don't have a car there is a bus to other parts of the islands which stops 2 minutes from the radio tower. I would love to stay here again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thanks for your review, Paul. It's always great to hear when guests have had a great break at our sites. Like you say, the Tower has been renovated to fit within this iconic building and so some of the features may not be for everyone, but it certainly makes for a unique and unforgettable holiday! We hope you stay with us again and maybe try another one of our historic properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrg9999
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent on all counts.”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I am admittedly biased. I have visited this property several times, in the 80s when it was run by the coastguard, who gave our party a tour. Some years later during conversion into a leisure property, and other times, in a less formal visit. Just myself and partner are using it. We can each have our own on suite, own private bedroom if we choose.
The kitchen, came with bread, butter and milk, tea and coffee, and some basics for cooking. We had bacon and eggs most days, choosing to eat out for main meals.
The views from top are stunning. Although, you can't get out to the outside rail (unless you are willing to borrow a ladder). There is a TV and DVD player, and you can also connect a computer if it has an HDMI port.
The bedrooms are fine, I'm 6'3", and you need to bend through the doors. The staircase to the top, is best descended backwards.
We had a visitor today, to read the meter, he though the tower was derelict. A few brave teenagers will attempt to scale the wall, but so far all have failed. Parking, best park away from the garage, as people tend to block it thinking it is derelict.
All in all, 6 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The dooways
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of the Radio Tower. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back again to visit the tower or one of our other properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Satisfactory for a short stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ok, let's acknowledge that you book the Radio Tower for the experience. You walk into an extension that feels like somebody's shed. Further in you are in the tower itself. The decor is, well, uncompromising, but you can't alter this without changing the nature of the building so OK. Our elderly in-laws assured us they would be fine on the stairs , but getting up the narrow stairs to the top stairs in particular (approximately 27 steps) is a real killer. The view at the top, though, is amazing and has to be one of the best in the British Isles, sweeping from the 5 miles of St Ouen's beach to Corbiere lighthouse. It's a pity the windows weren't cleaner but that would be full time job.
There was a nice selection of basic groceries when we arrived, and full marks go to whoever thought to put a bathroom on every floor, and an extra fridge on the top floor. Oddly for a Radio Tower there is no wi-fi. You might go on holiday to escape wi-fi, but we think for this price we should get the choice.
What really hit us was a terrible smell of sewage, compounded by the fact that the extractor fans in the bathrooms were not working. We got no reply from the site manager's phone, so we tried their boss, who, it turned out was on holiday - at the height of the holiday season! Eventually we spoke to someone else in the office who sent someone out promptly but the smell was not resolved fully before we left. This and other touches, or lack of them, spoiled our experience. There were coffee stains up the wall to the top floor, which we had to clean ourselves. The general finish was poor, with patches in the paint and chips here and there.
Maybe we are being fussy, but once you get over the view you start to think 'I'm paying 3 times the price of a normal rental…for this?'. We love Jersey and in retrospect might have considered the Radio Tower for a short stay, mainly for the view and the experience, but it is not a great base for a longer stay in Jersey.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Thank you for you review of the Radio Tower. We appreciate your feedback following your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay but appreciate you have some valid points.
As we explain to all guests upon booking, due to the nature of the building the stairs are steep and go up approximately 7 stories from the ground floor. As you stated, this means you have some amazing views but is something to consider for the whole family. As you rightly said, it is tricky to keep the windows clean due to the tower's proximity to the sea but we do have a team to clean the large windows regularly.
We will look at wi-fi following your feedback but we do detail that it is unavailable at this property.
The smell you experienced is unacceptable for any of our guests and we did try to rectify this during your stay, however we could locate the source of the issue at the time following visits. A member of staff also visited the property to see if anything further could be done. It is something we are looking into but it has not occurred again following your visit. The fuse on the extractor fan is also being replaced. The coffee stain on the wall is also unacceptable and we have discussed this with our site manager and cleaning staff. General maintenance is scheduled every year during our quieter periods, but we will look at general work again following your feedback.
We hope the issues did not spoil your stay and hopefully you return to Jersey and may look at our other lets which are around the island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing