We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned luxury in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I bagged a fantastic deal for this hotel through Wowcher and decided to take my partner for a birthday treat. We only had hand luggage so decided to take the No. 15 bus from the Airport to the Red Houses at St Brelade's which cost £1.20 it is three stops. It is then a 15/20 minute walk down a very steep hill (not always with a path) to the Bay. It was a lovely day and a really nice walk where we spied some red squirrels, but I wouldn’t want to do it with large suitcases. Alternatively it’s about a 10 min drive from the Airport and taxi should cost £8.
Location - For me this hotel is all about the fantastic location. Set up above a secluded bay/beach and what a beach it is, lovely soft yellow sand, no stones, reminiscent of southern European beaches. The sea goes far out and the beach is accessible for long periods. There are numerous restaurants along the promenade walk and it was a pleasantly surprising to find lots of free facilities. After the restaurants you can walk the hilly paths up to the top of the cliffs to see the fantastic views over the sea. Nearby is an exquisite Norman church very close to the hotel.
Accommodation - The Hotel is a very good standard and has a formal/old fashioned air about it. We had a luxurious newly refurbished standard double room, garden facing on the 3rd floor and it was huge. It had a lovely big bed at one end, and nice sitting room area at the other end with wardrobes, table and chairs and dressing table with mirror. We were offered an upgrade to a sea view, and viewed a room on the 3rd floor, which had a balcony (shared) and an amazing view but decided we were happy with where we were. They also offer a turndown service at night.
Communal areas and gardens are all well kept.
Food - Breakfast was amazing, probably the best full English we have ever had, big selection. Breakfast is self service, but it is a real treat. For us in our shorts and crocs we felt a bit out of place, but if you prefer a more formal dining experience you will not be disappointed. Waiters looked like they had just stepped off the Titanic or have recently arrived from the Ritz, they wear the very formal white jackets and trousers.
The restaurant offers excellent formal dinners service more befitting a London top of the range restaurant but with really reasonable prices for the very high standard of food and service. We didn’t eat dinner in the hotel restaurant as it is a la carte but the food did look lovely with full silver service. There is 24hour room service.
Staff – were helpful but not overly friendly.
The new health club with pool, steam-room and jacuzzi was fantastic and an absolute must if you visit.
Access to other places in Jersey is really easy via bus links. The 12a bus stops just 200metres from the Hotel and can take you to St Helier and Liberation Station for £1.70 or the opposite direction to Corbiere and the Lighthouse. From Liberation Station anywhere is accessible on the island.
Only con for us were that the TV has no Sky sports which my partner was really gutted about until we found that the lovely Sugar Reef Restaurant along the beach front which has all the best games on. You can go there and just have a drink or eat a meal a decent meal. Beware it gets packed!
All in all this Hotel 4*offers some old fashioned luxury at a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Stay here if you want old fashioned luxury
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
There are newer reviews for St. Brelades Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

Absolutely beautiful..situated right on the breath taking bay. The hotel itself, is very clean, very comfortable, tastefully decorated with attention to detail. The swimming pool area is set in lush gardens with the most comfortable sun-beds I've ever lounged on, there is also a smaller pool for the kids. The new in-door pool, sauna and jacuzzi is a must, and for those of you with a bit more energy there is a well equiped gym. The food is very good albeit is little pricey but, across the island it seems much of a much ness. There is a fairly good bus service with bus-stops practically outside the hotel. The airport is about 10mins in a taxi which will cost you appox £8 - £10. If your about to go - lucky you..I am looking forward to going again asap..!

Room Tip: Only down-side for me was no A/C, so do ask for a fan on arrival if your prone to "night sweats...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tacoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in November 2011 - the weekend was so warm it was nice enough to sit outside with a short sleeves top on!

The hotel has been recently renovated. We stayed in a room with a sea view. There were sliding doors out to a balcony overlooking the beach/sea. It was beautiful. The bathroom was large and again, recently refurbished.

We had a breakfast room rate. The breakfast was nice - cold self service and cooked food ordered at your table. The service at breakfast was quite formal and the waiters first language seemed to be French which added to the feel that you were "away".

We drank in the bar each night which had comfy sofas, a tv and a relaxing atmosphere.

We ate out for dinner - the first night in sy helier and the second night at the lighthouse nearby. We didn't experience the food in the hotel restaurant at night.

All in all, a lovely hotel. We booked through booking.com - £110 per night which includes breakfast. It was absolutely great value in comparison to others in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyandy0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Great location,good quality and friendly.Great housekeeping.

Room Tip: Garden view,quiet and very,very claen and comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ullswater2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel overlooks a wonderful sandy bay. It has a lovely outside terrace where you can relax with a drink and unwind. We went on a Woucher deal and it offered amazing value just
outside the main season. The breakfast was excellent and we found all the staff to be friendly.
There was a new spa and excellent sized indoor pool. There was also a good sized outside pool.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadSaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel is first class. We had a standard room but it was nicely decorated, large, spotlessly clean. Although it did not have a view of the bay, we could see the gardens. All the staff were helpful, polite & very efficient. The room was cleaned every day & the bed turned down each night. Nice bar with interesting entertainment, a man giving out metal puzzles for us to do. Great fun. Breakfast was plentiful, only drawback was there was only one vegetarian choice at dinner. Not too much of a problem as there are some nice restaurants a few yards away.There is also a gym & a swimming pool. We went for 3 days on a KGB deal, great value.

Room Tip: The only differences I could see in the rooms were that standard do not have a balconey with a view...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Lovely hotel, perfect views and position on the beach. Staff ever so polite and could not do enough for you. Only downside the walls of the rooms are very thin. We could hear from the room above and beside and from the restaurant below. We took this to be because the hotel was very old and was not sound proofed as long as you do not stay above the restaurant and function room you should be fine. St Brelades Bay itself is amazing it has everything you could need for a few days in the sun with sea food a plenty.....

Room Tip: stay away from room 17 and any above the restaurant or function room
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#11 of 16 in St Brelade
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,024 reviews
5.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
839 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Brelades Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Brelades Bay Hotel

Address: La Route de La Baie, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Brelade
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#5 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £142 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Brelades Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Brelades Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Brelades Bay Hotel Jersey/St Brelade
St Brelades Bay Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing