We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Cristina(St Aubin)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$487
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa(St Brelade)
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Place(St Brelade)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands Hotel(St Brelade)(Great Value!)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Highlands Hotel(St Brelade)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lyndhurst Jersey(St Brelade)(Great Value!)
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beau Rivage Hotel(St Brelade)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveller rating
680
159
44
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
680
159
44
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshealth cluboutdoor poolsea viewst brelades bayafternoon teadining roomtraditional hotellovely hotelold fashionedsunday lunchleisure facilitieshead waitertop classmini breaksecond to nonesandy beachthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
858 - 863 of 894 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Overall, the hotel has many excellent qualities but there is also some room for improvement. It is extremely well situated, with beautiful views over St Brelade’s Bay, and is within easy walking distance of good pubs and restaurants. The public rooms are generally impressive. There is an elegant modern lounge, a more informal bar, and smart but old fashioned dining room. The terraced gardens at the back are particularly pleasant, as is the pool area. Helpful staff are on hand to provide towels and loungers, and drinks are available from a poolside bar.

The bedrooms are rather less impressive. Although, judging from the website, some have presumably been redecorated in a brighter and more contemporary style, most seemed, like ours, to be somewhat old fashioned, anonymous and dowdy. Ditto the bathrooms. Also, luxuries you might expect – like bath robes or water in the room – were absent. But although the rooms seemed to belong in a rather less pricey hotel, overall the value for money seems reasonable given the overall smartness of the hotel and its favourable location.

The single biggest problem with St Brelade’s is its staff, or perhaps its management. The restaurant seemed pretty well managed, although the head waiter was rather brusque. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, but this was well cooked, and service was prompt and attentive. The sausages were particularly delicious. The reception staff were pleasant but a little disengaged – the hotel would benefit from a visible manager to make guests feel welcome. Another area for improvement is the rather bare older children’s games room. When we asked about games the receptionist told us vaguely that she thought they were there already – but they weren’t. I understand that computer games can easily be misplaced – so they should think about providing other options such as ping pong or table football. Likewise having free [wired] internet in the rooms is nice, but the hotel had “run out” of cables to allow connection.

The bar was disorganised. Although I phoned in advance and was assured that we could have sandwiches at the bar in the evening when we arrived – and it is clearly stated on the hotel information that this is an option – the bar staff seemed very reluctant to accept the order. Only after double checking with reception was our order allowed to go through. A few days later they told us again that sandwiches weren’t available as they were too busy – we couldn’t be bothered to argue, so went elsewhere. I’d completely understand if a busy hotel kitchen couldn’t prepare sandwiches in the evening – but they shouldn’t advertise something which isn’t genuinely on offer. Housekeeping, on the other hand, was good, with a turn down service in the evening and fresh sheets daily.

Despite the niggles – which would all be comparatively easy and cheap to set right – we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambridgeSarahBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

27 of us age from 2 to 70 have returned from a very happy stay at this stunningly located hotel on St Brelades Bay. To lie in bed and see the waves lapping in the beautiful curve of this bay is a rare privilege. The food was tasty, the silver service was well executed, considering our numbers, and they graciously dealt with wandering toddlers at times! Reception staff spoke excellent English, Jersey has a reputation for employing Portugese staff, nevertheless they deserve high praise for service and efficiency. Rooms were not the largest, ours was well appointed although I understand there is ongoing refurbishment as there has been a recent change of ownership. Gardens, swimming pool and a thoughtful sandpit addition for the young ones were much appreciated. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellwood_lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

This was our first stay at the Bay Hotel and one that we will remember as one of our nicest holidays ever.The sea view room as we opened the door for the first time said it all..the magnificent panoramic views and,for us,coupled with glorious sunshine.The room was absolutely ideal for us and the balcony made it very special with those views.
The staff throughout were excellent whether it was reception,the pool area or in the restaurant..they were welcoming ,friendly and very helpful and the little extras made it so refreshing and so very comfortable.We were at the hotel for the five nights and enjoyed the varied menu and the quality of the food. Our only complaint was having to leave!!!

We certainly wish to return in the future and would not have second thoughts in recommending to friends. We stayed here in preference to cheaper hotels on the island and feel that the extra we paid was well worth it

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pintoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Fabulous outlook but for somewhere so 'british' nearly all the staff weren't!!! In the Restaurant staff spoke to each other in their own language - not good. Good that the water is from the Hotel's own bore holes. The Gardener seemed hard-pressed - a massive job with only a part-time assistant.- full marks to him. Poached egg was under-cooked and I wouild have preferred a buffet-stly breakfast system rather than over-decorated staff looking pretty!!! No access to PC for anyone without their own lap-top - again, a surprising failing. Clearly some of the 'nibbles' provided with drinks had been in the container for a long time. Ants outside on the First Floor balcony. Key holder weighed a ton! - surprising no move to 'swipe' key-cards. Carpets could do with clean / vacuum. For a 4-Star hotel there were elements more like 2-Star.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank RupertM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

A somewhat unusual tale for us that is surrounds our 6 night stay early last Oct 2009 in the St.Brelades Bay Hotel.
Imagine if you will..... you have only been on Jersey less than 3 hours and after settling in at your selected hotel - NOT the St.Brelades Bay , you find it totally unacceptable for various reasons ( little did we know at that time it would get worse) it was obvious that we could not possibly stay there.....
Further details in separate review of the Biarritz Hotel St.Brelades Bay Jersey.

So by 7.45 pm on our first night in Jersey it had become necessary to find alternative accomodation. Fortunately St Brelades Bay does have a few hotels to choose from although cold calling into most of them without a prior booking was an experience in itself. Overall we were treated reasonably well but we feel with an air of suspicion by the reception staff , but to be fair I'm not sure how many times propective guests just walk in off the streets at 8pm on a saturday evening requesting details and a tour of the available accomodation.
However after finding very little on offer we finally arrived at the St.Brelades Bay hotel.
Much to our surprise the reception staff and duty manager were extremely helpful and very much at ease with our situation. We were offered one on their newly redecorated rooms facing the bay with a magical sea view and balcony. The room was excellent and the price was better than we had paid in the much lesser hotel previously mentioned.
I appreciate that this all might seem a bit long winded but the point is that when the chips were down the St.Brelades Bay Hotel and it's excellent staff came up trumps.
It did not end there, throughout the following 6 days/nights the quality/service was unbeatable and cannot be praised highly enough.The restaurant/public rooms/ and general facilities were first class and would have been of the same high quality given our unusual circumstances or not.
If the comments of some other travellers posted recently had been more favourable then
maybe I would not have bothered writing this retrospective review but I could not allow the opportunity to pass without comment.
Obviously being only human our views on good, bad or indifferent will vary with our individual tastes and requirements but I cannot imagine any instances where the hotel or it's friendly staff would let you down in any way.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniortraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews