We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit, but not our last!”
Review of Windmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windmills Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel is very clean and tidy with a wonderful terrace and pool to chill out!
Amazing sea views from the hotel and balcony room - waking up with that view is priceless! (Room 48!).
Food was great in 2010 on our first visit and this year it was excellent - imaginative menu choices by a very talented chef.
All staff always helpful and friendly.
The place to stay for a relaxing, chilled out holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karensweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed at the Windmills at the back end of May for a week. Found it in the Jersey Tourist Information Guide,no recommendation,just went with my instincts,and it paid off. Beautiful location,high up in the hillside overlooking magnificent St Brelades Bay. Great views from the public rooms,particularly the restaurant. All the staff very friendly and helpful which,being disabled and travelling solo,was particularly appreciated. Enjoyed the food (not entirely convinced of the need for two specifically timed sittings for the evening meal,though it was no great problem either),good sized portions and generally of a very high standard. Enjoyed my time at the bar with the very assured Marius and the rather shy but charming Miguel. An all round first class hotel,and a very enjoyable stay. Proprietor Steve was an excellent host and conversationalist too. I will return at some point!

Room Tip: Double rooms overlooking the bay are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJTCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Ouur room was very comfortabe,as was the bed, and the view from the balcony was very special. At night it was quiet and peaceful, no traffic noise. We used the bus services to get around the island and were very impressed with the service. We recommend getting a travel card as it works out cheaper & is very convenient. The food was excellent but we felt guilty at leaving food on our plates as we have small appetites & would have appreciated smaller portions. The organisation for transfers was very good and we had excellent journeys to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We holidayed here for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and it really was just the way we wanted it to be. The Hotel was very comfortable and our room was overlooking the bay with a very spacious balcony ( no 47). The views from the hotel were stunning. We booked bed and breakfast but after our first evening meal were so impressed that we continued to eat in the restaurant almost every evening. The staff in the restaurant were excellent under the supervision of Monica. This hotel was fairly quiet but then it was early in the season but everyone was friendly and so we always found company. The gardens were ideal for relaxing with two pools but too early for us to take full advantage of. We would definitely like to make a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinbad03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Excellent service and friendly staff. The position of the hotel in a quiet country lane ensure a peaceful stay while the sea view is one to die for.

Just a short walk to Mont Nicolle and you are on the Railway Walk, which under the leafy canopy of trees leads to St Aubin or if you venture the other way to Corbiere and the lighthouse. A few hundred yards on the road and you are at Petit Port from where there is a path around to the expanse of St. Ouens's Bay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobvonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The Windmills Hotel is superbly situated overlooking the magnificent St Brelades Bay, The hotel itself is very welcoming with excellent staff and atmosphere. Our balcony suite room with sea view was stunning. Excellent dining room and equally excellent food. Comfortable lounge bar and plentiful outside seating area. Free use of gym and well maintained outdoor swimming pool. Plenty of free parking. Easy walk to beach.This hotel cannot be faulted, we''ll definately return.

Room Tip: Try for a first or second floor room with sea vie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosschorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Go for a seaview and balcony the views are wonderful. Pool adequate and well appointed and comfortable loungers. Gardens small but appropriate. Meals well prepared and reasonable priced; drinks enjoyed in convivial and comfortable lounge. For a small 40+ roomed hotel this was excellent with welcoming plus friendly proprietors and staff.
I would definitely return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Book direct or alternatively phone to check later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jempty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
873 reviews
5.1 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#10 of 16 in St Brelade
1,408 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Hotel

Address: Le Mont Gras d'Eau, St Brelade JE3 8ED
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £97 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmills Hotel has an official (JQA) 3 Star grading. It is a family run hotel and the ideal base from which to enjoy your Jersey experience. Apart from its amazing sea views, the Hotel is a short downhill walk to St Brelade beach, only 100 metres to the nearest bus stop and within easy reach of St Aubins village and the railway walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Hotel St Brelade
Windmills Hotel Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing