We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quality hotel - great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windmills Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“quality hotel - great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Hotel rooms and public areas quite modern, good quality fixtures and seemed to have undergone a recent refurbishment which has worked well. Good sized bar area and a nice area outside the bar to enjoy a superb view of the bay below and the sun trap at the rear. Small pool and sunlounge area also below.
Hotel is situated above the Brelades bay beach area with a steep walk down and even steeper back. Bus route on main road - short walk.
Bar prices similar to UK. Breakfast was OK with a selection of typical bacon, egg, beans, sausage etc. Also two fruit juices, cereals, yoghurt and tinned fruit. with water melon. I would have liked to have had pastries, cheese etc as served on the continent but what was on offer was good. You had to order exactly what you wanted, as on the first day I ordered bacon and egg and got exactly that (1 rasher and one egg). Breakfast staff eager to please & serve and did a good job. Did not eat an evening meal at the hotel so cannot comment other than to say it was £20 for 3 courses and the selections seemed OK. Cheeper if you booked every night, £10. Walls in the rooms where a little thin but residents when we stayed were not too noisy. Double room without sea view was a good size and mattress was comfortable. Bathroom was also of a good size and all room areas very clean. Bath/Shower screens could be a bit longer as after a shower the floor was rather wet. Small flat screen TV in the room. Most persons there were middle aged and older so all in all it was a quiet place to be. An internet room with 2 computers was provided (nice touch). First time in Jersey and it is a nice place if you get the weather. You really do need a car but can get around by bus if you want to.
A small gym is provided. Its own website gives a good picture of the rooms and public areas.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trebor1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    66
    19
    2
    6
See reviews for
145
301
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

A very clean & well appointed venue, Staff very good , nothing too much trouble , Food of a very good quality, Rooms very tidy , views to die for , memorable.
Nice touch with bottle of sparkling wine & message of congratulations as we were celebrating our silver anniversary.

All in all a very relaxing holiday , sad to leave , but shall return

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMcGinnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

!0 min walk to amazing beach at St.Brelades Bay but step hill on way back to climb.
Local restaurants are excellent so no need to travel that far if you enjoy your food!
Hotel food also extremely good with exceptionally good friendly staff
My favourite location in the World. I have been back ten times since my first visit many years ago and will continue to re-visit i hope for many more years in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We found St Brelades a very relaxing area for a holiday, excepting of course the climb back up the hill when we decided to return, ( walk ) to our hotel fromk the beach. The hotel was very much as advertised, the rooms were of a good standard, the view was stunning from the bedroom and the restaurant. This was our first visit to the Windmills Hotel and our experience there is likely to mean we will return there soon, the management at the hotel was pleasingly hands on and the combination of Romanian & Portugese staff worked very well, efficent and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

Own car helpful although Bus service is good.
Restaurant staff very friendly and considerate.
Food was good.
We went first in 1960 for our honeymoon. Staff kindly put golden roses in our room to mark our Golden Wedding.
Owners of hotel very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnieSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

I Had a great week end stay at the Windmills, very reasonable priced hotel, ive stayed in several 4* & 5* hotels and found the facilities & cleanliness to be similar.
Friendly staff, good full english !! Brilliant location for walking.
The pool & gardens are a real suntrap !! & well maintained.
All furnishing are modern and fresh looking.
only a 10minute walk to the bay where you can find bars, shops & resturants.
When i stayed the hotel was mainly occupied by pensioners (im 37)which did mean that the bar area was very quiet of an evening, but i was going away for a quiet break and the situation of the hotel was perfect for this. however it wasn;t a "dead silence" mixture of modern & older music was played in the background to create an atmosphere.
But on the whole, Jersey is a quiet Island & i felt that the hotel reflected that, its not the plac to go if you want a crazy week end!!
I had booked a single room, was given a large room with double bed & newly fitted ensuite, the only down fall was that i did hear snoring during the night...but to be fair i think an underground bunker wouldnt have been sound proof enough to eliminate that sound :S ...and there seemed to be a lot of activity around 7am..not sure if it was staff working, or movement from the room upstairs ?
But i would recommend this hotel to any one !!
ps .will also reccomend booking a Harley Tour of the island...great fun.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Needabreak72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Excellent hotel tucked away & off the beaten track but what a little gem!

Room was spacious with seating area, two televisions and the most superb views over the gardens, swiming pool and St Brelades Bay.

Food was good and the service, throughout the hotel, was first class! Staff couldn't do enough to please!

Unfortunately, although the weather was hot, the pool was absolutely freezing! Shame it couldn't have been heated - just a little bit!

All in all a great hotel in a great location with great staff!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lofos114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Biarritz Hotel
Biarritz Hotel
#3 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Hotel

Property: Windmills Hotel
Address: Le Mont Gras d'Eau, St Brelade JE3 8ED
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#3 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmills Hotel has an official (JQA) 3 Star grading. It is a family run hotel and the ideal base from which to enjoy your Jersey experience. Apart from its amazing sea views, the Hotel is a short downhill walk to St Brelade beach, only 100 metres to the nearest bus stop and within easy reach of St Aubins village and the railway walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Windmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Hotel St Brelade
Windmills Hotel Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing