We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Jersey”
Review of Biarritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Biarritz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Biarritz Hotel, St Brelades Bay, Jersey. We booked bed and breakfast but paid for an extra four evening meals. The food and choice were first class. We enjoyed the friendliness, the good food, the evening entertainment and in the daytime two walks by local guide Peter Webb. The General Manager and staff were very enthusiastic and caring. Thank you for a super week. Marysa, Solihull, UK.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marysa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIARRITZJERSEY, General Manager at Biarritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your kind review Marysa.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much.
Thank you also for the praise toward our kitchen team for their fine food.
DUNCAN A O'NEILL
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

I booked this hotel based entirely on reading reviews here, but only after booking did I realise from the hotel's own website that it is a Christian hotel - which is not our usual cup of tea.

Should we cancel? We decided not to.

But did it matter? Not one iota!

We stayed there recently for a week and enjoyed virtually every minute of it.

The hotel is on the side of the hill overlooking the bay. From the parking area at the front it is uphill slightly, and up some steps to reach reception - though for any travellers unable to negotiate the front steps a lift is available. Oveflow parking is available next door if needed. A bus stop is handily right outside for those without their own transport.

After a very welcoming greeting at reception, we were shown to our room (our cases carried for us). The hotel has a slightly stange layout; its footprint seems quite long and thin, and our room seemed to be reachable only by going through the function room then across the dining room then lounge, or from the function room past other rooms and then outside, across the rear of the hotel, then back in again. Maybe there was an alternative route but we were not informed of it. This made it a little awkward at times, but no real problem - more of this later.
Our room was on the first floor at the very back of the hotel, making it one of the rooms nearest to the sea.
The room was very large and comfortable, with a comfy double bed, 2 easy chairs and table, usual hotel furniture, a simply superb modern en-suite with shower - and to round it off, a good sized balcony with 2 chairs and table. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided, and are replenished each day.
From the room and balony the views were simply to die for. The bay is simply beautiful.

All in all, for a 3 star hotel the room was very impressive. The ony minor downside to mention was that one of double glazed units in one of the patio door units had blown and affected by some condensation internally, but everything else was absolutely spot on. It was good that there were windows as well as the patio doors, so one could open them slightly for ventilation if needed, without having to openthe doors.

The hotel is not licensed, so has no bar, nor mini-bar in the room. However, if you want wine served with your meal in the evening they will happily do this - they do sell non-acoholic wine, but will apparently serve you your own alcoholic wine if you provide it. Some may think that this is the best of both worlds - as supplying your own would undoubtedly be cheaper.
The interior of his hotel was absolutely spotless, and a great credit to its cleaning staff.

The lounge area was immaculate, and again benefitted from the superb vew across the bay. From here one could go outside onto a large patio area with tables and chairs and enjoy the view, or descend the steps and follow the path down through the garden to the beach, at which point there is a level, lit pathway all the way along the front to the other end of the bay (a 6 or 7 minute walk) - where there are other hotels/restaurants/bars etc at which one could eat and drink etc in the evening if desired, and a few shops/cafes for snacks etc if you are going to the beach.

The hotel itself has a small chalet at the foot of the steps adjacent to the beach, providing snacks, ice creams etc. This was not actually open while we were there, but I believe it will open shortly (this week perhaps) for the main summer season - a definite advantage to avoid having to climb back up to the hotel for a drink whilst on the beach.

Also overlooking the bay and therefore having a great view, is the dining room. If you are a full-English sort of person, you will love the breakfast. High quality sausages, bacon, mushrooms, hash-browns, fried or scrambled egg, tomatoes, black pudding, fried bread, baked beans etc, seemingly unlimited toast, tea or coffee. Alternatively I think cereal, fruits, yoghurt, 3 types of fruit juice etc. were on offer. What more could you want?

We only ate in the hotel for 3 of the evenings we were there. A carvery is offered some days, or a served 3 course meal on others (where one gets a choice of around 3 or 4 main courses etc) - each meal costs £20. I got the impression it is better to eat earlier at the carvery than later, as the food looked a little tired around the edges later on, but we found no real fault with the served meal offering at all. The Steak and Kidney Pie was marvellous!

The serving staff are cheerful and very helpful. Calm attentive service from Joseph and the rest of the team, with Asa being a highlight, only been there a week or so but he established a very good rapport with the guests.

As this is a Christian hotel there is a Songs of Praise on Sunday evening in the function room and I think a small event each morning. For any non-Christian guests, both are easily avoidable should one choose. On the subject of guests, it is true to say that most were of pensionable age, but not exclusively, several families were there too.

On one evening a free post-dinner talk about Jersey was on offer, provided by an official Jersey tourist guide. It was interesting, but some other guests walked through the room during the presentation on their way to the front door, highlighting the slightly odd layout. One does wonder if it is possible to exit via the front door without interrupting the sunday evening service.....

But to summarise: If one expects a heavy Christian atmosphere at this hotel one could not be more wrong. It is a friendly, well kept, calm, quiet, well managed and delightful hotel in a fantastic position, and suitable for everyone - apart from the party crowd. The management and staff can be justifiably proud of what they have achieved here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK55_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIARRITZJERSEY, General Manager at Biarritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Many thanks for your comprehensive review.
I am delighted that you have identified that just because we have a
Christian background, the Hotel is run like any other and need not be viewed as 'different'
We have developed a strong customer base of people such as yourself who are not Church
linked at all but have also commented on our 3 star status with 4 star values,
DUNCAN A O'NEILL
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This Hotel is very well situated on the South side of the Island. The Staff are very friendly and helpful. We arrived very early due to the only Flight we were offered, we were offered coffee and told that our room was being prepared and we were able to move in by 11am. which we were very grateful for.

Room Tip: We had a Panoramic Seaview overlooking St Brelades Bay , a lovely room with wonderful Views of the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIARRITZJERSEY, General Manager at Biarritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your kindness in reviewing The Biarritz.
We always give priority to our early arriving guests whom we realise have been
traveling since the early hours !
I am glad this gave a good start to your holiday
DUNCAN A O'NEILL
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just returned from a week in Jersey staying at the Biarritz. This was not our first visit although this was a change of time of the year for our holiday. The hotel is great - we always sleep well on the very comfortable beds, the food is excellent and the service and friendliness of the staff second to none. The location and views are stunning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: You do pay more for superior rooms but the view makes the holiday. Access is good throuout the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maralyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIARRITZJERSEY, General Manager at Biarritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Many Thanks Maralyn K.
It is always a pleasure to have you with us
but we are delighted to know our standards are as high as ever.
DUNCAN A O'NEILL
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was my third visit to The Biarritz. I have stayed in various hotels in other places but this is the best ever.
The staff are so welcoming from the first moment and nothing too much trouble.
The food is excellent and as I have some problems with diet this was certainly no problem here.
What a beautiful spot to stay in with fantastic views over the sea and the friendly atmosphere just flows.
I would certainly recommend anyone seeking a peaceful ,friendly, wonderful holiday to COME and try
Barbara B

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and the views from the room excellent . We had a small balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIARRITZJERSEY, General Manager at Biarritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you Barbara B for such a favourable review.
We do pride ourselves on being able to manage all manner of
dietary difficulties regularly and without fuss. Thank you for making a point of this
and we hope to be of service to you again.
DUNCAN A O'NEILL
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was my first visit to Jersey and the Biarritz Hotel, and one I will never forget. One word = wonderful!!! As a disabled guest, I was impressed with the help and friendliness of staff. The food was gorgeous and beautifully presented – my friend and I joked that we would need DHL to deliver us home as we were both eating so much tasty food! Our room with a balcony overlooking the beach/bay was so comfortable, bright and cheery. But what I was impressed with the most was the camaraderie amongst the guests and staff. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our time, and God willing I hope I can someday return for another wonderful week of rest and relaxation in the Biarritz Hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIARRITZJERSEY, General Manager at Biarritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you Penny D for your kindness.
We are delighted to have been chosen to look after your holiday
and feel very proud to have you leave us so satisfied.
DUNCAN A O'NEILL
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Overal impressions excellent.
Service excellent, excellent food with varied menu.
Staff extremely helpful and pleasent.
The situation of the hotel as to be the best on the island. I would have know hestiation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Request room with balacony on south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIARRITZJERSEY, General Manager at Biarritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thanks for your kindness Frank S.
It is rewarding for my young team to know they have met
and exceeded your expectation.
We hope to see you again soon.
DUNCAN A O'NEILL
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,071 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
865 reviews
4.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
882 reviews
0.8 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biarritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biarritz Hotel

Address: Le Mont Sohier, St Brelades Bay, St Brelade JE3 8EA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#1 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £111 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Biarritz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Biarritz Hotel - Jersey. A haven of peace and tranquility on the beautiful beach of St Brelade's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Biarritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biarritz Hotel St Brelade
Biarritz Hotel Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing