We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel for a relaxing weekend”
Review of Biarritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Biarritz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2010

A perfect hotel for a relaxing weekend in Jersey. From arrival to departure, the friendly and helpful staff catered to our every need, especially after i sprained my ankle during a game of beach cricket! I would reccommend the hotel to anyone, especially families with young children.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

My late first wife, daughter and myself,then my second wife and myself and now also my daughter,American husband and three young grandchildren have been holidaying at the Biarritiz Hotel since 1968.
My daughter has stayed at the hotel every year of her life since being 1yr.8months and the grandchildren (Girl 8yrs.,Boys 4yrs.and 2yrs.) cannot think of their summer holiday anywhere else but at the Biarritz Jersey.
I have witnessed the evolution of the hotel from its humble beginnings as a Methodist Holiday Centre under the very capable hands and dedication of all of its five managers
Each in their turn have contributed in their time to developing what is now a very fine Hotel in its present tourist classification.Under the skill,guidance and expertise of the current manager the hotel has become a beacon for good food,fun and fellowship.The hotel has a Christian ethos which under girds the whole of its service to the visitor whatever their attitudes or persuasion.Its not exclusive, indeed all are made welcome irrespective of age,class, colour or creed.
Its location is idyllic being situated at the east end of St Brelades Bay and facing south.Sunsets to the west are awesome and full moon over Bay on a clear night transport one to another world of peace and tranquility.
Rooms are all en-suite to a good standard.Some have stunning panoramic views of the bay.
Food is excellent and meal times are arranged to give moderate flexibility.
Staff are all keen to be of service and helpfulness, from room service,to everyone right through to the manager himself.Nothing is too trivial to gain their help and service.
Hotel activities include organised walks to close beauty spots,beach games, island tours,and theatre trips. All of which are at the wish of the visitor and no pressure to take part.
Children have special consideration and activities including games and story time.They also have a special buffet menu for their evening meal.Its so good that at times adults are jealous and wish that they were a bit younger.
A slight criticism possibly is the fact that at peak high season bookings must be Saturday to Saturday which precludes intended visitors being able to take advantage of cheaper mid-week travel.
Generally all in all for its grade and the quality of what it offers to visitors there is no where quite like the Biarritz in Jersey.I know of only one other which might be its equal but that is in Guernsey!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilberplats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We have visited the Biarritz Hotel for 2 weeks every August for the past 35 years, so it goes without saying that we think it is an ideal place to spend a wonderful holiday. The weather in Jersey is usually good and in August can be quite hot and there is plenty of sunshine. Jersey is a beautiful island and the hotel is ideally situated in St. Brelades Bay,considered to be the most attractive bay of the island. The position of the Biarritz gives a most idyllic panoramic view of the Bay. with extensive golden sandy beaches.
Although there is a reasonable bus service in Jersey a car is preferred to reach the more remote parts of the island and there are numerous hire car firms available at quite reasonable terms.If you do not have a car, the hotel arranges daily trips out to the many sight-seeing venues.
With regards to the Biarritz Hotel, this is an excellent place to stay for a good family holiday, having direct access to the beach. All rooms are en-suite and many have excellent sea views. The staff are all very friendly and keep all the rooms spotlessly clean. The food is very good, the senior chef, who has held that position for many years, serves up a well varied menu to suit all tastes. The children have a special menu available.
Perhaps it should be mentioned that being a Christian Hotel, morning prayers are available for those who wish to attend, but there is no compulsion on that score whatsoever, and they do no interfere with the normal functioning of the hotel. The hotel is not licenced to serve alcoholic drinks, but facilities are available nearby for those who require them.
We always return home every year, feeling really refreshed and rested , having renewed friendships with others whom, like us, revisit the hotel year after year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Readingpensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We have holidayed at this Hotel for over 25 years. We are naturally now somewhat two of the older guests. We have been during the months of June, July and August and have experienced a variety of Entertainments to suit the guests. We have found the Manager very helpful when we have had travel problems and seen at first hand the great kindness shown to Guests experiencing illness.
We enjoy having children around and meeting up with the many friends we have made over the years.
We can thoroughly recommend The Biarritz as an excellent family Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We are looking forward to our 21st visit to the Biarritz this year, a warm, friendly and very homely hotel with optional Christian elements.
Ideally situated over looking St Brelades Bay it offers the finest views on the island, along with the delicious food which entices us back year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

This hotel is like my second home. I've holidayed here nearly every July since I was 7 months old! Now I'm bringing my own infant daughter to the Biarritz . In high season, it is best to book early to avoid disappointment. In fact most guests book for next year's holiday before they leave for home! (approx 50 weeks in advance)

It is the best hotel on the island for young families with a safe and secure environment, great kids' menu, optional, organised entertainment for both young and old and direct access to the best beach in Jersey.

Staff are also very friendly and approachable. One year my mother required urgent dental treatment and the manager organised an appointment at his dental practice and then went the 'extra mile' by driving us there in his own private car!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a family holiday in a beautiful part of the island providing excellent facilities and food.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holywood76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

All members of staff we had the pleasure to meet were helpful, friendly and hard working. The Hotel is run at a very high standard in cleanliness, efficiency and genuine care for the guests. The food was wonderful and so varied and beautifully served. We came in rather a large family group, requested to eat together, and were always served all at once with various requests without delay. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable the views magnificent.
As a large group of family and friends we like to holiday together and we would love to come back to the Biarritz every year. It serves its customers in a First Class way with their wants and needs given top priority.
Congratulations to the Manager and all the excellent staff on giving us such a refreshing and fun time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShearsyJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
789 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
862 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biarritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biarritz Hotel

Address: Le Mont Sohier, St Brelades Bay, St Brelade JE3 8EA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range: £114 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Biarritz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Biarritz Hotel - Jersey. A haven of peace and tranquility on the beautiful beach of St Brelade's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Biarritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biarritz Hotel St Brelade
Biarritz Hotel Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing