We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Miramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miramar Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here 2 nights having not visited Jersey or St Brelade before and had a comfortable stay. The hotel is either up or down a steep hill depending on your approach and had a traditional seaside hotel feel. Our room was clean and well presented and the communal areas well maintained. Wifi was available but weak to unavailable unless in the communal areas. Breakfast was a full waiter service affair but with a somewhat limited range for vegetarians however I don't think this is the primary crowd the hotel attracts. St Brelade bay is very pretty with a variety of water sports, walks and dining options available. I would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    56
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
40
89
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Amazingly clean hotel . Would give a lot of 4 stars a run for the money. Food reasonable and very good value for the price of the hotel Staff were very helpful and nothing was a bother. We had room 104 which had a large balcony well furnished and a lovely sunny room. The bathroom was again spotless ( the fan did make a racket) the toiletries were poor but I would not expect any better or bigger at the price charged. Towels were fresh and changed every day. ( no face cloth) so bring your own. Tea and coffee supplied in room ,also limited sandwiches and salad thro the day and drinks. Would stay here again the walk to St Brelards is down a lovely lane with the most lovely hillside of Agapanthus. This hotel is a credit to its owners and it deserves return visits.

Room Tip: 104 and 105 have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Excellent hotel. If this is only 2 star makes me wonder what is needed to become 3 or more. Clean spacious comfortable room, with all expected facilities and a sea view as well. Public areas - inside and out - were equally as clean, Bar and restaurant areas looked a bit dated but that's just a matter of taste and did not detract from our stay in any way. We paid for B&B and the breakfast was more than ample every day, you could have as much as you wanted and everything freshly cooked and piping hot. Very attentive staff, nothing was ever a problem, the staff motto seemed to be "of course" Also took an evening meal there one night, which was also excellent and much better value than any restaurant we ate in. We had a hire car, there was always plenty of space to park, but bus stop with frequent service is very close by for those choosing not to drive.. Beach within easy walking distance, not quite so easy coming back as it's a steep uphill return, but had to burn off those breakfast calories somehow,

If you're looking for lively probably not for you. If you're looking for a clean comfortable base where you are well fed and looked after then can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: See views were a small supplement but worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wurzel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Jersey and our 1st at the Miramar. We were a little hesitant as it was graded a 2 star only but our doubts were soon forgotten after about a day. We had requested a south facing room and were allocated one with its own patio overlooking the pool and with a partial sea view. The room was very clean and serviced daily. We stayed half board and the breakfast and dinner were excellent. Breakfast consisted of fruit juice, cereal of your choice, full English if you wanted it with tea/coffee and toast. The food was freshly cooked and served piping hot and the quality of produce was easy to see. Dinner was normally 4 courses, starter, soup, main (choice of 3 and a vegetarian) multi choice dessert and then coffee. Again the food was excellent and the restaurant service, speed and politeness of the staff could not be faulted.
The hotel is some way back from St Brelades sea front so is very quiet with little or no traffic noise.. The walk to the sea takes 5 minutes but a little longer coming back as it is quite a steep climb so may be a problem for the less mobile although there are buses available which can take you to the Bay and other parts of the island. The buses stop virtually outside the hotel and the bus service on Jersey is excellent for exploring other parts of the island, although from St Brelades you might have to go into St. Helier for onward transport.
This 2 star hotel would compare well against other higher rated hotels and we would have no hesitation in recommending for a holiday stay.

Room Tip: As for room 105 which was really good with its own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IpswichMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEESSIDE
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and i spent four days in the Miramar hotel.We were very impressed with the freindly and helpful staff.Our room had a patio area over looking the swimming pool.It was nicely maintaned and very comfortable.We had evening meal on two nights and found them of high home cooking quality and very filling. Full english breakfast didn't include black pudding or mushrooms but was very acceptable for the price.We always filled up on extra toast and coffee. The hotel was always spotlessly clean as was the pool and well kept garden area.The hotel is located only 70 yards from the bus route and costs £1.20 to cover the 7 minute jurney to the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms 104 & 105 have balcony/patio areas over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedCardRushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there with two small dogs on half board.We could not fault a thing from food and cleanliness of the place.
Every member of staff was a credit to the place.
Swimming pool was spotless.
Already planning to go back next year .
Top marks

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsmith1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a great 3 days we spent in the miramar hotel in jersey for the British isles bowles the hotel was first class staff and food were excellent weather was scorching bowling was great as my daughter won the British isles u25 pairs(scotland) bowling

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Brelade hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
743 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
986 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel

Property: Miramar Hotel
Address: Le Mont Gras d'Eau, St Brelade JE3 8ED
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
#14 Family Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Miramar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 2 Star Hotel in Jersey, well situated a short walk to St Brelades Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Miramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing