We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good solid pub with real ales and good pub food”
Review of Old Smugglers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Brelade
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Smugglers Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 St Brelade B&B and Inns
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
688 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Good solid pub with real ales and good pub food”
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Situated near the beach this old pub offers a wide selection of well kept real ales and a good range of traditional pub food (which is sensibly priced and the portions generous) in the winter there's a log fire and there is usually a good blend of locals and visitors. The road down is narrow and steep but there's a large car park opposite the pub and a super beach to walk off the trip to the pub.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jerseybean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    17
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
258 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

You can still find traditional pubs around the place every now and then - I'm gald to say this this is certainly one of them. No plastic out of the box furnishings, microwave ping meals or the same boring range of lager / mass produced beer. Traditional decor, really good pub grub and some excellent hand made fish based dishes as well. This is also a free house, so you're always bound to get something new or different to try.

The pub is based in Quaisne Bay right opposite a larger car park and about 1 minute stroll to the beach. No buses serve the bay, but's it's a 10 minute walk up to Portlet to get the bus if you don't want to drive. Or a 5 minute walk down the beach from St Brelade.

For me, it's the best real pub on the island. Great atmosphere - especially for the 6 Nations rugby matches. Good mix of locals and tourists during 'the season' as well - always a good sign if the locals keep coming back time and time again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We used to go to the smugglers quite often. It has a nice warm atmosphere and good service. The food is OK, a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Can really only endorse what everyone else has already said. Great local pub down by the bay at the end of a windy road, busy with both locals and visitors, good pub grub at a decent price, lots of good ales and a friendly welcome. We used the public car park more-or-less opposite.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Every time we visit Jersey we always call here. The staff were very pleasant and the meals very good. It is located down a winding lane but beware of the sharp bend halfway down. The interior has an old traditional feel to it and was busy shortly after we arrived. There is a large car park opposite and the sea is less than a minutes walk away.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DavidUK584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The staff at the bar were very welcoming. We only had drinks but the food looked good. Log fires burning in the bar areas. Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

The food was good.. little expensive though, beautiful location and quite a snug atmosphere. The table we were orginally placed at was crawling with ants , it was awful so we moved to another table and watching while the staff took no notice of them and did nothing to try and get rid of them or clean the table! We would have left but unfortunatly we had already ordered....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJerseyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
3.6 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.7 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay View Guest House
Bay View Guest House
#3 of 20 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Smugglers Inn

Property: Old Smugglers Inn
Address: Quaisnè, St Brelade JE3 8AW
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in St Brelade
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Old Smugglers Inn Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing